a great couple of days…

 

my "smile in every aisle"

my "smile in every aisle" (click to enlarge)

 

 

ok, so not really smiling at the time this pic was being taken….but trust me, I WAS smiling plenty!!!   LOL .   this time, I was giving some serious consultation to my friend “Lavonne”  🙂   

I have to first commend the employees and managers at Hy-Vee.  They were AWESOME and gave me such a warm welcome.  You would have thought I was a full time,  well known employee!!!  Thanks to everyone for making me feel right “at home”.   I was honored to have this opportunity.  

I met LOTS of new people, and had a chance to reacquaint with so many local friends as well!!!   I answered alot of questions and also learned alot of new things myself.   Thanks to Jenice for being the blog reader  that traveled the furthest to see me!!!  If I remember right, she came from Lacona and visited Oskaloosa for the very first time!!!   Maybe a 2 hour drive (?)   I hope Oskaloosa made a good impression on her and she will want to return again……if nothing else, she will know where to find all her laundry needs.  Hy-Vee will have it all in ONE place!!!!!!!!  yeah yeah yeah!!!!!

I had alot of questions regarding 2 things:

1.  Allergies and skin sensitivity?     I can assure you of both.  I have one child with a severe skin condition and allergies as well (and asthma)   I have forever washed his clothes exclusively with All Free & Clear. This is  no longer necessary.  All of our clothes are now washed with Simply Wonderful and it is the BEST for many reasons, including these concerns.  

2.  Front loading High Efficiency washers?  I know through researching that it is perfectly ok to use, and you need to adjust the dispensed amount accordingly.   If there are readers out there, that have some additional positive experience and would like to offer their insight and tips (or questions)…..feel free,  and we can all learn more through the comments section.  

I have another homemade item to share this week….it might not be new to all, but for sure it will be to some!!!!  I am loving it and using it daily. !!!!    I also will have more art, more challenges and I will share a few more opportunities that have been opened up for me since my weekend spent at Hy-Vee  !!!!!!     :) 

(oh yeah, a couple more things:   I had to check out the background in the picture I am sharing.  How about all those earth friendly decorated grocery bags???  I loved them!!!!  I assume an Elementary class did these?  not sure on those details.   And also, the “Got Art?” poster…..for the upcoming Art on the Square!!!    all things close to my heart!!!)  and being the Queen of sweatshirts, although you can not see the front of mine, it says “Simplify”   ….PERFECT, and yes, to all that know me SO well, I had to “alter” it first!!!  haha..    

25 Responses to “a great couple of days…”

  1. bejes Says:

    I like your repurposed work station there. Looks like you had front and center location. Wish I could have seen you in action.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Yeah, makes me wonder what I could have done with all that toilet paper??? 🙂 LOL
      I wish you could have been there too!!! 😦

  2. Jean McCormick Says:

    What part of the country is this?
    Can’t see the bags in the picture, what do they look like. It would do us some good to have some that kids make. All we find here are just the Green/Tan ones. No nice art work on them. Thanks for getting me hooked on this detergent. I’m making my first batch tomorrow. Can’t wait. Maybe you can make a trip to North Carolina to promote this, it would be wonderful. What other things do you make besides the detergent? Haven’t found where you list others. Jean

    • simplyaltered Says:

      it is in southeast Iowa. The bags are hanging up above the customer service counter. (top right side of pic) I would LOVE to come to North Carolina!!! find me a store to appear in and I will be there!! 🙂

  3. kim aka machita Says:

    you did such a good job up there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. LaVonne Says:

    Yes you were giving me some very good advice! You were in your natural element up there Kelli.

  5. breanna Says:

    lacona is on osky’s side of indianola… an hour drive…

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Yeah, I was not completely sure, and could not remember exactly what she had told me. I can’t say I had even heard of Lacona prior to this. I live a sheltered life. 🙂

  6. Maddi Says:

    I really like how you put some laundry soap into that scoop for everyone to see! What an awesome idea. Ghod.

  7. simplyaltered Says:

    yeah, isn’t that COOL ??? 😛 thanks for doing THAT for me Zoe!!! you rock!!

