more on Simply Wonderful..

 

a family affair!!!!

a family affair!!!!

There IS strength in numbers!!!   all three of us were making soap today!!!  (My son was skateboarding!!!)     I have made about 15 batches today ONLY!!   and am still not done..  I am trying to make some for Art on the Square, but moreso, making some ahead of time for the Hy-Vee sampling day  (this Friday and Saturday)…..and I made 6 batches with my neice Ambjour last night!!!

I did come to one conclusion though…..

One time, it is good to get something from Hy-Vee that is  old and dried out!!!    When I initially got my Fels Naptha back in December (?)  the bars must have been on the shelf for a LONG time!!!  they ground down to powder…..actually more like DUST !!!!!!!  it was PERFECT!!!!

This time however, the bars are very new and FRESH and soft.  (a very good thing for a grocery store) but makes a little more work on our part……but THAT IS OK!!!   

I was having a hard time getting mine ground down far enough, so what I have done  (actually Glenn gets credit on this one!)   We ground them down to nearly beads of a fairly good size.   Then went ahead and mixed all the powders in to it , like normal.  …….stir it all and let it sit awhile  (the longer the better)   and then, process it all together in the food processor one more time and let it run AWHILE.   This extra step was well worth it to me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   or atleast until I can buy  enough up to “dry out” ahead of time, which I usually do, but with the Fels Naptha shortage we experienced, this was impossible.   In the end , with this additional step, it is a PERFECT consistency, no matter how “soft” the bars are initially.  Yeah!!!

Now…….if you do NOT want to mess with this, that is also FINE.   But be prepared , the beads will separate a little more from the powder, therefore, you will need to give it a quick stir before dispensing just to make sure you are getting equal parts of all the ingredients.  

I will sleep much better tonight, having informed everyone of this.  It was making me NUTS how I was going to get past this little bump in the road.  

Rest assured, I am still beyond 100% confident in this, and no matter what consistency, it is still just “Simply Wonderful”    !!!!!!!!!!!    :)


17 Responses to “more on Simply Wonderful..”

  1. Sammie Jester Says:

    I also noticed that the new soft soap did not grind to a powder. If you can buy the soap ahead of time, take it out of the wrapper and let it dry on a screen or rack like you would if you made the soap. ( turn it daily to speed the process.) Also the product I made last night reground up better this morning .

    Also, several of my friends have had animals with reactions to flea treatments. remind me what the natural remadie for that is.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      one thing that worked for me today. I actually processed it into “slices” with the slicing blade, let it set overnight and then ground it down. That works better too. ….and any way you can add the powders, let it all sit overnight, that really works wonders as the powders speed up the drying process.
      So, make slices, go ahead and add both powders and then ground it all together the next day.
      Sounds like alot of work, but it really isn’t.

      • simplyaltered Says:

        are you saying you have a natural treatment for fleas??? if so, I would love to hear it!!! I think that stuff is sickeningly OVERPRICED!!! and my poodle has had a reaction in the past as well.

  2. kathleen ferris Says:

    Thank you for the processing instructions for the new bars. i haven’t made my first batch yet, but soon . . . Kathy

  3. simplyaltered Says:

    the slicing and drying out that way REALLY works well…..and I have tested it every way possible!! I had to do 25 batches this weekend for Hy-Vee!!!! oh, my kitchen smelled AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  4. Diane Says:

    I made ten batches today, love the soap.

  5. LaVonne Says:

    Leave it to that great man of yours, to come up with a solution!!!! Give him a pat on the back from me!!!

  6. Sammie Jester Says:

    the one natural flea replant I remember is Brewers yeast. Not sure on the dosage. It was in tablet form given with food.

  7. Maddi Says:

    how about you put a decent looking picture of me on here for once! Gosh mom.

  8. Melissa Says:

    With the firestarters, we use candle wax and lint in egg cartons. Many of us have candle warmers and what do you do with the wax when the candle looses its scent? Well take an egg carton, put a bit of lint in it, and fill the carton with wax. Cut it apart into sections for many individual fire starters! CHEAP and EASY!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Melissa, that is an AWESOME idea, with the extra Yankee tarts that I have to break down and buy only every now and then!!! about 4 hours of burning with a tealight, and then yes, I dump it out!!! Thanks!!!!!

  9. Summer Says:

    I had the same trouble with the soap being too fresh. I used a cheese grater to break it down then I put it in the food processor. It seemed to work pretty well.
    One more tip I have to pass on that is a money saver. I ran out of swifter sheets, so I used a couple of used dryer sheets instead. They worked great I have two big dogs and I am always cleaning up hair. So now I don’t spend any money on swifter sheets and just save all my used dryer sheets!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that is an AWESOME tip!!! thanks so much for sharing it!!! I get SO mad to see the price of those Swiffer things. it is outrageous!!!

  10. Sammie Jester Says:

    Instead of buying the Swiffer pads to mop with, I use micofiber wash cloths. It gets up so much more dirt. The ones I got were from the dollar store in the auto cleaning department. They cost so little and are washable. I rinse them out in a pan of mop water untill the job is none. My sister used her dirty dish cloth on the swiffer for spot cleaning after meals.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      That is more of great ideas!!! thanks so much. and to think Swiffer thought they had the market on these “refills” !!!! HA !!!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

