Fels Naptha is on its way!!!

 

A great big truckload of it!!!

click to enlarge. No wonder we all are loving this stuff so much!!!

For this reason only, today was a productive one!!!

As I mentioned before, I did finally have a meeting with Dan (the manager) at Hy-Vee.   He assured me that they WILL have Fels Naptha in stock, and they will have plenty of it!!!  he maybe mentioned something like 10 cases of it??   (If I heard right!!!)  They are also going to order Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda as well……so, are you ready for this???  EVERYTHING in one convenient place!!!   All at the Oskaloosa Hy-Vee  !!!!!!!   yeah !!!!!!!!  Can you say SIMPLE????   

AND……….

I have been asked to do a local radio segment with him on Tuesday May 26  !!!!!  if I could handle TV air time, I am sure this will be a breeze!!  LOL    He does a radio segment each day at 7 am.  (imagine ME at 7 am???)  a time of day I rarely ever see!!!  oh my!!!  He did not specify that I had to actually be dressed and make up on, so hard telling how I will show up!!!   Now, if this were to happen at 2 O’clock in the morning, NO PROBLEM!!!!    

AND………..

As of this is not enough in itself???  He has also asked me to begin a in-store sampling promotion for the Oskaloosa Hy-Vee  !!!!!  yes, on Friday May 29  (11:00 to 6:00) and Saturday May 30 (9:00 to 4:00)   !!!!  I get to prepare the soap right there in the store, hand out samples, convince everyone how awesome this stuff is  (like THAT will be hard??)   sell bigger packages all made up and ready to go, and show them how easy this all is, having it all in stock at ONE location!!!!!!!!!   Can you tell this excites me???   oh, it does.!!!!  

So, mark your calendars so you can either tune into KBOE Radio (104.9 FM)  or stop by Hy-Vee to see me!!!    I gotta have some blog followers there for moral support!!!  Dan assures me that it will NOT be a problem getting people to stop and see what all the commotion is about!!!  :)  

and most of all,  if you are in this area, or even feel like traveling to this area, remember Hy-Vee when you need to stock up.  After Wednesday, it will all be there, and the management has taken great strides to fulfill this request!!!   thanks so much Dan and Brett!!  

He also mentioned it is a good possibility that more stores will be notified and likely be doing them same.  Be sure to ask the Hy-Vee store in your area. 

Ok. Now that my feet have hit the ground once again,  I need to get creative with Art on the Square inventory!!!  coming up Saturday June 13.

Good thing the night is still young!!!   

38 Responses to “Fels Naptha is on its way!!!”

  1. bejes Says:

    You are becoming quite the public figure! Let me know if you need help getting things ready. I can run over any time and help out! Love from Doobie!!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I definately need HELP!!!! good thing Zoe is so anxious to help me!!! she has become a very good little girl to do my P.R.!!! 🙂

  2. Laurie Schmidt Says:

    YOU GO GIRL ! ! ! This is a giant boost for you and I am happy to see a local get some attention…….Laurie

    • simplyaltered Says:

      thanks Laurie!! 🙂 Hy-Vee is very good to promote the local “personalities” (for lack of better word!!)

  3. Diane G Says:

    WTG!!! I’m glad to hear that your meeting with the manager paid off and they will be stocking items that you want.

    The manager is a smart man and realizes that you are a valuable asset to promoting the “simple life”. There seems to be quite a trend these days to this type of living and for HyVee to promote that lifestyle can only be a +/+ situation … informing others and promoting HyVee!

    Diane

    • simplyaltered Says:

      oh, I know, I am just so tickled to have this convenience for myself and everyone else!!!

