“Altered Caffeine” is here !!!!!!!

our "frugal" version

our "frugal" version

My husband gets the credit for this creation, and my daughter for the nice image.    :)   she was very proud of the coffee scoop tilted “just so”    LOL.

After becoming hooked on this delicious fast food drink, but spending nearly $3 per order, Glenn KNEW he could make them just the same!!   after much trial and error, he nailed it perfectly, and only PENNIES per glass!!!    We usually drink them through a straw to really get the full effect, but for the blog, it is straight from a 12 oz glass.

“Altered Caffeine”

make any amount you need of DOUBLE strength coffee (maybe even a little OVER double strength)  then COMPLETELY cool it.

fill a 12 oz glass full of ice

Add

2 Tbsp DaVinci vanilla syrup   ( we tried caramel , but did NOT like it) you may also need to adjust this for sweetness preference, but 2 Tbsp is a good place to start.

1/4 cup ORIGINAL Coffee-Mate liquid

Top with the COOLED double strength coffee.

Pure refreshment on a hot summer day.  !!!!!!!!!!!!

I have to emphasize this is all done from a 12 oz cup full of ice and you may need to adjust ingredients for personal preference, but this is as close as you can get to the Drive-Thru version.  :)     Glenn was spending $3 each day on the way to work, and now we have a pot of the double strength coffee on our counter, and each morning, he makes his OWN and takes it in his to-go cup.  Can you imagine the money savings on this?????     makes me smile.  :)

Additonal notes:

I have to laugh, my son is mowing the yard today and stopped the mower RIGHT next to my computer room window.  “Mom, you ought to take a picture of ME mowing for the blog”  !!!!  too funny!!!  they are as “into” this blog deal as I am, and are SURE everything they do is definitely blog worthy!!!   (and of course, it IS!!!)    but in the meantime, my daughter was ready for the photo shoot of the Altered Caffeine!!!

Also, I am deep in the process of setting up an Etsy shop.   I am still trying to figure it all out, but as soon as the Etsy shop is up and running, I will let you all know, you can invite your friends and do some shopping!!! of course, those not familiar with Etsy, it is all handmade items by artisans from all over.  Just my style!!!    🙂

Please let me know how you like this post, some will like it more than others of course, and as always forward it on to friends that also enjoy Iced Coffee…….. but now, for a FRACTION of the cost!!!   yeah!!!!!


20 Responses to ““Altered Caffeine” is here !!!!!!!”

  1. LisaW Says:

    Hey Kelli ~ I like a mocha latte drink from SB and being a diabetic I can’t have it so I now use Sugar Free International Coffee flavors, a glass of ice and regular coffee (can be decaf). Yummy and best part does not raise my sugar level.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      good tip to add for those with diabetic tendancies. I still can NOT believe you have that!!! 😦

  2. Tippy Says:

    Brew me up some decaf! I also have a blended variety if you would like the recipe for it. It’s even low-cal. . .Cade & Coy freaking LOVE it!

  3. ambjour Says:

    mmmm… i may make me some decaf. where do you buy the syrup? HYVEE???

  4. stampit74 Says:

    I don’t drink coffee but fun to read that your DH is gettin’ in on this creative “life” too! hehe
    Now, Maison just needs to have a page about him on your blog or start his own…mowing tips etc! hehe
    Good luck on the Etsy shop!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      oh boy, if I tell Maison that he will be ALL over it!!!! it will turn into HIS blog totally!!! hahaha!!!

  5. Jean McCormick Says:

    This sounds great. Any particular brand of coffee? So you can buy the syurp at wal-mart, great, as we have none of the others mentioned. Jean

  6. simplyaltered Says:

    We use Folgers medium blend and it IS important to have a robust blend and DOUBLE strength!!! I have also been told that Folgers is what the fast food uses too, but I can not guarantee that. Wal Mart does have the syrup, and I think they have it in caramel, hazelnut and vanilla. We have tried all, and definitely prefer vanilla.

  7. LaVonne Says:

    Double strength coffee is what is served every day at our house! My hubby loves it that strong! I can’t wait to try this. Is the syrup next to the coffee, or where at HyVee????? Glenn makes them better than McDonald’s!!!

  8. bejes Says:

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. So far I have not been able to find liquid creamer. I have been using powdered with my morning coffee. That could be crisis mode since I basically can’t bring like 10 jugs of that back with me. OH MAN! 12 days until the real deal though! Thanks for the recipe, FINALLY!!!

  9. simplyaltered Says:

    glad I made your day….and now, after the WAITING….. that first sip will be even SWEETER!!!! 🙂

  10. Jules Says:

    Oh I can’t wait to try this! Mine will be decaf of course but will be good! My mom has gotten hooked on the ‘commercial’ kind so I will have her try this!

  11. Gina L Says:

    Like I already mentioned somewhere on your blog my sister lives in Seattle, and so did I for short period of time. You cannot swing a dead cat in that area without hitting a Starbucks or any other coffeehouse. My sisters husband is a truck driver and he never drinks coffee coffee, but he loves the ice cold mocha drinks from Starbucks. One time all 3 of us went to the coffeehouse and my brotherinlaw said I got yours too, I was standing next to him, he paid 18 dollars and change for 3 cups of coffee basically, good flavored coffee sure…but come on 18$??????
    I said to my sister you know we have become Americans when we pay that much for coffee, this is not right we can find a way to make this at home. Having spent part of my teens and twenties in Italy I bought myself a cheap Espresso maker, one that you put on the stove and you wait til it gets done hissing and gurgling and the smell of wonderful espresso is wafting through your kitchen. For the purpose of this iced drink you can use a cheap blend of any espresso, whatever you find on sale somewhere, I happen to get a few bags at the local dollar store one day, I also found some fresh beans at Aldis (from Italy no less). Here is my recipe it makes a good iced mocha a la Starbucks.
    for one person I use a supersized cup like you get from McDonalds or such. First I use some chocolate syrup, this is for sweetness and it enhances the mocha flavor, you will have to figure out exactly how much you like. I add 2 espresso shots fresh from stove, stir this with syrup then add milk about half way, fill rest with ice and voila Iced Mocha. Grab a fancy straw and off you go. It is delicious every time. And what is even sweeter is the price, pennies per cup…sorry Starbucks

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yeah, sorry Starbucks, but that IS ridiculous!!! no wonder they are struggling in the financial market!!! good grief!!

Leave a Reply

