Rocket Power…

better late than never....

better late than never....

Who ever said she did things in a timely manner???  not me!!!

Today was HER first day of school, fashionably late maybe, but none the less, today was THE day!!!

We got the call last night, saying she had been approved by the Eddyville / Blakesburg school district and can be there in the morning!!!   yikes.  Talk about some lightening speed school shopping!!! (school supplies atleast as the clothing had already been done)  whew.

I went along to help get her schedule all figured out and afterall, I wanted to completely check it out.  Ya know, we have been known to RUN back and bring her back home!!  haha.  (oh my, we are still trying to forget about that fiasco)  LOL

All seemed well, and DID indeed seem like a better fit for her.  She is a small town girl, and loved the small town feel to the school.  Nearly as many people in the entire 4 year school as what was in her one CLASS before.  That is a good thing.

She made sure to spot the class that has the word “Ag” in it  !!!!   I think it was called “Ag Sales”  (?)   all I know, I would have chosen sewing or something like that, but it is not MY schedule, so I kept my mouth shut.  🙂

I don’t expect perfection from her or from a school.  I would have loved to hear her say “Oh mom, this is the most awesome ,wonderful, amazing school EVER”  ….but do ANY kids REALLY describe school like that anymore???  none that live in this house, I know that much.

She liked it.

and she is going back again tomorrow.  :)

This is good.

Thanks to all who have cared and listened.



23 Responses to “Rocket Power…”

  1. Linsey(TC) Says:

    YEAH!!! I’m so glad she had a good first day. And yes, Ag Sales will be great. Tell her Mr. Powers (Ag sales teacher) is AMAZING!! And if she needs to drop my name, I won’t be offended!🙂 haha..that is if any of your family actually KNOWS it!🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I will be SURE to tell her!!! remember, it is not who you ARE, but who you know. We will take brownie points however we can get them at this point!!!! LOL

      • simplyaltered Says:

        but he will have to recognize your name as WE know it. Not sure in a split second, Zoe could think of your last name (married OR maiden) if she had to!!! haha!!!!!

  2. Jeff Says:

    Ghod She looks so happy to go back to school!! Right!!!!!!

  3. bejes Says:

    Congrats on a good first day. I am assuming it was good as she is going back. Also, what the heck is Linsey’s name? It’s not Linsey the Coolest? Did she change it?

  4. BLT Says:

    WooHOO!!! HappyDance! HappyDance! My three dogs and I are doing the HappyDance!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      and you ought to see the happy dances going on in THIS house!!! everyday at 8 am (that she went) and then again at 3:30 (when she made it through another day!!) LOL doesn’t take much to make us happy huh???

  5. Rhonda Van Zante Says:

    She will enjoy Mr. Powers in the Ag class. My children enjoyed his class and were officers in Ag. She will make new friends, too. Eddyville will be a good fit for her and she is welcome on our farm anytime.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      ya know, she really does love Mr Powers!!! she likes all of them so far….and she is even willing to do her HOMEWORK!!!! imagine that!!!! oh, such progress to be thankful for!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Amber Wallace Says:

    Hope your daughter loves her new school! Best wishes to her!

  7. Rhonda Van Zante Says:

    Kelli, If you daughter loves baby pigs and calves, we have them! We have baby pigs every day around here. If she ever wants to come out to a working livestock farm she is more than welcome. I can feed her well, too. Anyway, best wishes for her and her new school. I think she will enjoy it and our ag class is one of the biggest in this area. Relax Mom, she will be fine.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Thanks Rhonda, and if you speak too loudly, you will have her at your doorstep!!! she loves pigs and she LOVES a good meal!!!! Last week at Sr RCYF, they greased baby pigs and had to catch them!!! someone video taped it, and I laughed til my stomach hurt!!!

  8. olold plow woman Says:

    This is was we call prayers answered and let us all give thanksgiving to our father for guiding and being with her. Sometimes we have to do what we want and find out it is not the road we were suppose to be on before we find the road he had laid out in front of us all along. She gets a new school and her parents get to continue their awesome influence on her – now that sounds like a solid plan.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I love your use of the word “solid”.. I hope this is a solid plan. Amazing what changing your surroundings CAN do for your success. We should have made THIS move long ago!!!!

  9. Diana Says:

    LOVE the first day picture! And, YES, some kids do love their school. At least my son told me he was so happy, and DMACC was AWESOME on his first day. Who knew?

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that is awesome!!!!! maybe we can do DMACC after this??? I have heard wonderful things about it too!!! good for both of our families!!!

  10. kim aka machita Says:

    how about and new stuff?????????????????

  11. blt Says:

    so hoping the weeks going well!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      too ironic!! the time you sent this, I must have been updating!! LOL. Read my next update. It is going VERY well!!!! I hate to jinx myself, but it is REMARKABLY good!!!!

Leave a Reply

