my {deep} thoughts….

interesting huh?

interesting image huh?

I was trying to come up with something to post for tonight, assuring you all that I have not dropped off the face of the earth.  Just a few days.  :)    My husband and I went to an Art Festival and concert.  Yeah, imagine that.  I usually do not wander too far from home, but the timing was good, weather was wonderful so we went with it.  I was very proud of my husband as HE made the plans and was quite proud of the fact announcing that the entertainment was all FREE  !!!  Maybe I really AM rubbing off on him!!!  LOL.  Makes me wonder, how many people truly take advantage of all the FREE entertainment provided near them?   We are trying to do that more and more.  Even though it might be FREE to the spectators so-to-speak, generally someone has put up alot of time and money to provide it through sponsorship, so it only feels right to show appreciation by attending every now and then.  Think about that.

And this really was a nice ending to an otherwise sad week.  {sigh}  I know some was on the national level and some on the local level. It just seemed like everytime I turned around, something BAD was happening!!

1.  Ed Mc Mahon

2.  Farrah Fawcett

3.  Michael Jackson

4.  An Iowa football coach was senselessly gunned down by a former football player and killed in the midst of a weight room full of other students.

5.  A gal that was graduated from our local high school, wheel chair bound, was bludgeoned to death with a hammer by her boyfriend!!

6.  A childhood neighbor boy and former customer of mine, drown yesterday after a very brief swim in a lake to simply cool off with some friends.

What gives with all of this?  tragic, unfortunate, and some just brutally UNnecessary.  All basically within a weeks time!!!    I just felt very saddened and even my kids were wondering what on earth is going ON!!!  It is hard to make sense of these things as adults, let alone kids!!

and then……..

We went to church this morning.  I am guilty of feeling the need to “sleep in” more often than I care to admit, but today we made it.  I will not go into detail on the message, and it WAS a good one, but I am not one to repeat words in the same manner and get the point across nearly as good as it was originally done .  See???     BUT……what I do enjoy is at the end of the service, often our minister gives us a little “work” to do in the upcoming week.  I like this ALOT, and this week I am extending it to you.

“Write  a note “.

How SIMPLE is that???  a good old fashioned note (or letter) for you overachievers!!   now, mind you , each and every morning of ours, is started with a note.  My husband leaves very early, so for the last 20+ years, and not missing ONE day, he leaves me (and now “us”) a “note”.  The kids both look forward to Dads note each morning!!!  If I were to every wake up to NO note, nothing would feel right all day long.  His notes might simply be to tell us to all have a good day and he will see us when he gets home.  It might be much longer.  Telling us something he forgot from the night before, or compliment one of us for a nice weekend / evening / meal  the list goes on and on.  There is alot of notes to remember in 20 years.  :)  it is a VERY simple thing, but one we would be lost without.

I, of course, do the same.  I leave him a “note” each and every single night, and it is waiting on TOP of his coffee cup in the morning.  :)    I remind him what the temp is going to be, remind him what “plans” we have for the following day, and that we will be waiting for him when he gets home.  SIMPLE.

Hence the image,  in case you were wondering.  A hand written well thought out note,  presented to the recipient can be just as heart warming as a great big hug!!!  and we all know how good those feel!!!

I am not counting this tradition of ours as my homework for the week.  We do it regardless on a daily basis to each other.   We are all looking for someone else to acknowldege.  Not sure who mine is going to be, and I may easily do more than one, but I know somewhere in the weeks time, the right idea will fall into place.

PLEASE write one this week.  Husband / kids / co-worker / paperboy / whatever.  Commend a job well done, and do it in good old fashioned writing.  Make the effort.  You can spend an hour doing it, or you can do it within 5 minutes, but please do it.  It will mean more than you can ever imagine, bringing a smile to someones face as they read the words.  Trust me, this will happen.  It will put the bounce in their step and might be just the thing they need.  You just never know.

Seems like a small act of kindness considering all the sadness in the world.  All accomplished with a few short written words.

I would love feedback (as always) but even without any, I know the small effort will IS taking place.

