at the end of the day…

 

How does your day end?

How does your day end?

I had one of those days today.  Just felt like I am completely sleep deprived (my own fault, as I am not smart enough to know when it is BEDTIME!!!)  but regardless, last years memories came back to me.  Cramming for Art on the Square, thinking I am never going to get everything done, school year coming to an end, and being pulled in every direction {sigh}…..and then add the Simply Altered blog / soap / Hy-Vee…..oh yes, no wonder this year seems more stressful than last!!  

Then, I recieved this e mail from a blog reader from out of state.  I have never met her, obviously, but her light hearted reassuring words were exactly what I needed to hear.  I love her sense of humor already!!!   (and imagine, she debated about even sending this to me!!!!!)   What?????

“Today was a “Simply Wonderful” day, or atleast my house smells “Simply Wonderful”!!!   I made my first batch of this detergent early this morning and I’ve been doing laundry ever since, LOL!!!  I love this stuff and the smell is marvelous.  My clothes are softer than before…did I mention that I love the smell?  Thank you so much Kelli for letting us all know about this!!  I was just sure I would never be able to find the ingredients, but as said in an earlier reply…good ole Harris Teeter (her store of choice) came through.   OOPS!!  I gotta run, my washer has stopped and I think I am going to yank my bedspread off the bed and wash it…then…hummmm….maybe my clean towels really aren’t so clean after all.  Thanks again!!   =)  ”    Vanessa

This made my day!!!  it made me smile….it made me laugh…it made me realize someone I have never met and possibly never will, can add just the bit of humor I need on a day I was feeling overwhelmed!!!!!!      I have recieved no monetary benefits from all of this up to this point.  I debated why I am putting all this time in to something I am not getting paid for ?   I talked to my husband about that topic, but we aggreed that when the day is done, I am glad I am helping others.  I have always said I get just as much satisfaction out of saving OTHER people money as I do saving money myself!!!    and the clutter topic?   That also ranks right up there in the things I like to do for others.  Encourage them, or do it FOR them!!!   I love every aspect of it, and freely telling others what I think they no longer need.  🙂  lol

I love to hear how I am helping others through my blog.  I love to see how proud my kids are of me.  My daughter sent me a text the other day that simply said “I am so proud of you mom, how you have made your hobby so successful”   awww….how nice is that, coming from a teenager???     and I am proud of MY kids when they spread the word of what I am doing to their friends / teachers / acquaintences.    I have so many reasons to be proud of them as well!!!!  when times are tough raising kids, I remind myself how very wonderful they  are, and the bright future that awaits both of them ,I tell them, no matter WHAT you do in life, as long as you are HAPPY doing it, then you ARE successful !!   and to see this working both ways in our home  is certainly satisfying.   Maybe kids don’t think we as adults are so “dorky” afterall???  🙂  lol     

Remember at the end of the day……does it REALLY matter if we see monetary gain?  that we acquire more more more?  that we have all the material items we WANT?  that we are  able to go everywhere we WANT to go?  that we  have done some knock your socks off  gesture of kindness?  

no.  It does not.

 It is the very most SIMPLE things.  A good portion of these examples,  happen within the walls of our own home with those you love the most!!!!  Something we maybe did not even realize we were doing.  

At the end of the day,  as long as you can lay your head on the pillow at night, and feel “good” about yourself and what you are doing……..

THAT indeed, is all that really matters.  

I feel good.

13 Responses to “at the end of the day…”

  1. Jean McCormick Says:

    What a wonderful post. Thank you for sharing that with us.
    You are such a positive person yourself, my I ask for prayers for my sister who is going through brain cancer. Today, May 28th she will find out the results of her radiation on the second tumor. The first one was removed but the second one could not be and had to be treated with radiation. We are so awaiting these results for this has been a long road. She wasn’t even being treated for this but for inner ear. You just never know what’s going on in your body. But, we also know that we serve a loving God who is both able and stands ready to do what human hands can’t.
    I’m so glad I found your web site.
    I too will be making my first batch of detergent this week-end as I have finally found the Arm and Hammer Soda. Like the person before at the Good Old Harris Teeter.
    Thanks again for your wonderful post. May your day be one of those Simply Wonderful Days. Jean

    • simplyaltered Says:

      oh, that is very heartbreaking!! I too had a sister that passed away from cancer. (49 years old). She was originally being treated for kidney infection / related kidney issues and in the end passed away from kidney cancer. It is so hard to know what you are dealing with!! my thoughts are with you, and glad to think I helped your day like so many others help mine.

  2. Linda Says:

    I have so enjoyed your website since finding it.
    Will also be making my first recipe of soap this weekend.
    One never knows how your own words will affect someone.
    I get so much inspiration from you.
    Jean, will pray for your sister.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Thank you Linda!!!! and let me know how much you love your soap. I am completely confident you will. 🙂

  3. LaVonne Says:

    VERY nice post Kel! That self-satisfaction thing I have been talking to you about for a couple of years! And the biggest word that comes to my mind as I read your post—-BLESSED! You have been blessed with a wonderful family that loves you! And now you are BLESSED with self-contentment in what you are doing. God is always good to us, sometimes we just don’t see it! Enjoy your day today🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yes, some days you have to look harder than others to actually see how many ways you are blessed. We all are, but sometimes feel too busy to realize it. Yesterday was one of those days for me. 🙂

  4. kathleen ferris Says:

    Kelli, I love that your website keeps me focused every day on the one important thing in life. It helps me filter out messages that come in the media that distract. Thank you. Kathy

  5. simplyaltered Says:

    Thank you Kathleen. I am flattered to think I inspire others. It is very reassuring to me if I am making a difference. I began this realization on life lessons and simplicity a few years back, and so glad to have others joining me. Who would have thought, a blog that began to showcase my art work would take such a positive turn so quickly. 🙂

  6. Crissie Says:

    made my first batch of soap today-smells just like my Grandma’s and Mom’;s laundry -did bed linens and can’;t wait for bed-did y doggies little blankets and she snuggled right down! LOVE it! THANX! also cleaned out old almost used up lipsticks in bathroom vanity made lots of room for shampoos and bath gel which i make from soap slivers-

  7. simplyaltered Says:

    hummm……you are welcome to share you bath gel secrets if you want. 🙂 sounds like another great money saver!!!!
    Funny you mention make up though….that is going to be an upcoming challenge.🙂 you are one step ahead, so be sure to post that when the time comes.

  8. Jean McCormick Says:

    How do you make the bath gels

  9. Vanessa Says:

    Kelli, I read this several times and tried to think of something profound to write back to you. LOL!!! Like that’s gonna happen. Seriously, the only thing I can think of to say is that if for one second I made you smile or I lifted your spirits just a bit, then I am so glad I did come out of Lurkerville. When I read your post, it made my day, it made me smile. See how that went full circle? Smiles are contagious, huh? =)

  10. simplyaltered Says:

    awww, you are TOO nice Vanessa!!! don’t worry about saying something profound to me, honestly, when I see the stats of how many people are reading my blog, or when readers take the time out to make a comment….that assures me I am making a difference to someone!!! for that I am flattered!!! I have come in contact with so many wonderful people, makes doing all of this, very well worth it ten-fold!!!
    Now, stay OUT of Lurkerville!!! 🙂 I like your input!!!

Leave a Reply

