“Daddy”

the mold has been broken...

the mold has been broken...

“My father didn’t tell me how to live; he lived, and let me watch him do it”   (Clarence B Kelland)

…..not even sure where to begin on this one.  I usually do not have a hard time with words, written or spoken, but this one is not coming to me real easy for some reason.  Maybe because no words could adequately describe a man of such greatness???  that is it.

I am the last one of 5 GIRLS  !!!  can you imagine??  I was the one everyone assumed might finally be “Jerrys boy”  I even had a boy name ready to go.  “Kent” was going to be my name, to go right along with our tradition, once you have your first born, every child after that has to begin with the same letter.  Kathy, Karla, Kim, Kris, and Kent, Kelli.    :)   Little did everyone know, my dad was MORE than 100% delighted with all his GIRLS!!!  he was a king in his castle, in every sense of the word!!!!   we all ADORED him!!!

My sisters all proudly followed him in the family trucking business, but myself, the baby of the family, had no intentions of doing that.  My dad embraced my dreams, for me, and with me.   He found that having a hairstylist in the family was very convenient.  How many times I cut his hair (no appointment necessary)  and his haircuts were “free”  (???)  which always meant slipping me a very big bill when he was done, “as a tip”    :)

Growing up, I guess if I had to remember only  ONE thing, it would be that between 5 girls, he was asked alot of questions, and NEVER one time, did he not have an answer.  Might not have  been an accurate one, or an honest one, but there was NEVER a time that he said “I don’t know”.  NEVER.   He was an over the road truck driver early on in life, so vacations answering 5 girls of “how many more miles?”  he could tell us.  It could have been 200 miles off, but it was his answer, so we took it as gospel.  Later in life, he owned the business, and withOUT computers, cell phones, and all modern technology, he could tell you at any time, where each of his many drivers were, and even find them in the nearest truck stop if he needed to.  I am sure if there WERE computers, he would have refused.  He needed nothing more than a sharp mind, an impeccable business sense and a piece of scratch paper….and his quick wit made him “Daddy” to all his drivers as well.   He may not have been a man of many words, but when he spoke, you listened.

He was also a quiet presence in our home.  When things were going wrong, he most often remained silent.  He did not NEED to say anything.  You were well aware if he was disappointed, so there was no need for him to remind you, much less reprimand you.   Maybe my parents were just getting tired in their age and after raising 4 girls before me, but I can honestly say, I do not ever recall them raising their voices.  If there were any issues to address, the less they said, the better message it sent.  I have to remind myself of this often.  I tend to do the opposite and say TOO much!!   My dad (and mom) always had an unbelievably  quiet confidence that,  in the end, “everything would be fine”.  ….and it always was.

Had we known more about “Not sweating the small stuff” it would have been my dads motto.  If you don’t sweat the small stuff, it rarely turns into “big stuff” .  Very true in my family.

and I had given thought to cropping my mother out of the picture since this is for Fathers Day, but I did not have the heart to do so.  As the saying goes, “behind every successful man is a strong woman”  (something like that)  and this is a perfect example.  She was an ANGEL on earth!!!!!!!  I wish I would have had this idea for Mothers Day, but I did not.  Maybe next year, as I have ALOT to say about my mom.  God bless both their souls.

I lost them WAY too young.  My mom was 62 and my Daddy was 60.  That put me in my early 30’s, and beginning to be a parent myself, and seeing their qualities in a completely different light.  I could only HOPE to be the kid of parents they were.  I do try though.  🙂

Enjoy Fathers Day with your own dad if you are still blessed with having one around.  Remember your father is he is gone.  And take a deep look at the father of your children.  Time is too short not to savor each and every day with them.

Add your comments, and your stories to mine , for all to enjoy.  There are others posted in the Homemade Firestarters section , if you would like to go back and read.   I appreciate everyones input and I will be doing a random drawing on Wednesday from them.

23 Responses to ““Daddy””

  1. Jeff Says:

    It’s RUBAY!!!

  2. Jeff Says:

    Do you really think that that would be a good thing?

