{FINALLY!!!} “Simply Fantastic” all purpose cleaner…

{complicated}

{complicated}

{Simple}

{Simple}

Finally, the recipe is ready to REVEAL  !!!  yeah   !!!!!  I know alot of you are waiting very patiently.  I had to tweak it a little after the initial use , and since  having my cleaning {sister} give it a good trial run, we unanimously agreed, it is “Simply Fantastic”  !!!!

Disclaimer:  before I get flamed for any misrepresentation.   I am not claiming for this to be ALL natural, nor organic, nor toxic free.  BUT.  In comparison of the common and ALSO extremely pricey items with a million different scents and additives etc etc etc that are lining all the shelves at the local grocer and discount store, this is a darn good alternative!!!!   it is one I am using, and I am sure you will AGREE, it is very price effective and UTMOST simple!!!!!!!!  and most importantly….does it work FANTASTICALLY  ???  oh, of COURSE it does.  I know you will love it.

Simply Fantastic:

3 Tbsp distilled white vinegar

2 tsp Borax   (perfect to use leftover from Simply Wonderful laundry soap)  !!!  🙂

2 Tbsp Original (blue) Dawn dish soap

1 cup hot water

2 Tbsp Isopropyl alcohol

Pour vinegar, Borax and hot water into a 32 oz spray bottle.  Stir around to dissolve, and add Dawn.  Add alcohol and top off spray bottle with cool tap water. {and of course, I had to dress mine up with the “official”name.  lol

It is THAT easy. (oops)  Simple.  🙂

As of now, I will probably keep my window cleaner.  I am working on that next.  But for now, this will replace all my other pine / lemon / whatever all purpose cleaners.  I am hap hap HAPPY to see the bottom of my sink looking VERY streamlined.  I will donate all my leftover “stuff” to the local animal shelter, or Crisis Intervention.  Two very worthwhile organizations that are more than willing to take donations of any kind.

This cleaner MIGHT require a trip to the store to get whatever ingredients you do NOT have in your home already, but trust me, it IS worth it, and think of how long you will be NOT going to the store for cleaners from now on.  !!!!!!!!  yeah!!!!

I would love to hear FEEDBACK.  My ideas are only as successful as the wonderful ways it works in YOUR home as well as mine.

and as always , refer your friends to http://www.simplyaltered.com    :)

~~Kelli

(oh yeah, gotta notice the Cherry Limeade items in the background of the second image???   we can not make them fast enough around here!!!  definitely refreshing!!!!)

25 Responses to “{FINALLY!!!} “Simply Fantastic” all purpose cleaner…”

  1. J Says:

    I love your website and all your creative ideas. Just one thing I wanted to bring up, it is hard to read your posts with all the exclamation points and other characters. Maybe its just me being too old. But thank you for all the great tips.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I guess that is just the way I roll….sometimes, I get so excited, one exclamation mark just seem inadequate. 🙂

  2. Truckie Says:

    I made something similar will have to give this a try. My family loves the limeade! I am especially happy with the altered caffeine. I found a recipe to make my own vanilla syrup and creamer. It was already ingredients I had at home.

  3. kathleen ferris Says:

    Kelli – As always, a great simplification. I’m getting the ingredients to make this today, but I already have most of them. I look forward to your posts, because I know they will help refocus me on the simple important basics; i seem to gradually lose that every day. Thank you for your energy and ingenuity. Kathy

    • simplyaltered Says:

      it IS easy to get sidetracked. Trust me, I am guilty as well….and as soon as I get something like a closet simplified and decluttered, shut the door, something strange happens as it clutter sneaks its way back in!! have you noticed that too??? that is why it is so important to STAY on top of it, on a continual basis!!!! We can all help each other!!!

  4. Julie Says:

    So right now I have a kitchen cleaner and a bathroom cleaner (plus the window cleaner). I would guess that this could replace the kitchen cleaner, but what about the bath cleaner? And do I need to worry about scratching fiberglass and/or laminate countertops?

