random thoughts….

certainly "random" looking huh??

certainly "random" looking huh??

ok.  This one might be a little “out there” for my typical posts.  BUT.  I have a reason (actually many)  my daughter insists on taking my digital camera to Texas, which of course I agreed to but I knew it was inevitable that as soon as I do NOT have it , I will need it desperately.  Guess what?  I do.

Everything I wanted to post tonight, I needed to take a pic first.  Gggggrgrrrrrrr…….

So instead, I will just give you some of my random thoughts for tonight.

*my daughter has come to the conclusion that Texas is WAY to far to drive or ride to in ONE day!!!   she loves being there and is having a great time, but would like a plane ticket when it is time to depart for Iowa.  :)   no can do on that.  I assured her that the ride home ALWAYS goes faster than the ride there.  hummmm….that IS true, isn’t it????  🙂

*I have a VERY lonely and BORED son.  He misses his sister.  Made us all realize how much time they actually spend together!!  They have become such good friends and that feels REALLY good to their mother!!!  I swore I would never hear myself say that.   They used to have to sit in separate rooms for breakfast as inevitably, ONE of them was not eating their cereal correctly to suit the other.  (gotta admit, it was MY son that was doing all the complaining!!!)  and now, they are each others shadow practically.

*in the wee hours of the night when I would normally be waiting for my daughter to come home from work,  I was sad, so my best therapy was nothing more than changing my furniture around.  I will have to make a longer post about that sometime, but it is nearly an addiction of mine.  If I had my way about it, I would rearrange my furniture every other week!!!     This time it was my family room, and even though the changes are simple, it REALLY does freshen up a room in a wonderful way.  I love it.  If you are not obsessed like I am, you really ought to atleast try it.  Sometimes, it is just a matter of moving one thing to a different location.  Of course, it is REALLY awesome if you can find one thing to ELIMINATE from the room.  :)   yep, I do like the minimalistic lifestyle.

*Glenn literally spent 8 solid hours SCRUBBING down our deck today.  I think that was HIS therapy from missing Zoe as well.  When he does something, he does it RIGHT.  It is sparkling!!! he even mentioned putting a coat of boat wax on it, to make it easier next time.  I thought that seemed a little excessive, so I suggested grilling a steak for supper and he agreed.  8 hours was enough.

*Tomorrow to entertain my son, I offered to take him and a few friends about 15 miles away to a skate park.  You would think I offered to take him to California where the PROS are.  He was WAY excited.  It also gave me a little “leverage” to make for a productive day today from him.  Hey, all moms are guilty at one time or another!!!!

*anticipating a busy week ahead.  I am doing TWO samplings at Hy-Vee in TWO different locations!!  yeah!!!  our local Hy-Vee wants to sample out “Simply Smooth” lotion, as well as Cherry Limeades.  I think it will be a big hit.  I am doing another radio spot the day prior.   Fun!!!   I think I will bring my son along with me, (if he will wake up at 6 am!!!)  he will think  it is neat to see how the radio program broadcast is done.      Then two days later I am in Ankeny  (about 70 miles away) to sample laundry soap there.  I can’t wait!!!!

Am I being “random” enough???

Of course, let ME hear your random thoughts!!!!   and maybe you might even have the desire to switch some furniture of you OWN around.  Heck, I have been known to switch entire ROOMS with each other!!!    it is SO much fun.  Try it.

And most ahead, enjoy the week ahead, and remember, take time to notice your surroundings just a little more.  You never know the things you might normally take for granted simply because you just ALWAYS know they are there.

26 Responses to “random thoughts….”

  1. Clara Dvorak Says:

    Hi Kelly, Well I don’t have to rearrange my furniture I just need to find out where I want to put it. I really like my new livingroom and dinningroom. However I have found out I should have gotten rid of 1/3 of the things I brought on this move. After I have everything in place that I want everything else will be moving out.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      this does not surprise me Clara!!! but it is NOT too late to toss. Just do it from your end now!!!🙂 hope all is feeling like “home” to you. I can’t wait to hear all about it!!!

  2. Lana Schippers Says:

    We are so much alike Kelli…cleaning and rearranging things…is…relaxing for me. It honestly makes me feel like everything is new too…and since I am a Cancer….my home is my castle, and it isn’t a chore or a job I hate to do….since I have been little, in a house with no running water and a coal stove…I remember bossing and corralling all my brothers together to get cleaning done. My mom would just laugh….we had literally 12 loads of laundry a week…I always wanted to do the wash because that meant I got to lay on the big freezer in the wash house and draw…brother free all day! Now mind you…if I could have a wringer wash machine today..I def would…considering my beautiful front loader is always collecting smelly stuff from all the rugs and blankets I do every week…but when people are bored…and can’t find a thing to do…they should just ENJOY a little cleaning and de-cluttering! They will be amazed at the feeling they have when it is all done…..

