August 19th…

it is here......

it is here......

The day is upon us, and I will take entries THROUGH the entire day of August 19th and draw after midnight, which is NOT a problem for me.  My night is just getting started at midnight!!  🙂

The 19th is actually a very big day for us.

I have the Laundry Soap drawing…..

We get the start date for my daughters school….anxiously awaiting that call.

And…. the local newspaper is coming to my house for an interview!!  An article is being done on Recession-proof living and someone gave them MY name!!!  imagine that.  haha.

Yes, it is a day full of events.  Watch for my update early morning on the 2oth.  (hopefully)

Get your favorite words submitted, time IS running out!!!!!!!

36 Responses to “August 19th…”

  1. Helen Says:

    My favorite word is Redemption (God is in the redeeming business). Simply Altered seems to be in the redeeming business also. We can redeem things, situations, etc.

    All of us need a second chance my friend.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I completely agree with you on this one!!!! thanks for the inspiration you have given ME this morning!!! 🙂

  2. Old Plow Woman Says:

    My word for this morning is HEALTH and I feel pretty healthy this morning – yesterday not so much so I am thankful that yesterday is gone and today is a gift that is why they call it the present. I was up at 4 a.m. and made coffee and took my little hubin a cup at 4:30 a.m. in bed with the words good morning it is time for your coffee. I try to always wake him up like that. I wish everyone a day of Health. Healthy relationships, bodies, minds, thoughts, and actions. Good luck with your interview I am sure you will do well and I can’t wait to read what they write about you.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      oh my husband would love to be waken up in this manner, but I am certainly NOT a morning person!!! I just bring him ice cream at night instead!! 🙂 more my kind of hours. haha.
      Glad you are feeling better!!!

  3. bejes Says:

    And my last word: HOME. Its really more of a feeling than anything else. Its not the house or the things in it or even where it is, its just that feeling of being home. You can have lots of houses (or apartments) but there is only one place that really makes you feel like HOME. I miss my HOME!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      ahhhh a word near and dear to my OWN heart!!! a place I prefer not to leave, HOME (or in Rozenboom fashion???) HOMEY TOWN !!!!! 🙂

  4. LaVonne Says:

    You hadn’t told me about the Herald interview—wahoo! Big Time! You will do great, I am not one bit worried about you!!!

  5. Donna Says:

    My word would be FAITH. It has what has gotten me through so many things in life. I have faith that we will all get through the tough times. No matter how tough they are. Thanks to Kelli for coming up with the laundry soap recipe. I have just been through my first batch. I just got more fels naptha last night to make more today. I have shared the recipe idea with friends that are facing tough times. They are thrilled to be saving money and going green. Thanks Again and Keep the Faith.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      so glad you are loving the soap!!! help me to spread the word, there are alot out there that still are using those “commercial” brands. 🙂

  6. Heidi Says:

    My favorite word would be MOM. This word has so much meaning to me now more then ever. First, it is one of the first words you learn to speak. Also, one of first words you learn to spell. As a MOM, it is one of the first words you hear your child speak and you melt when you hear it for the first time.
    Second, MOM is comfort, love, teacher, warmth, loving, guidance, hugs, laughter, crying, many hat wearing, discipline, advice, provider, secrete keeper, helping hand, “bus” driver and the list can go on forever.
    I never knew how important this word would mean to me until I became a MOM and until I lost mine last Sept. You take her for granted because she is always there. I know I will have her for ever with me and I hope to pass that onto my son. MOM, what a GREAT word.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I can perfectly relate to this!!!! I am mom and have lost a mom. Makes me sad each day. WHen my mom died , my children were very young!! (1 and 3) I thought I appreciated her so much then, but in hindsight, I would love to have her around now and would have a whole different appreciation now that I am a mother of older children

  7. Jean McCormick Says:

    Can’t remember if I submitted this one or not but I love the word obedient. Even in the rough and tuff times of life God calls us to be obedient. Oh, how I’ve learned that well these past few weeks. Having to put our mom at 94 into a nursing home and wonderfing if this is the right choice this word has been my rock. Obedient to the things of God, obedient to know right from wrong and obedient to do what is best for mom, not for us. Obedient to that still small voice within. Thanks for this fun contest, I hope you will have more.
    Can’t wait to hear about your interview. Thanks again, Jean

    • simplyaltered Says:

      this is interesting to see where each one of us are at in life. Read my previous reply. I am so happy for you to have your mother still and now your role is changing as a daughter and determining where she needs to be. I hope this all works out for you as that is a VERY tough decision to make.

  8. carole martin browne Says:

    My favorite word is Sister.My sister is my best friend,mother figure,my rock when things are tough,the silly sassy sister when you need to smile and have a good laugh,and of course a shoulder to cry on.My sister has been there for me at time I have needed her my entire life,even though we are in differnt states I know she is only a phone call away.So my word is Sister…We all need that wonderful,loving,caring,Sister.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      awww……and you know MY opinion on sisters??? I have 4 , (lost one to cancer) but I can not imagine there are people in this world that have to go through life withOUT a sister!!!! can you??? I would be SO lost!!

  9. Theresa Grahek Says:

    BELIEVE…to accept as true, genuine or real.
    This would be my vanity plate if i ever got one.
    This to me is one of the most powerful words there is.
    I BELIEVE in you…said to someone in times of trouble
    If you BELIEVE it, you can achieve it…for all of our hopes and dreams
    I am a BELIEVER in God…for all that he is and does for each of us in this crazy, crazy world that we live in.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      This is so perfect for you!!! thanks for the inspirational comment. I love every way you used it!!!!

