“it’s Summertime and the living is {GOING} to be easy…”

EASY-LIVINGanother 1/2 hour and SCHOOL IS OUT  !!!!!!   can you feel my excitement?   Everybody all together now….one big SIGH!!!    {sigh}    

This is a little out of my normal realm of thinking, but it also shows the MAJOR progress we have made in our home, and here is why…..

*my kids are finally beyond fighting like they used to do!!!!!  my summertime month used to require referee skills.   (they DO grow out of that phase) thank goodness!!  now, my kids are actually becoming “friends” for the most part, and finally learned that “getting along” is just SO much easier!!  :)

* I used to spend summertime running from one end of town to the other!!  now, with a teenage daughter,  she THRIVES on doing my errands FOR me!!!  how awesome is that?   I hate errands!!!  

*I reflect quite vividly  on the days of working outside my home.  What are the kids doing all day?  how is my house?  what am I going to deal with on my lunch hour?  …..now, I am COMPLETELY blessed working from home, and the kids and I would NEVER have it any other way!!!   my presence is here, but yet in the salon, and not on top of them!!!!  it is a win / win situation all the way around!!!  I highly recommend this, if at all possible!!!!   Something I should have done 10 years SOONER!!!

*After an especially “challenging” school year, we are DONE with school schedules for a few months, and we are going to celebrate tomorrow by SLEEPING IN!!!!!  all three of us!!!!!!   In our slumber, we can listen to the birds from a distance, feel the cool breeze in the windows and awake whenever WE want to!!!!!!!!!!!!!!    

* we also have a VERY relaxed schedule all summer long.   I have spent enough summers completely OVERSCHEDULED and I am much wiser now!!!!!   My kids both have church trips scheduled, and other than that we will have a Staycation  (more on that later)   it will ALL be good.  

Now, the pic???  I  don’t know where it is!!!!   and I have no idea who the feet belong to,  but when I stumbled across it, it looked like it is somewhere I wanted to be!!!!!!!!!!!!   ok, then I snapped back to reality and remembered that we are not going to be doing anything NEAR this tropical blissful traveling.   I had a twinge of feeling sorry for myself , so nothing like a list of things to be grateful to make ya feel good at the situation you are in…..and how many reasons I have to feel blessed!!!!!!!!!!  

I think I accomplished just that.  

Take a look at YOUR summer plans.  Are they so hectic you are not sure how to manage it?  or do you see a whole lot of rest / relaxation / and quality time,  just waiting to be had?    

15 more minutes…..and I will be waiting at the door for the kids to arrive.  🙂

(more tonight, hopefully)

14 Responses to ““it’s Summertime and the living is {GOING} to be easy…””

  1. stampit74 Says:

    YES! ENJOY those children now! YIKES, they grow up fast and are gone in a blink of the eye! so it seems when you’re my age! lol I had two that liked to run errands for me…middle child didn’t like to! hehe I miss that a lot! I’m a middle child to in that respect, errands are not my favorite thing…
    Just have to chuckle about the tropical influence…thinking about Iowa summers…hot, humid, sticky, that’s all the tropical we get! lol I’m forever thankful for A.C.!
    Pam Going Postal

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh I know. I was always warned of this, and now I am the one telling others!!!! I certainly do NOT know where the years have gone!!!!! 😦
      Yep, I will be feeling VERY tropical (in an Iowa) way before too long!!!!!! but me?? that is when I spend the most time on the screened in porch as our house is kept SO cold , I can hardly stand it!!! lol

  2. kim aka machita Says:

    ok as i read this blog, i thought “maybe it would be nice to just have a staycation and relax and listen to MY birds chirp and feel the breeze through MY windows. and THEN…. i snapped back into reality🙂 I AM GOING TO DUBAI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i can hear those birds every morning.(i wonder…do birds chirp when it is 125+ degrees?) and i can feel the hottest scorching burning humid dry breeze come through Jessis guest bedroom window:) yippee.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      enjoy. It is not an option for us.
      I don’t think there are birds in Dubai though….is there??

  3. jeanne Says:

    I REMEMBER THE SUMMER DAYS WHEN THE KIDS WERE LITTLE. WE WOULD PILE INTO THE CAR AND HEAD FOR GRANDMA’S HOUSE. THEY LIVE ON AN ACRE OF LAND IN THE COUNTRY ( IN THE MIDDLE OF A CORN FIELD). BUT HERE WAS THE DRAW.(BECAUSE GRANDMA WORKED) THEY HAD A POOL. THE KIDS LOVED IT FROM DAY ONE. ( WHEN THEY WERE BARELY 4 MONTHES OLD) UNTIL THEY GRADUATED FROM HIGH SCHOOL. THOSE WERE THE DAYS!!!!!!!!!!!

