pure refressshment!!!!!

sorry Iced Coffee, we have found a NEW love...

sorry Iced Coffee, we have found a NEW love...

O   M   G   !!!!!!!!   this MIGHT be “to die for” refreshment.  (makes my husband NUTS when I say that)  but I am telling you, it is YUMMY  !!!!!!   my daughter went to  Ottumwa last night to the movies and I had her bring me back a Sonic Cherry Limeade !!!!!!!!   they are THAT good!!!   then we all put our heads together and did our research trying to find the right recipe and make it BETTER to create them on our own.

Why????

1.  We want to SAVE money, and have the ease of doing them at home at our convenience

2.  The closest Sonic is 30 minutes away and I can only go to Ottumwa so many times in a week!!!  😮    people will start getting suspicious of what the heck I need to go there all the time for, and I can HARDLY justify the GAS money just for a beverage!!  haha

3. And of course, it makes a perfect blog post for the HOT HOT (and humid) 90 degree day we had today!!!

ok.  Here goes:

fill a tall glass 2/3 full of ice (of course, we use crushed)  to get the full effect.  :)

add 2 Tbsp Grenadine

add the juice of 1/2 lime (squeeze really well)  and add the actual lime TO the drink.

Top off with COLD Sprite  (we used Sprite Zero)

Stir well

It will fizz really good, and make you EXTRA thirsty!!    You can even HEAR it bubbling!!!

My son and I just came home from a late night walk with our poodle and tried one out.   Then we had to make ANOTHER one!!!   and I will do a third one when my daughter gets off work.  She will be impressed as we have all come to LOVE these!!!!!!!!!

The perfect summertime drink.  (and now on the cheap!!!)   yeah!!

Try one, and be SURE to let me know how much you love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

18 Responses to “pure refressshment!!!!!”

  1. Mishelle Says:

    Yum! I think I will give these a shot as soon as I pick up some grenadine! Thanks for coming up with clone recipe!

  2. simplyaltered Says:

    you are gonna love it!!!! let the kids have ALL the chocolate they want…….you can enjoy this indulgence, nearly guilt-free. 🙂

  3. Jean McCormick Says:

    what is grenadine and where do you find it in the grocery store?

  4. simplyaltered Says:

    grenadine is a cherry sort of syrup, generally used in mixed drinks. I found mine by the alcoholic beverage aisle, although it is a NON-alcoholic syrup.

  5. Christy Says:

    WOW!!! I can’t wait to try this myself—so love that kind of drink–(not a coffee person) but THIS is just my style! Off to the store-

  6. jmerk Says:

    So I had one made for me by her today and it was amazing!!!!! I will diffinatly make sure I stop bye everytime I’m feeling up to one…. Btw I returned your cup!! :))

  7. simplyaltered Says:

    Thanks Jesse!!! I told you it was gonna be delicious huh??? I will have another one ready for you when you get home from Chicago!!! 🙂 yep, got the glass back too!! now I will trust you to borrow one next time.

  8. Masry Says:

    Just made some. It is soooooo good. Will have to remember to get plenty of supplies to make pitchers over the 4th. (We’ll add a little vodka to those!) Thanks for sharing!!

  9. Shari W. Says:

    Kelli..
    I ran and got all the ingredients.. Just as I have with the soap and coffee drink:)
    The cherry lime drink is amazing… Thanks for “helping” me find the ingredients~ It’s been fun stopping in and chatting with you at Hy-Vee.. Maybe they will let you have samples of the iced coffee and cherry/lime drink~! I’m sure that would be a big hit. The lime sales would go WAAAY up… What else do you use a lime for anyways?? That was the first time I’ve ever bought a lime.. Thanks for all of the GREAT recipes.. I’ll be back:)

    Shari<

    • simplyaltered Says:

      NO KIDDING!!! like who had “limes” on their grocery list before this recipe came about?? !!!!! haha. I knew you would love the drink especially the way you like those slushie things.
      I will be at the Ankeny Hy-Vee on July 12. Hope to see you and Deb there too!!!! 😀 !!!!!!!!!!! you better get an early start THAT day!!!
      I might have to mention to Dan about the Cherry Limeade recipe. 🙂

  10. Annette Says:

    I can’t wait to try this but how do you crush your ice? With a blender? I wish there was an easier way?

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I have a “cubed or crushed” option on my ice maker. Otherwise, just use regular cubes, it will still be delicious.. 🙂

  11. Vanessa Says:

    I made this drink and my husband asked for a refill!!! Of course, I had to get myself a refill also. =) Very good and so easy to make. Thanks Kelli for the new summertime drink!! I can’t wait for the all purpose cleaner, I’m wondering about using it as homemade wipes. Have you tried it that? This is all very interesting! *wrings hands in anticipation*

    • simplyaltered Says:

      so glad you AND your husband liked the Cherry Limeade!!! I bet the local grocers are wondering what in the world is going on with their lime sales!!! haha.
      The homemade cleaner is coming VERY VERY soon…..

  12. Jean McCormick Says:

    Hey just wondered who won the Father Day give away. Been out of town for a week and hadn’t seen anything posted about it. Thanks, jean

    • simplyaltered Says:

      it is you Jean. The post was made announcing the winner and I am just waiting for your snail mail address. I even posted the item you won.

Leave a Reply

