one more week…

some Monday morning humor...

some Monday morning humor.. (click to enlarge and read all the details) 🙂

All good things must come to an end.  This summer is one of them.   I have thoroughly enjoyed the time at home with the kids, I really have, but I also know it is HIGH TIME to get this family back to a routine.  Even my son told me yesterday as we were labeling all his school supplies  “Yeah, mom, it IS time”.

My own mother taught me that God has a reason for all his timing.  It is great to see summer break begin and it is nice to see it end as well.  There is a reason why God lets you have children while you are young, and there is a reason you can not have them too late in life.  Just a few examples of her many words of wisdom.

And the best thing my mother taught me?  at the end of the day, when all is said and done, everything WILL turn out “fine”.   I have to remind myself of this very often.  To have faith that all will be fine in the end.  Our big changes ahead regarding school is a perfect example.  My son will go on his way in a normal routine, as he is definitely a creature of habit in every sense of the word.

My daughter has a bigger challenge ahead of her as she will be going to a new school in an unconventional way, which really does suit her personality.   She being the more adventuresome child and  flies by the seat of her pants.  I am confident, just like my mother taught me, it will all turn out “fine”.

So, the image pretty much wraps up the humor my SON gives me each day.  I have to laugh as I looked at it. 90% of this image is HIM to a “T” . He is such a pack-rat, particular and full of quirks just like his mother!!!  You never quite know what will end up in his backpack!!!   and he will be equipped from head to toe on the first day of school!!   He will be ready and waiting 15 minutes before the bus arrives on the first day .

….and I will be ready as well.

9 Responses to “one more week…”

  1. kim aka machita Says:

    the picture didnt say how many shirts he has on underneath the other shirt!!! man remember how maiser boy would peel clothes off throughtout the day???????????????

    • simplyaltered Says:

      uhh yeah, he still does that…..this explaining my MOUNTING piles of laundry each week and explaining my need for a more economical laundry soap solution!!! (and my new washer / dryer I need to buy!!!) {sigh}

  2. Old Plow Woman Says:

    You are correct all will work out fine and probably tuffer sometimes on us parents than on the kids. My mom use to tell me that if we didn’t have fall or winter we wouldn’t appreciate spring. I have a word for this evening and it is SEASONS. We all have seasons in our lives as children, teenagers, adults, parents and than as grandparents. For every season has its on share of troubles and delights. My season as a grandparent today was bright as I looked at the grandbaby in 4 D, as I sat in that room with my daughter, her husband and two other children all of us in awe of the new baby coming into the world in October. The season for my youngest granddaughter will be changing in October as her role in the family moves to the middle child. As much as I miss my children being young and feeling healthy and energetic I love the season of my life and I am thankful for all that the Lord has given to me.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      thatis a very good way to look at it, in the segments of seasons. You always have such good insight on those kind of topics. I am definitely entering a new “season” in parenting this fall.

  3. olold plow woman Says:

    Here it is lunch time and time for a word DESIRE I think this is an interesting word. My hearts deisre right now would be to go home and make the bed so it was all nice and fresh when it was bedtime and to take out some hamburger for some meatloaf to have ready when my hubin came home. Some people look at this as a bad word I think it keeps me on track to have good desires. Websters states Desire is a longing or craving – to want or express a wish for. So as the end of the summer approaches ask your kids what is their desire for the end of the summer? Let me share what we always did with our kids at the end of summer every year. We had a summer vacation send off. Living in Southern IA we would go to MO and buy fireworks and take them to the first road side park in MO and set all of them off – our very own fireworks display and than we would laugh and talk about what we did over the summer our favorites and we felt the lesson two fold – Never bring Fireworks home and we looked ahead and talked about what the school year and the next chapter of the year (season) would hold and what we desired it to be like.

  4. Ruthi Says:

    This was awesome!!!! R

  5. Old Plow Woman Says:

    Here we go a word for tonight is Caring. I have severe arthritis and a torn achilles tendon I was really hurting after working all day and I did the grocery shopping on my way home and when I got home my husband helped me get to the little garden area we put in this year ( I held the plants and he got on the ground and planted) to help me get to pick a few tomatoes and then got me in the house brought me my meds and cooked dinner for me. I am not elderly I am 44 and I have had health problems since I turned 40 not something we seen coming and my husband is so caring and takes over in a moments notice. I am thankful that I have someone that cares this much about me. If all the world was so Caring we would’t have the problems we have in the world today.

  6. bejes Says:

    Oh man, that IS Maison. Can’t wait to see the picture you put up for Rozita🙂 Any way, my new word is anticipation. I really like anticipation for good stuff like Christmas, (can I tell you how anxious I am for Christmas? I mean, my level of anticipation and excitement is kind of rediculous) or Thanksgiving or my first Mc Donald’s iced coffee when I get home the next time, or wining this laundry soap give-away. I love having something wonderful to look forward to.

  7. simplyaltered Says:

    yeah, it might be a little harder to find one of my daughter….although I did just think of an idea as I am typing!!! I am anticipating a stress free Christmas since you have offered to do all my shopping and I am even thinking of having you do my trees. Awesome huh????

Leave a Reply

