thoughts of gratitude

in a random way

in a random way...

After much thought on what to update my blog with, I decided to look back at the last few days and take the time to realize the GOOD things I have around me.  Some monumental, some rather insignificant, but regardless, they all bring a smile to my face, so I thought I would share with you.    :)

1.  Soft sheets.

Just got a new set today.  Since my husband is in bed ALREADY, I will have to wait til tomorrow night to surprise him. They are BEYOND soft!!!  more like blanket fleece than cotton sheets.  I will have the bed all made up for him to unsuspectingly get in to the sheets he feels every other normal night.

2.  Eddyville / Blakesburg High School.

So far, so good.   So far, so VERY good.   I say a prayer and cross my fingers each day at 8:00 a.m..  No one can know what a HUGE relief this is to our family!!!!   someone had this path laid out for her long ago, I just didn’t know about it  {wink-wink}  Thank you God!!!

3.  Pumpkin bars.

I made some today and still trying to decide which is better.  The taste of them?  or just the way they make the house smell?  both make me feel equally as good.

4.  A 40 hour work week for my husband.

Something we used to take for granted.  No more.  With the cut in hours he has had to take, a 40 hour work week is a real blessing around here!!  I think we are on about 4 weeks in a row now, and myself AND the household budget are both smiling because of it!!!!

5.  Laundry Soap.

I made 8 batches for a friend, and made 8 batches for myself.  Still can not believe how much I love it after the HUNDREDS of batches I have made.  I will never go back. Period.

6.  Forbes magazine.

I know.  Crazy huh??  I got my copy today in the mail of Forbes 400.  Top 400 people of wealth in the world.  I have no idea why I get this magazine, it is one I would have NO reason to subscribe to.  So many magazines come from companies solely for the purpose of my business, free of charge, for the client waiting area.  I am a HOOKED on magazines of any kind, so I make sure to read them ALL.  Anyway, back to why this makes me thankful????   they may have all the money they need, and they might very well be happy in their own way.  BUT……I wonder how THEIR list might compare to mine??  I am sure my life is much more SIMPLE than theirs.  🙂  and SIMPLE is GOOD.

Now, take a minute to reflect on what SIMPLE things YOU are thankful for today.

20 Responses to “thoughts of gratitude”

  1. kim aka machita Says:

    ok one simple thing i am sooo thankful for is my dog Sophi.She has brought so much joy and happiness to my life. She loves me unconditionally and for that i am thankful🙂

  2. oldplowwoman Says:

    So many things to be thankful for. My daughter had a good doctors visit she is delivering baby #3 at the end of the month and she has had a hard pregnancy this time. I am thankful that I made refried beans from scratch for the first time on Sunday and they came out awesome – much cheaper and a great source of protien. My son went to DMACC and had one of his tests yesterday – he has a GED but he is taking the classes that he needed to have an actual high school dipolma. I have a wonderful husband who loves me more today I am sure than the day we met and I am thankful to have some one that I love more every day and that we really enjoy just being together. I could go on an on as I am one really thankful that I have so many blessings. I hope you have a great day and live your dream because no one else will if you don’t.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      You have MANY things to be thankful for , don’t you?? even through the rough times with education, you give me hope, it will all turn out for the best!!! and I thank you for that!!!!

  3. LaVonne Bloem Says:

    I try to start out each morning, thanking God for some things in my life that I am grateful for: a full time job that brings in an income for both my husband and myself, a beautiful, warm home for all of us to enjoy, a nice, dependable vehicle to get me where I want to go, and most of all for a very loving husband and dogs, to fill my life. I am also thankful for family and friends, as they help us thru some very tough life struggles. We are SO totally blessed in our lives, we can’t begin to list them all.

  4. BLT Says:

    I’m thankful for my G-d and He loves me. He’s with me through to the end. Stress. Pressure. Pain. Grief.

    It lets me know everything always works out.

    Always.

    There’s a zillion other things but it all starts with G-d. Every. Single. Day. Joy comes in the morning, as promised. The grief or pain may not be finished but I can still find joy in a new day.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I completely agree. Sometimes the only thing to get me through a bad day, is to be confident we have another one to look forward to, with some sort of promise to it.

  5. BLT Says:

    I slipped on the flannel sheets for Sunday night! Aaaaaahhhh! Snuggly warm!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      my husband LOVED ours!!! said he may find no need to turn on the electric blanket this year!!! 🙂

  6. WLS Says:

    I am thankful for the smell of rain…better than any freshening product I can come up with. It is God, on HIS cleaning day, making everything fresh and clean and that shine is soo welcome. Can’t you just smell it now?

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I love this!!!!! fresh rain DOES smell wonderful!! and many times we can miss it just being in the rush of things, or focusing on plans that are not conducive with the rain.

  7. diane fynaardt Says:

    Puppy Love!!! unconditional, cuddly, warm, loving, soft, puppy breath, all for me just because it is me!!!!

  8. txmamashark Says:

    I am grateful for each and every second I have with my husband before he goes to Iraq in December.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I know this is on much different realms, but when we went through the Job Corps fiasco, it gave me an even deeper appreciation for those that are sent away in the miltary… I can not imagine those feelings otherwise!!!!

  9. kim aka machita Says:

    i am grateful that i have a baby sister i can say ” HAPPY BIRTHDAY KELLI” to!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hope your day is HAPPY and special!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. Heidi Says:

    I have enjoyed reading your blog for about 9 months now, but have never commented. I LOVE the laundry soap! Love the lotion! This summer we LOVED the Cherry Limeades. You do great work! I look forward to what you may surprise us with next!!

    Quick question: Wondering where you got your wonderful sheets? Worth me going out and finding some?? Please share this info!🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      well, welcome aboard and thanks for FINALLY commenting!!! we love comments and everyone learns from them!! here is a good example. I will post my story on the sheets just for you!! I have been thinking about it, and since I need to update anyway, it is perfect. YOU prompted me to get right on it!!! they are MORE than to die for!!!!! OMG !!! you will want to run right out and get some!!!!!! keep watching, the info will be coming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