  3. kim aka machita Says:

    Happy Father’s Day Daddy😦

  4. carole martin browne Says:

    Happy Fathers Day to all the Fathers….
    My Father passed away 4 months before I was born so I never got to know him.And also my mother never remarried my mother passed away when I was 17.I did have 2 older brothers that was always there for me as a child,my oldest brother was killed 8 months before my mom passed away and that made things so hard for the 3 of us that was left.But my brother,sister and I stuck together and we made it through.As the years went by it got easier but you still miss your parents on these special days so much.And I’m very lucky when my sister married,my brother-in-laws parents took me in as their own daughter.So they may not be my own parents but they LOVE me just the same.Kudos to Gene and Scottie Moore for all they have done for me…This past May I came back to Oskaloosa get married,I wanted to get married in the church my mom had raised me.It was a wonderful day as my 2 nephews walked me down the aisle,but was so sad not to have my mom or dad right there.But I was very lucky to have all the Moore family right there and also my big brother and his family there also.It is not easy not having our loved ones here at these times. But please CHERISH these moments,because memories will last a LIFETIME.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh Carole, I did not know you had lost both your parents when you were so young!! I thought the 30’s was bad. 😦 I remember your mom around town, and I also remember your brother being killed, but certainly did not realize it was so close together. That is exactly why God puts people like the Moors in your life . How wonderful to have them? it all happens for a reason and like my parents taught me, it is all fine in the end. Think how strong you and your siblings are for having gone through all this adversity. Thanks for sharing your story, it will be in my heart all day long.

  5. Angie Says:

    I shed a tear reading your blog. I almost lost my dad twice. A year before Bryan and I got married he suffered a heart attack and 4 bypasses, almost a year to the date AFTER we got married he suffered another one. Although he continued to work at Pella, the heat in the summer and just the continuous stress of what that place can cause, I often wondered on a daily basis how he was doing. My mom got hired at Pella and shortly there after also had a heart attack and had to have 5 bypasses. She retired a couple of years ago, and my dad FINALLY retired this past December. Not a day goes by that I don’t thank God for them, my dad and I are very close, he is in so many ways my best friend. Life without him…..is something noone likes to think about, but know someday it will come, that is why we have to cherish each and every moment of the ones we love, cherish, and adore. You never know when God will need another angel…..I did not know you back when you did lose your parents but know you now and I know they are looking down upon you, and the sun just shines with their proudness and joy they have for not only you but your sisters as well. I know they repeat themselves so much by saying….”she is a wonderful mom, wife, and friend. I often drive by your parent’s grave going to a dear friend’s that I lost a couple of months ago due to cancer, and every time I think to myself how strong you are as a woman. So everytime you accent one of your boxes or jars, or whatever you may make in the future with a saying such as cherish, or enjoy, those mean so much to those of us that have ever lost a loved one. God Bless Today and Always your Mom and Dad.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Angie, you are SO lucky to have your dad around and active with you!! I look at people like that and can not help but wonder “Why” I can not have my parents. Going from talking to them MANY times throughout the day (like you probably do) to….gone??? it is hard to take. Yes, enjoy them to the FULLEST, every single chance you can. It is too soon they will be gone.

  6. LaVonne Says:

    Ohhh this makes me remember Daddy very well! Yep, everyone that worked for him called him Daddy too! I thought that was so strange at first, but after I became close to your family, I came to understand it! And he called Ruby, Rube! I have some memories of him too, and they are coming to mind. I know you miss them very much, and it makes me even more grateful for mine🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      he DID always call her Rube huh?? thinking back now, I am not sure he EVER called her Ruby on a casual basis. Maybe that is why Glenn NEVER calls me Kelli, only “Kel”. He is in many ways like my dad. (some not though) 🙂
      Yes, enjoy your dad 100%. The day is coming.

  7. Judy Says:

    I lost my Dad at an early age , too. He was 61. I still think about
    him every day. I am thankful I had a good dad. It is good to have
    great memories.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      and 61 is even YOUNGER now than it was when my dad died. Maybe because I am getting older??? lol. One of the many things I love to do it reminisce about my parents. We do it often and having my kids so young when they died, I am determined to keep their memory alive for that reason.

  8. ambjour Says:

    i do remember jerry. the two times i met him was on “not so good terms” we won’t go there….LOL! but i do know what he meant to TJ. TJ always said the God put “me” in his life b/c he was going to be taking “grandpa” out of it. the timing was amazing for TJ. that always made me feel special cuz i know how close they were. i wish i could have gotten to know him better!
    and happy father’s day to my dad! he is a quiet and subborn man but i wouldn’t change a thing about him. we have a close relationship and he has a heart of gold!
    nice tribute kel!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yep, I remember the times you first met him. Can you blame the guy now??? 😀 I did not get to touch upon how highly regarded the grandkids had him in their heart and his the same, so I am VERY glad you made this comment. I remember walking into the room hearing he has passed away, and I have never felt such a punch in my gut since that moment. Being the first family member to pass away, I thought I was dreaming.
      I know your dad has a heart of gold, and is just such a “good ole boy” anyway. You are lucky to have him around ESPECIALLY for your kids!!! Maison was not even born to know my dad. 😦

