on my agenda tomorrow…

it is fast approaching....

I love this vintage- looking image. Especially the cello, which my son plays!! 🙂

Summer feels like it slipping out of my hands as I make this post.  {sigh}

I am not ready for it to end.  This has possibly ranked as one of the BETTER summers we have ever had.  What have we done???  really not much, or actually maybe we have done ALOT ?   alot of relaxing, enjoying each others company, and we have SIMPLY enjoyed all the unstructured days and unscheduled activities.  Maybe that is what I have been after all along, only looking in the wrong places?  who knows.  Either way, I am not certain I am ready for what lies ahead.

My son will be in his last year of Middle School this year, and my daughter will be going to a different school all together.  Many changes lie ahead for us.

So, tomorrow, I am diving straight in and beginning the Back to School routine.  Supplies, clothes, shoes, etc etc etc…….  I am taking turns with each child separately this year.  Cushions the shock factor a little  ($$$$)  as well as provides for some one on one time with them.  Amazing the conversation that can take place in the car together for a solid hour as we drive to Des Moines.  I love it.

and a stop at Olive Garden is our reward at the end of the day.  Yum.!!!!!!

Remember something else that is fast approaching???  the deadline for a YEARS supply of laundry soap ingredients!!!!   don’t hesitate if another (or more) special words come to your mind.  Who knows, I might even have a few to add after our shopping trip.  :)  hopefully they are good / positive ones.

16 Responses to “on my agenda tomorrow…”

  1. bejes Says:

    I just came to the realization that this is the first year in 22 years that I am not going “Back To School”! WOW! That’s kinda crazy. Can’t say as I am really going to miss it…maybe I will do some BTS shopping just for the fun of it. Good idea.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      man, good realization!!!! I wish you could have been here, you could have gladly joined our fun!!!

  2. Jean McCormick Says:

    Our last year of college for my son. Boy, how the last four have flown. Many, many decisions lie ahead at the end of this year. Can’t believe that little bundle of joy, 7lbs. 13 oz. has grown into a young man ready to take on the world and not one that’s to friendly these days. We use to pray for good grades and good friends, now we pray there will be jobs waiting at the end of the year. So many changes, but God is good and he’s still on His Throne. We just have to put our trust and hopes in him. After all he never fails.
    When is the deadline for the contest I can’t remember. I know we are all anxiously awaiting the results.
    Have fun shopping. Jean

  3. Noelle Bolibaugh Says:

    Good luck with your BTS shopping Kelli! I am still suffering from sticker shock from taking my kids shopping. We even went on the tax free weekend! 3rd grade and kinder-prep for me this year. I took my kids seperatly too and have made the decision to do that in the future as well. We really enjoyed the one on one time!🙂

    Happy shopping!🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      sticker shock is right!!! oh man!!! I learned one thing though, go to Marshalls BEFORE going to Jordan Creek. We saw the same backpack for 1/2 price amongst many other things we should have waited on!!!! but at that point, I was ready to get OUT of Des Moines, or I should have taken things back and bought differently!!! oh well, lesson learned for when it is Madisons turn or even for next year.

  4. Connie Says:

    I’m with you, Kelli. I always loved summer vacation and the break from school and school activities. I thought the kids needed time to do absolutely NOTHING if they chose to do so. More and More schools want to go year round and I will ALWAYS vote against anyone who tries to make it manditory. Enjoy the few more days of freedom!

  5. olold plow woman Says:

    Well my children are grown and I have grandchildren now and I love school shopping and supply shopping so every year since my kids have grown I supply shop and than donate them. This year is my grandson first year in school so I have took him and his mom shopping for school clothes, last week we also did shoe shopping, and last night he finially got the backpack – grammie is exhausted. When school starts it is always sad to see summer behind us but try to look at it like the first day of spring. Everything is new and exciting, new kids, teachers, classes and for some schools. For at home moms it is a new and exciting time their roles change from reffy the arguements to cleaning and preparing for winter. I feel that I want to go home from work and throw open the curtains and clean. So my word for the lunch hour is ENERGIZE I just gave myself a boost of energy just thinking of the possibilites. Have a great time shopping and I will add more later

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you ARE a very good Grandma!!! making memories and helping out at the same time!!! I will miss the kids so much, but at the same time, I am ready to get back into a schedule again…..and reclaim my house again. 🙂

  6. Tippy Says:

    If I start thinking of the boys going back to school, it makes all 3 of us cry. So we just avoid the subject all together. 🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      but….it is fast approaching!!!! like it or not. Maison does admit, he is kind of ready to get back to school again……..

  7. JEANNE OVERTON Says:

    I THOUGHT OF A “FAVORITE WORD” AND I HOPE THAT I AM NOT TOO LATE.
    THE WORD IS ” GRANDMA” IT RATES RIGHT UP THERE WITH “MOMMY”
    THE OTHER EVENING WE WERE AT A FAMILY VISITATION. MY GRAND DAUGTHER CAME IN HOLDING ON TO HER DADDY”S HAND VERY TIGHTLY, SHE HAD BEEN ASLEEP IN THE CAR . SHE HAD HER HAIR IN HER FACE (SO NOONE COULD SEE HER). AND BEFORE I COULD GET CLOSE ENOUGH TO GREET HER QUIETLY. SHE SPOTTED ME, LITE UP LIKE A CHRISTMAS TREE AND YELLED “GRANDMA” AT THE TOP OF HER LUNG AND RAN INTO MY ARMS. IT FILLS ME WITH SUCH JOY EVERY TIME ANY OF THE GRAND KIDS DOES THIS. I HAVE BEEN “BAMA” “GRANDMA IN THE GREEN HOUSE” AND “DAMA”.

    THEN I THINK OF THE FAMILY IN NEWYORK WHERE FOUR OF THEIR GRANDCHILDREN WERE KILLED IN THAT DRUNK DRIVING ACCIDENT. HOW DO YOU BURY 4 GRAND CHILDREN IN THE SAME DAY. HOW CAN YOU DO IT AT ALL.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Ya know, Kathy tells us how wonderful it is to be a Grandma!!! one day I will find out, although I certainly hope it is not for awhile. 🙂 you are blessed with a wonderful family, and even your kids have a wonderful Grandma. Bless her heart!!!

  8. Dudles Says:

    Hi Kelli, thanks for the recipe, i have purchased the ingredients for this, just need to make it now, I can’t wait!

    I was wondering if you had an alternative for Clorox Wipes? I am SO addicted to these and they get quite expensive. Was wondering maybe if your cleaner would work and soak paper towels in this maybe?

    Thank you!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      ya know, I have the idea right here beside me, but have not had the motivation to get it posted. THANK YOU for reminding me!!! I have had others ask, and being a little preoccupied, I have just not gotten it done. Look for it tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

