another problem solved….

DSC05192DSC05193 I have looked high and low and have had a VERY hard time finding this item.

A reuseable grocery bag that rolls up so tiny, it will fit in your purse.   Don’t get me wrong, I love the ones found at the grocery store, and they are certainly at a lower price, BUT…..it NEVER fails, I leave home without them, or they are in the vehicle that I am NOT in at the time!!!  grrrrrr.

One visit to our local (and awesome) book store, The Book Vault, and I have one to call my very own.  Yeah!!!  Look at my Salt & Pepper shakers.  That is not only how TINY it rolls up, but also how BIG it opens up.   And unlike a sleeping bag (which is one of the frustrations in life)  rolling this bag up is a cinch!!!!   done in less than 3 seconds.  Perfectly.

There is a variety of colors to choose from, each for $8.

As much as I know you would love them, and as I have discovered they are very hard to find, I am willing to not only pick one up for you, but should you want one, I will get it, and stick it in the mail to you!!!!   no shipping!!!!

And a little endorsement for the store.  If you are anywhere in the area, you NEED to give them a visit.  The place is AWESOME!!!!!  a book store  some communities could only DREAM of having!!!   visit their website as well and take a moment to take a photo tour. http://www.bookvault.org you will not be disappointed.   If you want a direct link, scroll down the right side of the page, to “BLOG ROLL”  and you can click on it there.  SIMPLE!!!!

Enjoy the weekend ahead and give ALOT of thought to your favorite word, of the weekend, the day or simply of the moment!!!  the contest continues.  :)

18 Responses to “another problem solved….”

  1. BLT Says:

    How awesome! I didnt know Oskaloosa had a local bookstore! Now I know and will be sure to stop on my way through every spring and fall on my way to hunt Keosauqua! Its great to support a local bookstore!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh yes, make SURE to stop!!! it is an old bank restored and it is GORGEOUS!!!!! right on the west side of the square.

  2. Lana Schippers Says:

    I want to come back to Osky so I can visit this store again…I was with Mary Ann…and frankly I need to be alone to visit a bookstore! Before I got the dogs I used to spend an entire personal day at Barnes and Noble! That little store is like a “hidden treasure” in town! Those bags are super chic too!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I agree. Bookstore shopping is better done solo. 🙂 When we go to DM overnight, I often wait til as late at night as I can, then I go to B & N and just loose myself in there. Heavenly!!!!
      and of course, Book Vault captures the quaintness of small town book stores that is really awesome!!!

  3. Debbie Sevier Says:

    I’m anxious to visit Oskaloosa’s little book store. The bag is so cute! I’ve been carrying one in my purse from Target. It folds to about checkbook size and is red (.99 cents). I whipped it out one day at WalMart and the young man who was the checker said, “Awesome”.

  4. simplyaltered Says:

    another wonderful thing about The Book Vault is they have all kinds of classes as well. Cooking, Yoga, author visits, etc etc etc….yes, they do offer it all and then some!!! be sure to stop sometime.
    and of course, they also carry my art exclusively. 🙂 yeah!!!

  5. Old Plow Woman Says:

    my word for last night was Respect and yes I have a story about learning what respect or how you obtain it. I was a snot nosed teenager and was in a heated discussion with my older sister and I stomped my foot and in the most hateful tone I said I DEMAND respect and at that moment she said respect is not a free gift it is something you must earn how much have you earned. Talk about a lesson well learned and one I never forgot.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that IS a lesson well learned. Funny how things as teenagers really do hit home!!!!!!! and then last through the years. Thanks for sharing that. A great lesson and gave me a giggle at the same time!!

  6. Diana W Says:

    You know, there si something to be said about living in a small town. All wehave in Des Moines are the malls and Barnes and Noble. Don’t get me wrong – I like B&N, but it’s soooo big. I love little nooky stores and shops. I suppose that’s why I like quilting. Al the quilt shops are a little quirky and most are in old houses, barns or other repurposed buildings.

    Oh, well. Maybe in my next life I will comeback in a small town (where I think I belong!)

  7. simplyaltered Says:

    You come to MY small town anytime you like, give me a call first and we can meet at The Book Vault, then go next door to the most AWESOME coffee shop and spend hours visiting. 🙂
    Maybe then head further east, and on to Kolona / Amana area for quilters paradise!!!!

  8. Molly T Says:

    They also sell the chico style bags at walmart. they are blue and $2. they are just as handy but the ones at the book vault come in so many fun colors and are a little bit bigger.
    check out Chico bags online. they are great.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I will do that!!! I wonder if all of them are the same size? a variety is good, a few fun prints and a few regular ones….but Book Vault is SO much more fun to shop at than Wal Mart!! 🙂

  9. LaVonne Says:

    That is a great idea!!! I have had collapsable bags before, but not that tiny! And I too, always forget the bags at home😦 Makes me so mad at myself!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yep, I do it all the time, more than I would like to admit!!! hopefully no more though. 🙂

  10. Margy Says:

    Please email me, I’d love to get a bag if you don’t mind!

  11. bejes Says:

    I like the word hand-me-down. Like, I really like it when I get your scrapbooking hand-me-downs. Maybe instead of putting in a request for you to ship me a bag, I would like for you to ship me a bunch of scrapbook hand-me-downs. That would be very giving of you. Oh wait, that would cost a small fortune which sort of defeats the purpose of being hand-me-downs. Awesome.

  12. simplyaltered Says:

    uhh yeah. Free scrapbooking hand-me-downs and only $150 to ship them. hmmmmm……I think NOT.
    and speaking of hand-me-downs, I grew up with them, I never got new things with 4 sisters older than I was. Now, my kids with all their older cousins. Following tradition….and a GREAT tradition at that!!! amazing how many years somethings in our family have been around!!!!

Leave a Reply

