my inability to find the right words…

charlie-sigh-769156This is the only word I can come up with to adequately describe my thoughts today.

I got the e mail we have been waiting for, yet once I saw it in my inbox, I nearly deleted it.  If I ignored it , it “might” go away???  no, I had to open it, and it had my daughters Job Corps start date in it.

{sigh}

Monday September 14.

again  {sigh}

I guess that means we have about 16 days to have FUN before we need to get down to business.   I have the ultimate faith in my daughter now, that she will do exactly what she promised  “give it her best shot”.  I can not ask for more.

But then there are those days that she will not be home at 3:30, or late night after work or late night after being out with friends.   We can visit for hours at those special times!!!

{sigh}

But to see the rewards at the end of the ONE year commitment??  it would be SO worth it.  She will be ready to take on the world that she has been so anxious to jump right into!!

As my mother taught me so well.

“In the end, when it is all said and done, everything will be JUST FINE”

God bless her soul.  I want my OWN mom  here right now, so she can reassure me in person.  😦

Now……I have a going away party to plan, a few shopping days together,  and some other REALLY fun stuff to schedule in the next two weeks.

and my daughter is due home from a Friday night with her friends, and I want to be right here waiting for her.

Thanks for listening.


20 Responses to “my inability to find the right words…”

  1. bejes Says:

    Sorry you are having a bummed out night. I’m awake and on FB🙂 Any way, this will hopefully be a wonderful experience for her and that will make things easier. Hopefully🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I had a terrible headache by the time I posted this. I seriously think I am suffering from migraines!!! sorry, no FB.
      Yes, HOPEFULLY is right. 😦

  2. Rhonda Van Zante Says:

    Just to let you know that when Kristin left for college I was very sad, but when I saw the mature young woman she has become I am so very proud of her and all she has accomplished. She is doing what God has planned for her and she is loving it, because it is His Will. She found out that all that she has prepared for it is becoming a reality. She is coming home today for her tenth class reunion and I can not believe where those ten years have gone too, but they have. I tell my children all the time I love them and am so very proud of them. Kelli, my thoughts and prayers are with you. From one mother to another, yes I understand and it will be okay. God bless her and your family.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      it is so nice to hear those that have gone through something like this….I just wish she were 18 when I had to let her move. Bummer!!!!!!! but she does have a strong faith and will hopefully get her through it, if now, we are going back to the drawing board.

  3. kim aka machita Says:

    this just gives me a lump in my throat😦 i remember when Rhiannon left home right after high school for college, i could not go in her room for a very long time and when i did, i just sat on her bed in disbielf😦

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I have had a lump in my throat ever since I read the e mail, trust me.
      and we referred to you and Rhiannon last night. How on EARTH you could literally drop her off in Texas where she knew NO ONE!!!!!! no way!!! makes Denison seem even more doable.

  4. BLT Says:

    IF ONLY…every daughter had a mother like you. Oh what a wonderful world this would be. She is gonna do just fine BECAUSE she has a mother like you.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      You are SO nice. This makes me feel better. I try. I sometimes feel I fall short, but everyone has a little mommy guilt every now and then huh??? 🙂

  5. ambjour Says:

    she’ll do great! and come back more mature!

  6. Diana W Says:

    I have a friend who has a son on a mission for church that she has not seen in over a year. His mission will be done in Janurary and she is so ready for him to come home. She can only talk with him for a few minutes on holidays, they do receive text’s from him. Juts be thankful for the technologyof cell phones and computers. Hopefully, she will take advantage of these to keep up with you.

    I will keep you in my prayers. (her, too!)

    • simplyaltered Says:

      You are right, and thank goodness, my kids have taught me how to text. It will be our constant communication!!! Imagine waiting for a letter to come in the mail?!?!??! oh my goodnesss

  7. Diane Says:

    Hey she will be able to come at least to one RCYF meeting!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I know!!! but as of right now, she is scheduled to work that night!!! grrrr…..we are working on that though as she REALLY wants to come. She is trying to switch nights with someone. Cross your fingers. 🙂

  8. Ruthi Says:

    Hang in there sweets!! Ruthi

  9. Old Plow Woman Says:

    Remember she is looking forward to a future and she is getting to start her growing time away from you in a very controlled environment. – My son attended the job corp in Denison IA. Trust me this is much better than a freshman in a college town. You know that you guys have from what it sounds like a very open and trusting relationship be honest and talk, cry and spend time hugging. My son had to attend a drunk driver class and called me sobbing on his break last night they had a speaker whose mother was killed by a drunk driver and he called and said she never thought about what if he couldn’t pick up the phone and call me – I am praying this was the break through we needed for him. I can’t wait to see him to hug him again. Your daughter and you sound like you two have the same relationship that me and my son does – you will always be a big part of her life no matter where she is attending school. She will have time to email/blog and to call and she will come home for visits and you can vist her and don’t forget to send her packages in the mail – she will need the laundry soap. Keep all of us posted we are here for you

  10. Jeff Says:

    :[ she is not going!!!!! You can just home school her

    • simplyaltered Says:

      awwww…this makes me sadder!!! but if I homeschooled her, then I would need to homeschool you too, and YOU TWO would be way too much for me to handle!!! :O
      You just have to promise to come see me even if she is not here….and to ride to Denison a few times to pick her up. 🙂

  11. Ejeanne overton Says:

    WHERE IS SHE GOING TO DO THIS AT?

  12. simplyaltered Says:

    Denison Iowa Job Corps. About 3 hours from Osky. 😦

Leave a Reply