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I know, you would think we are related huh??? 😉 I can just hear you commanding what your brothers need to do to get things in an orderly manner!! haha. and my later post I need to do all has to do with rearranging, decluttering and moving furniture….all back from my CHILDHOOD!!! any SUnday afternoon, for entertainment, I found myself sorting through my drawers, moving my bedroom around etc etc. Would kids now a days consider doing this for entertainment??? heck no. I have done this as far back as I remember.

  3. Amy T Says:

    I do this too, love it. It makes the room look “new”. Just moving pictures from room to room makes a big difference. My family isn’t too crazy about it (especially the moving furniture part) but they adjust.🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      another thing I do on occasion is just change the pictures IN the picture frames!!! makes such a simple change!!!
      My family just rolls their eyes and smile…..not knowing for sure where their bed will be located next time they go to bed. LOL !!!!

  4. Shelly Says:

    Thanks for the “random” post – when will you be in Ankeny this week – day and time! I work from home and will try and stop over and say hi!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      ya know, it was fun to do something random for once. Usually I have it all planned out, but not this time. One thing I am NOT is spontaneous!!! so this was a little out of my comfort zone!!
      I will be in Ankeny on Sunday the 12th from 10:00 to 6:00. (minus lunch time) I have never been to this store, but from what they tell me, it IS a happening place. 🙂 be sure to stop by, I would love to put a face with all the names. 🙂

  5. ambjour Says:

    tj and i just took kam to that skate park last week and he thought it was AWESOME!! a 4 yr. old skating with the “older” boys. and they even helped him a little bit! what time are they/you going?

  6. Verona Says:

    I have changed 3 rooms around two different times in the last 4 years and it was a big job, but so much fun too. Mom let me change her furniture in the living room or my bedroom any time I cleaned it on Saturday, and our floors were hardwood, so I could push the furniture all by myself. I’m itching to change my bedroom around again–maybe you have given me the little push I needed. With carpeting, I have to have my husband help too.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I have a good solution for moving furniture on carpeted floors!!! I will have to make a post on that. But there you go, more reason to do it NOW. Our bedroom is another room I find myself switching around alot. Bless my husbands heart, he just smiles and rolls his eyes. 🙂

  7. bejes Says:

    Did you know that they make Cherry Limeades blended with vanilla ice cream now? Random

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Random post / random comment. Thanks!!! yes, I did see the commercial for that. Not sure it is something I would like?? but you never know. Will have to try my homemade version of that too. 🙂

  8. Diana W Says:

    OMG, I live just south of Ankeny and can hardlay wait to come and meet you (do you feel like a celebrity yet HAH). I made a new batch of Simply Wonderful on Saturday. I bought a new food processor, but as of today, have only used it to make soap! Tells you where my priorities are. I’m sure I’ll use it more in the winter when I cook more, but for now, it’s salads and burgers on the grill. No need to heat up the house, right?
    Now I’m waiting for you to make a dish soap that is “Simply Wonderful”, yet frugal and simple.

    See you soon!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Ankeny store on Sunday July 12th 10:00 to 6:00. (minus lunch) please stop by and introduce yourself!!! I can not wait to meet everyone!! Isn’t it great doing the outdoor meals in the summertime. All I need to do is a side and my husband takes care of the rest. VERY little mess.🙂

  9. Crissie Says:

    Many thanks for all your “frugal finds”- forgot how you said t clean your coffee pot-know about the ice but do i add 2tablespoons of salt also?

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I can’t think of the name of the post right now, but if you just scroll down through the archived posts, it will be there.

  10. carole martin browne Says:

    Kelli where and when will you be in Ankeny?That is where I live at.Would love to stop by and say Hi..

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I will be there this Sunday the 12th from 10:00 to 6:00 (minus lunch) please stop by, it will be fun to see you again. So many are stopping by that will have to introduce themselves, so it will be nice to see an old familiar face!!! 🙂

  11. Paula Says:

    Where will you be in Ankeny? I would LOVE to meet you and sample your laundry soap. I’ve gotten a food processor and plan on getting the ingredients this week so a sample would push this into motion for me. Let me know where and when and I’M THERE!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you will definitely want to get it made as soon as you see my sampling!!! glad to give you that extra “push” 🙂 Come by this Sunday the 12th 10:00 to 6:00. I assume I will be front and center??? oh no!!! 🙂

  12. Lana Says:

    Kelli…I love moving around furniture…..the funny thing is when Eddie was little, like on rainy days and stuff…he would move his room around and redecorate all the time too…he is still the same way!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      like I have said many times before, ….you raised that kid well!!!! I love it, that he still does it!!!! 🙂

  13. Ejeanne overton Says:

    I LOST THE RECIPE FOR THE BABY WIPES AND I NEVER HEARD THE ONE ABOUT THE LOTION. MY COMPUTER IS FIXED AND I AM BACK!!!!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      when you are looking for a particular post, just go to the “site search” block on the right side, enter the keyword you are looking for, and it ought to come up. If this does not work, let me know.
      Glad to have you back in action!!!!

Leave a Reply