8 Responses to “my {deep} thoughts….”

  1. Tom Says:

    I don’t normally comment on here, but really enjoyed this post. It got me thinking about my grandfather. He enjoys writing me notes, but no longer can physically write as he is just too shaky. Instead he spends hours on the typewritter pecking away with just his pointer fingers to tell me just how much we mean to him. I love to get notes from him, b/c it always reminds me of how simple of a man he is and how much he cares. In the world of FB, Twitter, Email, Blogs, etc… it’s nice knowing that someone out there doesn’t even know what those are and still manages to show how much they care by putting their thoughts down on paper. Thanks Kel

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Thanks Tom!!!! you have successfully completed Pastor Dons homework too!!! how NICE of you to share such a heart warming story with me, on MY blog!!! I think that was “my note” for the week as it came VERY unexpected!! 🙂
      Bless your Grandpas heart. I can just imagine how proud he is of you, AND of himself after he pecks away at a typewritten note!!! thanks for your contribution. 🙂

  2. Jean McCormick Says:

    Thanks so much for that. With all the easy e-mail now the hand written notes, letters, cards, etc. are forgotten. Such a simple thing yet we often fail to do the simpliest things. That will be the start to a great week. Maybe it won’t be so sad. I had thought the same thing last week. With my sister being so sick that only added to the sadness of last week. I hope this one is better for everyone. And may there not be nearly as many lay offs this week also. Thanks for all you do for all of us. Jean

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yes, we do often fail to do the small things huh??? ya know, sometimes it is even as totally simple at smiling or verbalizing a compliment to a complete stranger. You never know the last time someone might have given them a kind word.
      I think I will add that to my list of homework this week. 🙂
      and thanks as always for YOUR support on my blog.

  3. Lana Says:

    I loved reading this today….I need to take time to read these more often. It is so heart warming to hear you tell of a simple jesture that your family does everyday Kelli…most people can only dream of such harmony in their relationship with their children and their spouse. It is very sweet, and possibly more people would be happy if they took your lead. I am a firm believer that taking anyone for granted is never good karma. Sometimes in our busy worlds we forget that making people we barely know feel like we are appreciative of their daily words isn’t nearly as important as telling the ones we live with how we are glad they help around the house, and take care of simple things that we don’t even like to do…that they help pay the bills and put a roof over our heads. I am not sure what I have ever learned that was substantial from my mom…but I did get one thing from her…that a kind word and a little note or thank you is a great way to let people know we really did appreciate their kindness…whether it is everyday…every morning or once a year…we were taught to let them know. I am going on vacation today…I will def let all my employees know that I appreciate them….not because I have to or I should…but because I really do. Thanks…Have a great day Kelli. You are an inspiration hon.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      thanks Lana. You have made my day simply by doing what the post was all about. Leaving a note. You are done now. 🙂 LOL.
      I had to laugh when you mention your mom as one of the people she wrote to on a regular basis was MY parents. I remember my dad always making sure all of us got to read it and she ALWAYS told them over and over how much she loved “Aunt Ruby and Uncle Jerry”. Those notes are so vivid in my mind, I can even still envision the paper it was written on and her handwriting!!! isn’t that weird?
      and you are SO right, many times we can manage kind words to everyone out there, and yet not the ones closest to our hearts, assuming they just “know it”. It still feels good to hear. Thanks for your post and I aggree, you need to come here more often. 🙂 sign up as a subscriber and updates come straight to your inbox and then you HAVE to read them. haha

  4. Gina Says:

    I just left a comment in the laundry aisle…giggle, well then I had to come around here to see what else your site has.
    I just have to leave a comment here, because I was just thinking this morning that I need to sit down and write a letter to a dear friend who I haven’t heard from in a while. Yes we do email, but it’s just not the same.
    I suppose I am getting old, when I start reminiscing about the good old days, where you waited for the postman and maybe a letter from a loved one, the exotic stamps from far away places calling out to you. I always had wonderful penmanship as they used to call it, and I love calligraphy. I am from Europe originally and we write everything in cursive , which to my eyes looks so much more elegant.

    So yes I think I will write my friend a long overdue slow snail mail letter, and I make the weight heavier, and put some pretty stamps on it.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Laundry aisle?? too funny. Yep, I saw it there!! haha. I agree, as much as everyone loves e mail, texting etc etc, there is certainly NOTHING like a handwritten letter. I remember writing them as a child to my “friends” for so long my fingers would go numb!! I am like you, I love to reminisce about the good old days and I am really not THAT old. 🙂

Leave a Reply

