MY purchase…

DSC04807

Ok.  I admit, I was a little sidetracked from all the hoopla of being on TV and was reminded this morning, that I have STILL not posted what my purchase was from cashing in all my change!!!   oh my.  

Well, here it is, a FOUNTAIN on my screened in porch!!!!   YEAH!!!   but of course, it comes with a FRUGAL story.  Ready? (I will try to make it as short as I can!!)  

My sister Kim bought the same fountain.  Looking high and low for one with just the “right” amount of splashing relaxing sounds of water….she prides herself on being an expert in this field, and she finally  found this one!!!  and then of course, INSISTED that I needed one for my porch.  I agreed, but could not justify being that frivolous.  I held out, until it struck me, “hey, if we cash in the change, I could get it with THAT!!”   aha!!!    As you know, I had roughly $250 to spend after Glenn and I split the money.   The fountain was $200.  

BUT…….long story short, in my frugal ways, luck , and patience, I did snag it for only $150  !!!!!!  EVEN BETTER, I still have $100 to spare, and have yet to date, NOT spent it!!  I am holding out for just the right way to spend it.  :)    

and how is this purchase going to help me SAVE more money??  or add to my SIMPLE lifestyle, or even save my sanity?   well, I think it is obvious, but I will elaborate.  :)     Since there is no vacation in our immediate future (Glenn used all his vacation time supplementing his CUT hours this winter)   I will just go out to the porch, like I always do, grab a chair, something to drink and close my eyes and just IMAGINE that I am somewhere tropical  !!!!    or maybe I can imagine we are in Kansas City sitting next to all the BIG foutains at The Plaza?   Maybe on the hottest day this summer, I can “pretend” that I am in Dubai visiting Jessi, next to all the fountains THERE!!!   see??   with a little imagination and creativity, this $150 fountain is actually saving us LOTS of money!!  LOL.   

and above all, I have already enjoyed many afternoons, and quiet evenings sitting out there, just taking a few minutes to chill out, visit with the kids, or wind down a day in the salon after the last customer leaves.  It makes life feel REALLY good!!!!   

( note: in the pic, it is sitting right next to the salon window, and you can see my stylist chair……oh, do ya think my customers love it as well???   YES they do, and with all the sounds it makes, EVERYONE benefits when the salon window is open )    !!!!!!!!!

and…..one more thing.  I know I promised another give-away, which is now a couple days delayed, but I have something up my sleeve , and I will do that tomorrow…..possibly evening)

Thanks for ALL your support on my blog / website………I love all the visitors and all your kind and informative comments!!!!   keep them coming and I will eventually reply to each one.  :)

20 Responses to “MY purchase…”

  1. bejes Says:

    That looks awesome. The right amount of noise is key. You are going to have to imagine really hard to be in Dubai. Pretty sure on the hottest day in Iowa, it could be 120 degrees here. Awesome. I do like the purchase. Not something you just go out and buy, but a nice reward for all your savings.

  2. simplyaltered Says:

    maybe I could sit out there on the HOTTEST day, and also bring my little space heater??? ya think that might be a close comparison???? riiiiight 🙂

  3. Kath Says:

    Remember when you bring one item in, you need to get rid of one item (or 2)-not a problem for you though. Nice fountain!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      my rule is “bring in ONE item….get rid of FIVE” !!!! LOL good way to stay on top of the clutter dilemma. 🙂

  4. Jules Says:

    That is an awesome purchase!! Not as frivolous as you would think and especially since it was a great price for what it is. And the thought of ‘going on vacation’ anytime you want and no packing or traveling to get there!!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      EXACTLY….and no mail to catch up on, no missed work days, oh the benefits are endless!!! haha (or atleast I am trying to convince myself!!!) thanks for being such a faithful follower and contributor Julie!!!

  5. Jeanne Says:

    Great purchase! It’ll work wonders for your soul. I used to take long hikes in the mountains when I lived in California, to get to a waterfall. Just so that I could sit by it and relax.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh, I would do the same!! mountains in California!! awesome!!!! I will close my eyes and imagine THAT too!!! 🙂 thanks for visiting and leaving your relaxing idea!!!

  6. ambjour Says:

    can i come some night and sit by it? no kids just ME!? i LOVE fountains! however it can’t compare to a cruise! even as hard as i imagine. LOL but a great thought!

  7. simplyaltered Says:

    anytime Ambjour!!!!!!! a cruise?? I have never been on one, so maybe that is a plus?? I have nothing to compare it to, so my imagination might work fine!! 🙂

  8. kathleen ferris Says:

    i think a home vacation sounds very relaxing, especially if you can have one anytime. Flylady does camp every summer, and ever since i read about it, I’ve wished i thought of it when my kids were small. My rule is: always spend “found money” on something fun. Enjoy.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      You have GOT to be kidding me!!! you know FLYlady??? I do too, and I love her!!!!! too funny!!!!

  9. Meme Says:

    very nice and a great idea- I have my grand daughter saving her change for costs due to her wedding coming up in 2010- she is quite proud of how much she has already saved- she is hoping to buy her wedding dress this way plus other wedding needs-
    it is such fun to save this way and we have done it for Christmas for many years- hugs

  10. LaVonne Says:

    I LOVE the fountain, and I noticed it immediately before I got to your porch! I am very happy you purchased this🙂 We all can enjoy it as well! A fountain is something I have always wanted and never had. Good for you!!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yes, I remember you knowing water was coming from somewhere before you ever got in the door!!! 🙂

  11. bejes Says:

    Maybe you could tell your customers it is a wishing well, then it could work on paying for itself. Multiple streams of income right?! Just kidding. Ok, not really.

  12. Jules Says:

    I think we should have our next ATC swap on your porch so we can all enjoy it🙂 LOL!

Leave a Reply