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yes, this will replace the kitchen cleaner as well. Nothing should scratch in the Simply Fantastic as the only abrasive substance is Borax, and that ought to be dissolved initially in the directions.

  5. LaVonne Says:

    I am SO hooked on both the Altered Caffeine and the Cherry Limeade, I am drinking all the time🙂 haha Didn’t know I would be this addicted to them.

  6. angie Says:

    finally got this made up and I decided to really put it to the test with the bathtub scum…eeeww… but I figured if I go to the effort of making it, it has to work on all the really tough jobs…drum roll………. it worked GREAT!!! Another product I will always use. Thanks!
    Just a thought.. with all of these homemade cleaning products and such.. wouldn’t a basketfull of these homemade goodies with their recipes make great Christmas presents?? just trying to think ahead in these tough budget times.
    Have a good day!

  7. simplyaltered Says:

    Angie, this is an awesome idea!!!! there is nothing I love more than a gift anytime of the year that was not just simply store bought and wrapped up. ….and honestly, the LESS a person spent on it, the better I like it!!!!!!! maybe I can make something like this up and take a pic closer to the holidays for everyone to see. ….and just think of all the fun things that are yet to come, that could also be added to the basket??? 🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Angie….oops, I also forgot to mention I am SO happy to hear that the cleaner worked so well for YOU!!! yeah yeah yeah!!!!! I have to say, the drumroll was making me a little nervous though!! LOL

  8. Rena Says:

    I’ve been using the laundry soap for a while now. I have found that if I grate it & let it ‘dry’ for a week or so it’s easier to grind & get finer powder. I have used a recipe for window cleaner for several years. Vinegar, & soap & water. It cuts the dirt & doesn’t streak. you can look up the exact recipe with other vinegar recipies.
    Also at Hy-vee they had a sign up about getting a year of soap free, but I didn’t find it on your blog. can you help me out?

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I have to admit, I am still using commercial cleaners for windows, but have promised myself that I will use homemade as soon as mine is gone. 🙂
      Go to the site search part of the home page of my blog, and type in “Are you sitting down”. The post will come up explaining how to get in for the drawing. It is awesome!!!! you don’t want to miss that opportunity!!! if you still have ahard time finding it, send me a message and I can send you a direct link.

  9. Brian Says:

    You should try adding in a little bit of Hydogen Peroxide. I used a green cleaner that had some hydrogen peroxide and orange oil and it did a great job. All the ingredients that youve got in there are already great proven cleaning agents. Maybe the hydrogen peroxide will make it even better. =)

  10. txmamashark Says:

    You can ditch your window cleaner for diluted white vinegar ( I dilute half and half with tap water. If you want to get really thrifty, use yesterday’s newspaper instead of paper towels (you can still recycle the newspapers when you have a hard time recycling paper towels).

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I may very well try this. FUnny thatthe homemade window cleaners I have heard about, have a variety of ingredients, and to think it can be this SIMPLE???? much better!!!!

  11. cammie donnell Says:

    The best window/mirror cleaner I have found is just plain water! The secret is using microfiber clothes. I use two small microfiber rags. Wet one rag with water and moisten the surface. Keep the second rag dry and wipe until dry and clean! How’s that for Simple?

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that IS simple!!! I am not sure I have ever used true micro fiber? I need to look a little into these, I assume they are easy enough to find?

  12. Juli Says:

    An easy window cleaner I use all the time is a bottle of water with 2-3 drops of shampoo mixed in. Don’t use too more than a couple drops of shampoo or it will get sudsy. It works great!

    Thanks for the Simply Fantastic cleaner recipe!

  13. simplyaltered Says:

    Thank you Juli!! I would have never thought of that!! agree, too much of this good thing would be VERY bad!!! (suds) haha

  14. Bobbette Palmer Says:

    Will the receipe for the spray get rid of water spots on glass. I have some wine bottles I am re-cycling into something else and I can’t get the water spots off of them.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that I can not answer for you. I have not tried it on that yet, but if it DOES work, be sure to let me and everyone ELSE know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

