it’s my turn now…

my turn....

my turn....

ok.  I have read lots of your favorite words, so it is time to add MINE just for good measure.  :)  (and I may even have more later)

It is a GIVEN that I love the word “Simplicity”.   It needs no additional explanation in my world.

A few other favorites:

Harmony: I like “Harmony” in my world also.  I strive to keep it in the house.  My kids roll their eyes, when I use it.   i.e.  “Just overlook (         ) to keep harmony” but secretly, I think they like the word too.  haha

Balance: I love “Balance” in my work, home life and family life.  If a certain area of my world is out of balance, you will more than likely know about  it.   I try to keep things “balanced” in our home.  Some days are easier than others.   There was once a skit at our church about spinning plates, trying to keep them all going at the same time, without any of them crashing to the ground.  I will never forget it.  I find the less “plates” I have spinning at once, the more balance our lives seem.   Therefore I know very well how to say the next favorite word.

No: I say it very well and I know WHEN to say it.  This is not the word NO in a diciplinary way, but in a way when I know I have had enough, or simply do not feel the need to be OBLIGATED to something.   Some people have a very hard time knowing when to use the word NO.  I do it very well.  If you feel out of “balance”,  and not finding complete “Harmony” in your life , maybe the word NO is what you need to say to a few requests?    Remember, life is not about seeing how thin you can spread yourself.

Just a thought.    :)

****  I am very pleased with the responses so far to the “Favorite word” post.  But ……there are alot of lurkers out there, that I just KNOW have words to share with me.  Please do so. I appreciate it as well as the kind folks at Henkel will too.    If you have submitted a word, and want to add another, feel free to.  I will add your name in that many times  (just don’t go overboard, like adding 100 extra words!!!!)  haha.  Just trying to cover my bases here.  :)    I feel any input each of you have is worthy of another shot of the winnings.  I have seen some familiar names, and some new ones too in the comment section.  I will generate the drawing from any related post for the YEARS SUPPLY giveaway!!!!   add your comments NOW.

33 Responses to “it’s my turn now…”

  1. Donna Wyatt Says:

    The word I like is COMPLETE, it fills all the needs that I have when I use this. I was not sure it would work, but it does a great job. It completes all the things I want it to do. After the initial investment, I now only need to do is purchase the fels naphta. Thanks for sharing!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      maybe you need to sit tight, and the Fels Naptha will arrive at your doorstep FREE??? 🙂 How awesome would THAT be???

  2. Sheri Sprouse Says:

    My favorite word right now is “Grandma”. I can’t believe the joy it brings seeing my son be a parent. I just can’t wait until I actually hear the words from my new grandson himself

    • simplyaltered Says:

      they say being a grandparent is even BETTER than parenting……I will have a few more years til I find out if it is true!! LOL. ENjoy it. I bet he will be saying that word MANY times before long!!!

  3. Prudence Says:

    My word is HEALTHY as in not sick…..very big meaningful this week. Last week we went to Daytona Beach on a Youth conference and came back Friday. Saturday I came down sick and have been sick ever since! AHHHHH So Heathy is a word I would love to be today!!!!!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I wish healthy for you too. I like this twist on it too, as it does not necessarily have to mean your ALL time favorite word, but sometimes we can simply have a favorite word of the day!!! Take care and health will come. 🙂

  4. Debbie Sevier Says:

    I love THANKFUL and use it many, many times each day!

  5. Joy Prothero Says:

    My favorite word is positive. No matter what life sends your way try to have a positive outlook and it is amazing how different the world will look!