  10. MelissaE Says:

    I know we are only supposed to enter one word, but my words I live by are FAITH, HOPE, LOVE. I have a necklace with this saying on it; it is worn almost everyday to help me through any roughpatches I may have during the day and as a reminder to what is most important in my life.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you enter as many words as you like and as many times as you like!!! and these are definitely three PERFECT ones!!! 🙂

  11. MelissaE Says:

    Simplicity…enough said!

  12. Donna Wyatt Says:

    I cannot come up with a word that has not been given, but I must tell you that I have used this awesome combination and absolute love it. I even sent some back with my daughter to college, in a cute jar and attached an old tablespoon that I found out antiquing with a dear friend. She loved it. I am amazed by the product. If I left my laundry in the washer overnight it used to get a funny odor, with this mixture, there is no smell. It is absolutely the best. Now, can you creat one for the dishwasher?!?!? THanks again.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that is ok. Amazing just about every word I can think if has been “taken” as well!!! a very creative and thoughtful group of readers huh?? 🙂
      SO glad you like the soap. Isn’t it the BEST thing ever??? and as far as dishwashers?? oh, man I wish I could . I have tried and tried, but so far, nothing is working. I think dishwasher tabs are SO expensive and I have found them VERY frustrating!!! so frustrating, I am tempted to do a special post just on them!!!!!! arrrgghhhhh

  13. Ejeanne overton Says:

    do you ever sleep?

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I think sleeping is a waste of good time…..but every now and then I do have to get a “little” shut eye” or I get grouchy!! (so my family says) haha

  14. olold plow woman Says:

    Well it is lunch time and yes time for another word from the old plow woman. PRAYER I start my drive almost every morning to work with a prayer that seems to go on through out my day I don’t know that I always end it until bed. This is the one thing that I can do for eveyone I know and yes alot of times I don’t know the person. I can do this for no cost and I can give it from my heart and I can do it anywhere I want. I believe in the power of prayer from the heart that it can move mountains, I believe in asking everyone I know to pray when I feel more prayer is needed for someone. Prayer does not need to be fancy just a conversation and don’t forget to give prayers of thanksgiving for the blessing that we do have.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yes, the power of prayer is very moving, and it is nice to know you take the time to pray for those close to you, as well as ones you may not even know.

  15. Needing a manicure.. Says:

    PERSEVERE– This is my favorite word.. From personal experiences in my life~
    You cannot judge a tree or a person by just one season and the esscence of who they are and the joy and love that come from their life. It can only be measured at the end when all the seasons are up. See the fruit that they have produced. Don’t let the pain of one season destroy the joy of all the rest. Don’t judge your life by one difficult or painful season. PERSEVERE through difficult times and seasons and better times are sure to come.
    At the time when you are in the middle of a terrible season just remember there is a new season coming..!! PERSEVERE

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh!!! I . LOVE . THIS !!!!!!! so perfect in many cases, and very appropriate for myself today!!! thank YOU!!! (and I love your name today!!) haha

  16. Amber Says:

    I am brand new to your sight, and… I LOVE IT!!! I am already trying to find out where to buy fels naptha in Mesa, AZ… no luck yet.

    So, I am not sure what this favorite word thing is or if there is a prize attached for the winner, but I thought I would participate. Hopefully there were not specific rules I overlooked…

    My favorite word today is PACE. After getting about about 100 things done by 8am this morning, my kids were whiny, hungry, and in need of some Mommy time. I decided that I need to decide what has to be done NOW, and do the rest later. I am a go-go-go type of person, and I need to start pacing myself.

    Anyway, I hope to be a regular on this site now. Thanks!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      welcome , welcome, welcome!!!! I am so happy to have another reader!!! I will try to keep it interesting for ya. 🙂 I used to have those hectic mornings, but they are fading fast as now I have two teenagers. My hectic times is late at night, waiting for them to get home, and then hearing all their stories!!! I always love that part. 🙂
      Did you become a subscriber?? if so, you can recieve all updates via e mail as soon as I post them.

  17. Old Plow Woman Says:

    start of my evening brings me to yet another word: DETERMINATION I am determined to get my sale flyer completed tonight. I am determined to have great prices so that I can sell sell sell and that will open up room for me to live a simpler life. I am hopeful my determination will fuel the fire of motivation.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I would think you have very good sales and have the perfect qualities of a saleswoman on a mission. 🙂

  18. Old Plow Woman Says:

    It is quickly coming to my bed time. So a word I must give you. BITTERSWEET. Tonight I have a bittersweet feeling as our contest will end at midnight and I have enjoyed blogging a word to the simply altered world but yet one less thing for me to think of doing a couple times a day. On New Years eve one of my goals was to blog something and you have so kindly given me the means and encouragment to complete that goal – thank you. I found that I really have enjoyed sharing my thoughts and my memories even the one with the icky word. I noticed in a previous post you had lost your sister to cancer – I know that feeling I lost my oldest sister to colon cancer before she was 43. She would have loved your sight and she would have made the laundry soap and loved it .

  19. simplyaltered Says:

    awww..that is so nice. You have become a very faithful and loyal blog reader and I appreciate that. Blogging is so much fun. Should you ever want to have one, I could give you lots of help. We have another thing in common, losing sisters to cancer. My sister was 49. Diagnosed late fall and died the following February. Very sad still. Kindey cancer. 😦

Leave a Reply