  8. Shannon Says:

    Hi there…I stumbled upon your blog one day and now I’m addicted…lol. I ordered all of the products to make my first batch of Simply Wonderful. I’m so excited!! Can someone tell me how much they use in their HE washers? I have an LG front load washer. Thanks for your help and I can’t wait to try your recipe !!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      well, this is a good thing to be addicted to!!! glad you like it. Keep visiting, there is much more to come. 🙂 I am hoping someone might answer your question on the HE dispensed amount. I have a top loader, so I can not tell you first hand. If I can I will gather up some info and maybe post it in an upcoming blog update though.

  9. Jean McCormick Says:

    What kind of container is that that you have the example of the detergent in on the web site?

    • simplyaltered Says:

      it is replica apocrathy jar with a metal lid. I love it!!! and an antique metal coffee scoop.

  10. Vanessa Says:

    I love your jar also, I’ve been on the look out for something similar to use. Yours just seems to fit it’s purpose so well and I love your scoop too. They’re like “let’s go back to the good old days”, when times were simpler, the air was fresher and the Earth was greener. I love that pic, and I can almost smell that detergent…lol. I like plundering in flea markets and antique shops so I think the odds are good that I’ll find the perfect container for me. ~ Vanessa

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Thanks Vanessa. AS if the soap is not good enough on its own, but you can not imagine how many people have comented and were attracted to the jar itself of mine!!! funny,……it is all in the presentation huh??? 🙂

  11. Jean McCormick Says:

    i just love that jar as I told you earlier. I even tried to find one on e-bay but with no luck of course. I’m going to the Antique Store this week-end. Hope to find some thing useful there to use for my detergent. I’m getting ready to make mine soon. Probably Thursday. I just love this site although I think I miss out on some things as it looks like they talk about things I haven’t seen on here.
    What are some of the other things that you have made and told about?
    I’ll keep reading maybe I’ll catch up. This is just to GREAT. Thanks for all your hard work. Jean

    • simplyaltered Says:

      just keep catching up and keep reading in the future, there IS more to come!!!!!!!!! lots of inspiration and different ways to save money and live a SIMPLE life.

  12. Wendy Wirth Says:

    This has nothing to do with this post, but I’ve been meaning to ask it for awhile. What kind of adhesive do you use for your altered art pieces?
    I’ve been planning on altering some boxes lately but I don’t know what to use to attach the paper to them.
    I make Artist Trading Cards and a I use a lot of the Tombo double-stick tape, but I’m not sure that it’s strong enough to hold paper to a box. I also use E6000 to stick larger/heavier items onto my ATCs, like buttons and such, but I believe that would be too heavy. I’ve also used Aileene’s tacky glue, but that makes things curl.
    Any advice would help.
    Thank you
    Wendy W

    • simplyaltered Says:

      it is not so much the product you use, although it has to be a liquid. The key is in using a bone folder. I have found this through lots of trial & error.

  13. Jean McCormick Says:

    Just curious, what is a bone folder?
    Also, if you don’t use plastic, what do you use to store your winter clothes in when you go from winter to summer and vice versa?
    We don’t have big walk in closets, our home is older, when they had the smaller closets. Therefore we have to switch out winter to summer. I can’t seem to find anything that works good as we have to store them under our bed. Most of the plastic containers are to tall and then “bag” don’t really do a good job. Just wondered if you had a solution.
    I was going to make my detergent today but my first grandbaby was born yesterday so I’m behind a day. Will make it this week-end though. I’m to excited to chop up soap today as well as to far behind from being gone all day from 2am our time, he was born at 6:19 our time, until after 11 last night.
    Well thanks for all your hard work. I’m anxious to hear about some other things to make and to help me declutter. I’m going to attempt to do the attict soon. Jean

  14. simplyaltered Says:

    a bone folder is a long letter opened looking thing. It is what you use like in card making to make a clean crisp “fold” it works great to get a smooth finish on boxes as well as work all the many corners!!
    I am unsure what to suggest for clothing storage. DO you have extra closets?? I personally INSIST on not having too many clothes that they can not all fit into one closet. I know this is hard for some people, as I am striving to be a minimalist, so EVERYthing is pared WAY down in my possessions. Maybe this is a good time for you to reevaluate your clothing collection??? 🙂 it is amazing when you take a HARD look at how many items you really NEED to keep. I will keep thinking though for you, and if I come up with some ingenious idea, I will let you know!!!!

Leave a Reply

