Cha-Ching !!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Our 2009 New Years resolution.....

Our 2009 New Years resolution.....

January 1, 2009, my husband and I made a PROMISE to each other, that under no uncertain terms would we spend ONE COIN for the upcoming year.   We decided to set the bar a little higher, with the tightening economy.  In the past, we had always saved pennies, and maybe some nickels, but this year.  SAVING ALL COINS!!!!!!!   Never EVER spending a coin!!!!!  when the bill is $4.01, we pay with a $5.   NO CHEATING!!!!!!!!!!!  

Here is the result, 5 months later!!!!   cha-CHING!!!!!!     A trip to do errands paying with all cash, makes for a huge deposit into the change basket!!!  we always show each other the huge pile each time we are adding to it.  Funny thing, is my son even donated to the cause, but telling me to add the pennies in his hand, but he was keeping the “good” coins (quarters) for his own.  :)   FUNNY!!!  

Not sure how we are going to get it to the bank, but I know I need my husbands strong arms as I can not even lift it!!!!!!!   the basket is about 10″ high and maybe 20″ wide.  FULL.   Click on the image for a close up and you will see MANY quarters.  

Maybe I could make a challenge, who ever comments and guesses the correct amount gets it ALL  !!!!!   (????)   hummmm…ok, maybe not.  

I will post soon on the day we get to “cash in”.  I hope it is soon.  

Maybe YOU will step up to this challenge?   but of course, as  in my fashion it is 100% effort , NEVER cheating, or why bother??     LOL.   

(and for the record…my guesstimate is $700 )    ya think I am close?  Glenn guesses a little more conservative, but I typically aim high.  🙂

7 Responses to “Cha-Ching !!!!!!!!!!!!”

  1. bejes Says:

    2494.28 dhs…That is my guess in dirhams. That is what I will take my winnings in. Thanks!

  2. simplyaltered Says:

    hummm….and how might that translate?? I want to be sure to know who wins. 🙂

  3. Aunt Kim aka machita! Says:

    you are so awesome. i am proud to be related to you🙂

  4. Lisa Says:

    I am guessing you are way closer. I use a vase and when I take it in, it is usually around $150 so you may even be a little low🙂 I use mine for when we go on vacation.

  5. ol' lady Says:

    why don’t you take it in now and stuff the dollar bills away and start the coins over? then it won’t be so heavy dec. 31st! my guess is $444. good idea but i’m a little OCD and have to usually pay EXACT change. hmmmmm……

  6. LaVonne Says:

    It is not $700, but I’m sure it is a nice total. The big question—what will you do with the money when you DO cash it in? Are you doing it now or waiting? Why not use that money to rent the cabin this summer??? Yea, there’s an idea!

  7. simplyaltered Says:

    Neat idea. I say $598.22. I’d be happy to go shopping with ya! Ruthi

Leave a Reply