    NOW FOR OUR VACATION.( MARRIED ALMOST 33 YEARS). WE WILL BE OFF THIS SATURDAY FOR PARTS UNKNOWN. WE WILL BE LOOKING FOR A CAMPGROUND IN NEED OF HELP. THEY GIVES US A FREE HOOKUP AND WE WORK 20 HOURS A WEEK. IT IS GREAT!!! WE DID THIS FOR 18 MONTHES ONE TIME STARTING IN 1999. WE LIVED IN COLORADO, MISSOURI, ARIZONA AND IOWA.
    SINCE MY DAD WAS A TRUCK DRIVER ( WORKED FOR KELLY’S DAD) FOR MORE THAN 40 YEARS. OVER A MILLION MILES DRIVEN. THE GYPSY SPIRIT LIVES ON IN OUR FAMILY..I JUST GOT THE BIGGEST DOSE. SEE YOU IN THE FALL!!!!!!!!!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Jeanne…I SO vividly remember your moms pool!!!!! what FUN!!!!! I think we must have conveniently came for a visit a few times in the dead of summer!! Funny!!! it was SUCH an awesome pool, in ground / cement and all….that was rare back then, wasn’t it?
      Your plans sound very interesting and a great way to “give back”. I imagine you can make a big difference in the quality of parks in some areas. Good for you!!!!! keep checking in though, in case you are near computer access at any point and time!!!!

  4. Diana W Says:

    I work 4 days a week, and have Wednesdays off so I have a mini-vacation in the middle of every week. I got home from visiting the nursing home shut ins from our church about 1:30 and I am STILL sitting
    on the patio listening to the birds and watching a baby squirrel stare at me. This is simplification at it’s best!

    We are palnning on going to Denver in August to visit family and to go to a Cubs/Rockies game, but they live out near the front range, so plan on sitting at their house also, just relaxing for a few days. May take along a bit of hand quilting to keep my brain occupied, but nothing more taxing than that.

    Hope you all get a chance to relax for at least part of the summer. Nothing like a good book, a little sun and big glass of iced tea to calm down your nerves, and remember a simpler time in your life.

    Enjoy!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      your vacation sounds very nice, and not FILLED with consumerism and a daily “agenda” to do and go go go!!!! those are just NOT vacations to me!!!!!! Safe travels to you!!!!! enjoy every God given sight and sound you find yourself surrounded with!!!

  5. LaVonne Says:

    VERY nicely written Kel. I remember a few years ago, how you were dreading the summer to hit, because every day was a stuggle with the kids. And how wonderful it is now, that they have grown up and get along and actually help you in the house! I saw POSITIVE all over this post!!!!! Good job Kel🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I knew I would make you proud!!! and I am smiling at your reply!!! yes, we have ALL come full circle huh??? it feels VERY good!!!!!!

  6. Wendy Wirth Says:

    My summer won’t be very different from the rest of the year. Volunteer at the library, work a few hours a night, make artist trading cards for my Yahoo! group, collect the rest of people’s cards for that group and swap them out, get packets ready for the next month for the group, hang out with my boyfriend on the weekend.
    Though, I do hope to hang out with my friend and her puppy bichons, now that they’re old enough and she’ll have more in a couple of months.

    When I was young my parents took my brother and I on numerous vacations around the country. My dad works at a public radio station and my mother was on the city council, so most of the trips were around the time of conferences, but they were still fun. I always looked forward to the end of the summer when we would go and spend a week at our condo up on Lake Okoboji. When I make it up there now that I’m older, not much has changed, I can still go to the same places and feel like a kid again.
    I wish I could go this year, but I’ll probably (hopefully) be working at another job at that time, and I know there’s no way my boyfriend’s schedule will coordinate with mine. Plus, by that time, my mother and father will be back deeply in work, and they won’t go.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      your vacations sound like mine as a child. My dad was a truck driver, so we generally went in a truck!! 🙂 with a load to “deliver” but it was a great way to travel…..bed / sleeper included!!! I have SO many memories of that!!!! sleeping with my sisters as my dad and mom were in front. I guess not everyone gets to travel on vacation AND be getting paid at the same time…..we were BOTH lucky huh???

  7. retrodolly Says:

    Hey Kelli—

    I can totally agree—kids are awesome and always love having them around. Guess what I am doing today? Making laundry soap—I am using it and loving it. Thanks so much for all the helpful tips to make my life more simple. You are a doll!

Leave a Reply