  6. angie swackhamer Says:

    my word is forgive. How many times do we get wronged and allow the anger to stew inside us. If we forgive we can move past all of the ugly stuff and move on in a healhy way. so remember to forgive always-whether you were right or wrong.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      VERY good!!! I have a few areas in my life that I can also work on this. Thank you for the reminder. 🙂

  7. kim aka machita Says:

    my favorite word is “thankful” as i am thankful for so very many things in my life🙂

  8. olold plow woman Says:

    I like you have many favorite words, yes even my adult children roll their eyes I am sure. Today my favorite is UNCONDITIONAL. I love unconditionally my children when they make the wrong choice. I love them unconditionally when they are angry with me and say hurtful things, I love them Unconditionally forever and ever till the end of my time and than beyond. For a mother gives no greater gift than the gift of life and love the hurt children.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      it really is amazing the complete 100% unconditional love for a child. Many times you would have to second guess that kind of love for anyone else, but your children deserve every bit of it , despite what bumps in the road you run into with them. How sad to think some children do not have this type of love. Mine certainly do. 🙂

  9. Bethany Says:

    My favorite word is ENOUGH. When you are living frugally and you are grateful for what you have you have enough.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      ABSOLUTELY!!!! Is it not sickening when people can not see this??? and always want MORE??? oh, it is very sad. I have enough, I have MORE than enough to make me happy. It is so beyond the material possessions!!!!

  10. Tracy Says:

    My favorite word is blessed. I feel blessed to have four wonderful children, a husband that will do anything for his family, our extended family and friends. This word has meant more to me in the last four days since I had my knee surgery. My husband and children have stepped up to the plate to help out however they can and my mother came to help as well.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you are blessed indeed!!! We have had medical issues in my family , and reminds me how people can manage withOUT family around at times like that.

  11. Crissie Says:

    My favorite word of all time is LUV-when my girls were small we all used to write notes to each other sometime just a simple “hello” left posted on the refrigerator and always signed LUV-although i lost my oldest last year the Grandchildren have adopted this habit-whether visiting,sending e-mail or sending cards and letters.That one little word can cover so much.

  12. simplyaltered Says:

    how sweet to take a different look of the word Love. So special. You ought to look through the archived posts as there is one solely focused on the significance of a “note” We take alot of value of small notes left for one another in our home. 🙂

  13. Connie Says:

    The new word I have been using a lot lately is “SISTAH”. I have 2 sisters but they are my “Sistahs” as well. It a female bonding of women or a “sisterhood” that goes above and beyond the family thing. We sisters have several “sistahs” and we are always there for each other.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I love it Connie. I guess I have “Sistahs” too!!! what a wonderful thing true Sisterhood really is, family or otherwise. 🙂

  14. Diana W Says:

    My favorite word is “quilt”. Not only does it describe my passion in life, but it describes so much more. Our lives are woven together like the threads in fabric that makes that quilt. We can take tiny scraps of the most ugly fabric and turn it into something beautiful. Likewise, the small ugly things in life can be turned into something wonderful. Make lemonade out of the lemons life hands you, right? Who could imagine that a tiny little bar of Grandma’s laundry soap could turn into something so “simply wonderful” and that we would make new friends from it?

    Life IS wonderful, isn’t it?

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Hey Diana!!! I am so happy to put a face with this post!!! 🙂 I love your perception of relating quilts to people It is PERFECT!!!! and not to mention the love and care YOU put into all of yours!!! That laundry soap story is REALLY good!!! who would have thought???

  15. Shantel Says:

    My favorite word is GRACE. There is something amazing about getting something you do not deserve. My husband and family constantly give me grace when I fall short, where would I be without that? However, the reason I love the word so dearly is because of the grace I have received from God through Jesus Christ. How thankful I am for His grace!

  16. Tammy Says:

    My favorite word for today is “Quiet”. We are very fortunate to have a family move in next door. My dogs are just thrilled!!! They surely have voiced their welcome to them. But enough is enough…..”Quiet….. we don’t want to scare them away.”

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Funny!!! yeah, chasing the new neighbors away right off is probably not a good thing!! haha.

  17. bejes Says:

    I like the word Giving. I like everything about it. I love giving gifts to people. I love giving to worthy causes/charities. I hope I am known as a giving person.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you are known as a giving person. What a great thing to be remmebered by. Be sure to get my awesome Christmas gift in Dubai and I will forever be grateful and give you even MORE credit for being so giving!!!
      Right.

Leave a Reply