  4. Jules Says:

    Yeah! Now I won’t feel so guilty coming to Osky to steal all the fels naptha!! I am excited to hear you on the radio, I bet I will be able to picture what you will look like at 7:00am, altered shirt, perhaps??? I will try to stop in on one of your display days also, how exciting! I bet you never imagined where a ‘simple’ change and sharing it with people would bring you🙂 I can see a book deal in the future🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you are not the first person that has mentioned a book deal!! I joked with Maison, I just want to get on “Ellen” 🙂

  5. LaVonne Says:

    Yep, Kel, this is just the start!!! Where will it lead you to next??? Stick with Dan, and he will take you places!! I can picture you right now at KBOE at 7am! I listen to him as I”m heading into work in the morning sometimes.

  6. Robbie Says:

    Always fun to hear a “local” get recognition for doing something good. I’ve bought all the ingredients but haven’t made it yet. Maybe I’ll stop by Hy-vee to see ya and try a sample first.

  7. Tippy Says:

    I almost spit my cappuccino on my computer screen when I read you had to be somewhere at 7 am! Then almost did it again to see that you have to be somewhere 2 days IN A ROW and out of your house for more than an hour.

    You better rest up now, Kel. This very well may send you over the edge! 😛

    I’ll pack up all the kids and we will come visit on Friday! 🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yeah, I know. MAJORLY out of my comfort zone!!!!!! It will take me awhile to recover from all of this. Atleast the WHO-TV stint took place IN MY HOUSE!!!!!!! now, I actually have to leave and be “on location” !!!! yikes

  8. Rebecca Says:

    That is fabulous!! We usually shop at the Pella Hy-Vee out of convenience, but find the Oskaloosa one far superior!! I have an appt. in Osky tomorrow, so I’ll check if they got it early! Otherwise, I’ll try to pick some up Friday or Satturday! Yay!!

    I’ll definitely be listening for you on the radio!! I love KBOE! : )

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I am glad to hear this!!!! Dan is so willing to do whatever it takes, and this has not been easy to get everything in one place, for some reason!!!!! but it soon will be!!!!! yeah!!!!!

  9. Becky Says:

    Awesome!!
    When we went to look for the makings a couple weeks ago here in Ames, we stopped at the West Hy-Vee…they carried everything but were out of the Fels Naptha. My husband did find it at the Lincoln Center Hy-Vee so I had him pick me up 6 bars🙂 So both Hy-Vee’s here in Ames carry ALL 3 ingredients already to make this (if they can keep them in stock)!! Everyone I tell about this is very excited to try it, so word is spreading fast!! Thanks so much for sharing & starting a movement!! My clothesline should be delivered any day now as well!!🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that is good to know. I know Dan is going to put out the word to other Hy-Vees to follow suit, if they are not already. I hope to do a post on clotheslines soon….thanks for the reminder!!!!! (and keep spreading the word for me!! remember, the address is even MORE simple now. http://www.simplyaltered.com

  10. Jenice Says:

    I have requested vacation and I will be in osky that day to meet you and pick up the washing soda – I have found the other two products. I am so excited I will have time to make my laundry soap that weekend. Before you know it you will be on the Oprah show. See you soon = : )

  11. kathleen ferris Says:

    Too bad I’m not closer to your Hy-Vee! For years we’ve used Fels Naptha to wash our arms after working outside where we might have been exposed to poison ivy. It really removes the sap. I was happy to read that your soap can be used in HE washers. Have fun with the radio program and the demos. And you sound VERY busy with also getting ready for a sale! i hope it all runs very smoothly. Kathy

  12. simplyaltered Says:

    oh fun!!!!! be sure to let me know, so I can put a face with the name. I feel honored to have you taking a vacation day for this!!!!!!! I would be fine to appear on Oprah OR Ellen!!! or Bonnie Hunt!!! heck, if nothing else, it would get me a vacation……and I am BADLY in need of one now!!! 🙂

  13. Judy Says:

    Great news on the Fels Naptha stock at HyVee. I have been making this
    soap for over two years and absolutely love it. BUT since the word
    got out I have been having trouble getting it at HyVee. I hope I get
    to meet you when you are doing the HV demo.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Well, getting as much as you desire should NO Longer be a problem. 🙂 Thank Dan next time you see him!! look forward to seeing and meeting you at the store.