  9. Jean Welsh Says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your father!! It brought tears to my eyes as I read it. I didn’t really know your father you did a great job of bringing him to life to all your readers. Keep him always in your heart!!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Thanks Jean, although I did not intend to make you sad. 🙂 I tried my best to adequately describe my dad…….so many years has passed, and it makes me sad to see the pictures are getting kind of “dated” and many people that come into my life maybe did not know him. But my memories are as vivid as they were when I looked up to him and felt incapable of making a decision without his input. I guess maybe I did not give myself enough credit back then, but he certainly did.

  10. Diana W Says:

    I, too, lost my dad at an early age – 63. That was 15 years ago, but sometimes, seems like yesterday. Not a day passes that I don’t remember his quirky humor, his ability to make me laugh and always feel loved and. There are times that I still wait for him to call me on my birthday and other times I want to call him with a funny joke I heard. I know he’s not here on earth, but I know that he watches over me and mine. Just wish my youngest son could have met him. My oldest son also has fond memories of his pa-ba.
    I am blessed to have picked a good man to marry and to have children with. I believe that you marry men like your father, and I have a kind, affectionate man to prove it.
    Happy Fathers Day, Daddy!

  11. simplyaltered Says:

    this is really ironic. Almost the same ages, and the same year they died? and my dad also did not get to see my son. I had JUST found out I was pregnant when he died. 😦 I am always sad for that. My son would have LOVED my dad…..but as much as I talk about him, he feels like he knew him. 🙂
    and the same as you, I certainly had my dads blessings on my marriage. He loved my husband and likewise. Glenn thought the WORLD and all of my dad.

  12. simplyaltered Says:

    from Jeanne Overton:AMEN!!!!!!!!!!!
    I CAN ALWAYS REMEMBER YOUR MOM’S LAUGH IT WOULD CRACK UP UP EVERY TIME. AND WHEN WE COME FOR A “VISIT”. IT DIDNT TAKE MARV AND I LONG TO FIGURE OUT THAT WE BETTER BRING CLOTHES BECAUSE WE WOULD END UP SPENDING THE NIGHT OR THE WEEKEND. WHAT GREAT FUN THAT WAS,
    AS FAR AS THE TRUCK DRIVER IS CONCERNED UNTIL DAD’S LAST DAY HE COULD TELL YOU MILE MARKERS AND WHERE TO TURN AND ALL THAT.. EVEN WHEN HE WAS GOING BLIND. I MISS NOT BEING ABLE TO ASK ABOUT DIRECTION FOR TRIPS AND THING NOW. I REMEMBER GOING ON A TRIP AND PASSING A SEMI AND BREAKING INTO TEARS BECAUSE I COULDNT GO WITH DAD IN THE TRUCK. ALTHOUGH IT HAD 15 YEARS SINCE HE COULD DRIVE ON ANY WAY..WITH HIS VISION. I KNOW THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN IN THE COMMENTS.. BUT I AM AT THE LIBRARY USING THEIR COMPUTER BECAUSE MY TOOK A POWDER AND I AM TOO CHEAP TO BUY ONE YET.
    LOVED YOUR STORY.
    IT IS HARD WITHOUT THEM.
    LOVE JEANNE*

  13. Amber Wallace (Overton) Says:

    Hi Loved your daddy story.. I loved coming to DRS w/ my grandpa and getting the truck ready, seeing everyone.. Great memories of everyone there. Thanks for sharing.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yes, having a truck driving Grandpa, I am glad you did like the story. I bet you admired your grandpa for his knowledge of the road as much as the grandkids in my family did. 🙂

  14. Lana Schippers Says:

    Uncle Jerry…your dad was a great man among men…funny I have known alot of truck drivers…growing up…well also my dad being one when he was in his 30’s and your dad was a stand up guy…one to be admired. Every man wanted to be him….every woman wished they had a man like him….you girls were lucky to have him as a dad…and I am pretty sure every single day he was happy that he had you girls as his daughters!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you must know how I much I love to hear stories about my dad (or both parents for that matter) it makes my heart smile!!! and I can not agree more with your kind words. !!!!!! I know the mold has been broken . We all ADMIRED that man.

Leave a Reply

