April Fools archives….

dsc04483An April Fools tradition, near and dear to my heart, but one I finally gave up  (boo!!)   when my kids quit humoring me on this, and got too busy to play moms games, I had to resort to normal April Fools pranks…..but since they were very little, we ALWAYS had a mixed up meal on April Fools.   Oh how I remember their little faces, in shock that it was never what it seemed!!!   dessert  looked like supper, and supper looked like dessert!!!   

I will let you in on my “secret”  haha.  

What looked like breakfast was really dessert.  (hashbrowns) Pound cake cut into chunks and drizzled with strawberry sauce.   (eggs) whipped topping and a peach half sprinkled with poppy seeds.  (sausage pattie)  brownies cut with a circle cookie cutter.    

What looked like dessert, was really supper!!   Meatloaf baked into a pie pan, topped with tinted mashed potatoes !!!!    Yeah, looked just like strawberry pie, …yes???  

And of course, Kool-Aid for a drink, which was really cherry jello, with a straw “set” into it.  

Yes, memories past.  I did MANY MANY different combinations from meatloaf cupcakes, to spaghetti and meatballs, to minced chicken doughnuts!!!!   Yummy!!!!

All for the sake of April Fools!!!!  (since all of this was pre-digital camera days, I had to photograph the scrapbook page I made of this years meal.  I really do not own a checkerboard table cloth!!!)  it is paper.  🙂

6 Responses to “April Fools archives….”

  1. Aunt Kim aka machita! Says:

    i am pretty sure this is about your best one!!!!!!!!! but who made the meatloaf for you??

  2. stampit74 Says:

    you are just over the top creative Kelli! how fun!

  3. breanna Says:

    i love this! so fun! i like it sooo much better than lies and trickery! not fun in my opinion but this sounds like a blast for the kids too!!!!

  4. Cathy Says:

    How absolutely FUN!!! I’m going to steal your ideas to “fool” DH next year!

  5. Aunt Tippy Says:

    This is one of my kids’ favorites too! However, we did meatloaf cupcakes & frosted them with colored mashed potatoes. Just a little twist to keep them guessing! 🙂

  6. Christy Says:

    Ha-HA-Ha!! Your kids are lucky you have a great sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