  14. Mishelle Says:

    Ironically I live in Chicago and can’t find the soap anywhere!! I spent all day looking today and finally added a $4.99 bar to my order at Amazon! Then I looked at the hy-vee price and about died!! I probably should have had my mom pick up a bar in Osky and mail it….lol. I could have picked some up on my next Iowa trip but I didn’t want to wait until my next visit to try it either. Now I’m still looking for the Washing Soda…thanks for sharing the recipe!

  15. simplyaltered Says:

    Oh Mishelle!!! you are killing me!! $4.99 ??? yikes!! I am wondering if I did not pack some up for you, like 6 bars or something, you could probably ship it for about $5 or so? it is a thought in case your mom can;t get it soon enough, or you are not back this way? but I am SO confident in this soap, I think even your EXPENSIVE purchase will be worth it in the end. 🙂 refer to FAQ too, to help when you begin using it. Don’t panic on low suds initially….they will come.

  16. Mishelle Says:

    Luckily I had a bunch of other stuff to order so shipping was free! I have over 60 bottle of detergent in my stockpile that were free anyway so it all averages out. I’ll be back to Iowa before I get through this bar and I will definitly be heading to Hy-Vee! Thanks for the offer…you are so sweet! I’ve been spreading the word to my followers and they are intrigued so I may be stocking up on supplies when I’m in Iowa to bring back here to share!

  17. simplyaltered Says:

    oh thank you for helping to spread the word….and remind them to subscribe too!!! I will tell anyone that will listen to me!!!!! 🙂 Yes, I aggree, use what you have stockpiled, but once that is gone, you will NEVER go back!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  18. Rebecca Says:

    Yay! I had to take my oldest to an ortho appt. in Des Moines yesterday, and there was a Hy-Vee across the street! They had it all! I got 9 bars of Fels Naptha (I left 2 on the shelf for someone else.)!!! Yippee!! I hope to make my first batch (of several batches) sometime today! Can’t wait!

  19. Jeanne Says:

    You’ve started a soap revolution!! I stopped into Hy-Vee, and no Fels Naptha!! I asked about it, and 30 cases are coming into Osky Hy-Vee late Thursday night. Maybe I should have kept that a secret so it wouldn’t cause a run on the store? Meanwhile, when I asked for it, one of the clerks said that Dan had given her a sample and she took it home and tried it right away on some bbq meat grease stain on her shirt. It came right out, and she said the smell is really nice. I hope I can get in there in time to buy some when it comes in, and before it’s all gone.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Thanks Jeanne, you go to me before I had a chance to alert everyone!!! I did talk to Dan this morning, and you will notice the updated status on my blog.
      I am smiling that my sample I brought up there was shared with others!!!!!! and to have that kind of story come out of it???? oh, YEAH!!!!

  20. Jeanne Says:

    Oh, by the way, I will definitely come and see you on the 29th, I am sure there will be alot of people there.

  21. LisaW Says:

    Hey Kelli ~ When I was in Ottumwa the other day I looked at the Hy-Vee there and they carry it. The manager said they have carried all 3 since they moved into the new building. Have a great time being a celeb🙂

  22. LLisaW Says:

    Wow ~ this is great!!!! And it is a day I am off so I will be able to hear you and come see you since I have my 4 mth apt on that Friday. I agree with Jules though, I can see it now, altered sweatshirt and black flowy pants! Enjoy🙂

  23. simplyaltered Says:

    I really AM so predictable huh??? 🙂

  24. Julie Says:

    I have been using the soap for a few years now. You can also substitute the Fels with Zote. After I run the Fels through the food processor, I run it through again, mixed with the washing soda. It breaks down a little smaller. You can make it into a liquid, but I find you use too much that way. Another plus, besides saving money, is it’s so much better on your pipes and drains. Soap residue is the biggest cause of slow drains. This will not build up in th pipes.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I aggree and I have a little bit of a problem with thinking of making this into a liquid. I know it can be done, but I would think it could or would go sour in time. Yuck

Leave a Reply

