research and development…

headerI tried to find a FEMALE in a kitchen sort of lab setting , but did not find anything too “appealing”  so I will go with Mr. Scientist instead.  🙂

I am searching far and wide to come up with a SIMPLE, and frugal alternative to the INCREDIBLY expensive dish washer tabs I am forced to purchase.  I think I MIGHT possibly be onto something……

BUT

I do NOT want another failure like the Clorox wipes, so this time I am doing plenty of testing before I post these results OR the incredibly SIMPLE recipe.

Maybe I will do some extra baking or cooking, or somehow make a WHOLE lot of dirty dishes so I can do enough trial runs, and then let the secret out!!!.    Many of you have asked about this, just one more way to save money!!

Stay tuned.

16 Responses to “research and development…”

  1. BLT Says:

    With this post it SOUNDS LIKE things are getting a littel back to “normal” for you. Glad to hear it!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      it IS getting closer!!! glad you can tell. I am trying to convince myself of it atleast. haha.
      Special school board session tomorrow night, at 6 pm, so shortly after that, they are giving me a call….accepted or denied. YIKES!!! it is truely the moment I have been waiting for, and if all goes our way, she STARTS WEDNESDAY!!!!! that I will REALLY feel close to normal again. 🙂

  2. oldplowwoman Says:

    back to the top of your game ! prayers answered. How is your daughter doing? I am excited to hear the new simple solution to doing dishes.

  3. Martha Says:

    I use 1 tablespoon borax and 1 tablespoon washing soda in the dishwasher and vinegar in the rinse aid dispenser. Give it a try. Am anxious to see what you have been testing.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that is simple enough huh??? and is this the only thing you use??? no commercial stuff??? if so, maybe I have just found the solution!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • Martha Says:

        Yes. I came across this a few weeks ago and since I am using your recipe for laundry soap, I already had the ingredients on hand so I gave it a try. I still have some dishwasher detergent left but I have been alternating one load with the homemade version and one load with the store bought. I am getting really good results. The vinegar leaves the dishes spot free. Now, I am not an expert, but for me this is working in my dishwasher – a Kenmore. I do rinse my dishes a little.

        Would have responded sooner but I was at a cross country meet yesterday.

  4. Malinda Says:

    I’m so glad you’re working on this. I was talking laundry soap w/ a customer last week and I mentioned I should email you and see if you had a recipe for dishwasher det. It’s another horribly overpriced item that I detest buying. Thank you for all your great ideas. When you perfect it, we’ll have to get Dan to let you sample it.

  5. Aunt Tippy Says:

    If you go to the website I originally gave you for how to make the laundry detergent, there is a recipe for dishwasher detergent as well!

  6. Kristin Says:

    We must be thinking the same thing, lol. I’ve got a recipe that I’m experimenting with too🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Goody!! I hope you will share it with us. It is kind of fun playing the Mad Scientist huh??? LOL

      • Kristin @ Prudent and Practical Says:

        Actually Lori (below) already has🙂 I got my citric acid at Stringtown Bulk Grocery in Kalona.

        Every once in a while when cooking with lemons, instead of chucking it in the compost, I’ll toss it in the dishwasher. It helps keep it smelling fresh and helps with lime/hard water deposits.

        On another note, I’ve been reading a lot lately where people are putting their dishcloths in the dishwasher too – I haven’t tried this yet, have you?

  7. Lori Says:

    Homemade dishwasher detergent….make sure to use vinegar in the rinse dispenser. Also if you can’t find the citric acid, use two paks of koolaid lemonaid

    1 cup Washing soda
    1 cup Borax
    ½ cup salt
    ½ cup citric acid

    Mix together and store tightly covered in a Mason Jar. Use one tablespoon per load. Add vinegar to the rinse dispenser for the best results.

Leave a Reply

