a long over due giveaway!

are you hungry yet?

are you hungry yet?

I have been posting to Facebook  about all the comfort foods I have been making lately…….We had the first official snowfall this past weekend, so comfort food in this house is a BIG hit!!!  and that kind of food just makes you feel so good,  the preparation, the presentation as well as how YUMMY  and warm it makes the house feel while you are doing all the work.

I love to BBQ in the summer, but by fall, I am ready for some hearty warm meals  (and dessert)

and it is time for a challenge anyway, right??

Post your favorite comfort foods, or the things YOU have already fed (or plan to feed) yourself or your family in the comfort food variety.

I will draw a winner  (at random) and post the winning results on Monday October 19. One week from today.  :) With any luck, the winner might even share their favorite “comfort food” recipe with us!!!

Add your comments NOW.  The giveaway will be something you will love and it WILL be kitchen related.  :)  yeah!!!!

I will start things off with MY idea of comfort food that I have been busy making!!!!

55 Responses to “a long over due giveaway!”

  1. simplyaltered Says:

    I have made many batches of Pumpkin Bars, Pumpkin Bread, Cherry Almond Cobbler and Apple Crisp. Yum!!! I love them all!!!!
    and of course, one BIG batch of chili, some Chicken Rice Soup, and next up is Homemade Beef Stew. My VERY favorite!!!

  2. kim aka machita Says:

    this time of year everyone requests my pumpkin bars🙂 our favorite comfort food is my moms chicken rice soup (thanks mom) which I have taught MY daughter to make and she will carry on this tradition!!!!!!!!!! another hit is ALL my sisters always want me to make my potato soup with dumplings!! (thanks Marc) lol lol lol lol

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yep, that would be the pumpkin bar recipe I used. It is AWESOME!!! and the potato soup??? OMG….THEEEEEE best!!!!! Sanks Barbour!! you rock.

  3. dcviands Says:

    My favorite comfort food in the fall is homemade chicken pot pie – yummy! I’d be glad to share the recipe.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      maybe YOU need to win as I have never tried making homemade pot pie……and then we can have the recipe. 🙂 I always think it sound delicious, but just have not tried it.

  4. Jules Says:

    Where to begin…my grandma’s potato soup, cheeseburger soup, chili, casseroles, breads, pumpkin bars, lots of baked goods, beef & noodles, roast & veggies….okay I better stop it is making me hungry, might have my meal plan for this week🙂 I love fall it is my favorite time of year and the warm foods that go with it are one of my reason it is my favorite!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I know. This list is growing, and making me VERY hungry, reading everyones ideas!!! I can’t wait to see the winner, and hopefully her recipe. 🙂

  5. connie Says:

    Warm Rice Pudding is at the top of my comfort food list. It is a favorite of all my family members. I make it with raisins, those who don’t like raisins can pick them out!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      oh Connie, what about someone like me that refuses to eat anything that raisins have even TOUCHED!!! LOL. I know, mom raised me to be a VERY picky eater. But we LOVE rice pudding, sans raisins. 🙂

  6. Diana Says:

    Last weekend I made my grandmother’s potato soup with dumplings. I also made a double batch of pumpkin bread that day, which was practically gone before nightfall!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I love potato soup and my sister (Machita) see above, makes the best I have ever had!!!! maybe I need to see your recipe too?? 😉

  7. Crissie Says:

    Our favorites are Armenian lentil soup,turkey noodle soup,and good old crumbly cornbread or corn muffins. Also frequently on our dinner table is oven baked or crock pot stew beef over rice.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      corn bread?? yum!! I just saw a recipe the other day (have it saved) and it takes a box of muffin mix and a box of yellow cake mix. Like Famous Daves serves, and I love it!!!

    • Aunt Tippy Says:

      Please share your Armenian lentil soup recipe! I love lentils & have been making a super yummy veggie lentil soup!

  8. Donna Wyatt Says:

    My all time favorite is fresh apple cake with a warmed butter/carmel sauce, the house smells wonderful and the taste is out of this world. Lots of good sounding nummy recipes in previous posts!

  9. Amber Wallace Says:

    My family loves Cheeseburger Soup w/ homemade bread.. Yum… Thinking that’s what we’ll have for dinner tonight..

    • simplyaltered Says:

      AMBER !!!! this kills me. I have a big pot of cheeseburger soup on the stove right now!! too funny!!! come on over, I have enough to feed your family as well. 🙂

  10. LisaW Says:

    Chili, homemade bread, cherry cobbler, Vegie soup w/macaroni in it, I could go on and on….

  11. Aunt Tippy Says:

    Stuffed green pepper soup. Delish!!!!1

  12. Aunt Tippy Says:

    Oh, & crockpot cheesy potatoes & ham!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      recipe???

      • Aunt Tippy Says:

        Pretty simple. Again, doctored up recipe so I’ll approximate.

        6 good sized potatoes, thinly sliced (used my Pampered Chef slicer)

        2 c lean ham (I just bought a lean Corn King one & sliced some off)

        minced onion – uh, probably 1/4 c

        1 can healthy request cream of mushroom soup

        1 c skim milk

        2 c light cheddar cheese.

        Put potatoes, ham, & onion in crockpot. Mix soup, milk & cheese & pour over potatoes. Season with Lawry’s & freshly ground pepper. Cook on low until potatoes are tender. Sauce gets thicker once you let it cool a bit.

        Scott said it was a recipe that I definitely need to keep around! 🙂

      • Aunt Tippy Says:

        Oh, I also used some fresh basil as well.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      this DOES sound good!!! printed out and ready to try it on my family. I also have a recipe for Ham Pie, which is REALLY good to use for the little bit of leftover ham a person might have. Sanks!!!!!

  13. Bethany Says:

    When the cold weather comes I start making chili with corn bread, chicken noodle soup, beef vegetable barley soup, or lasagna. This winter I plan on trying a new soup once a week so we don’t get tired of the usual soups.

  14. Julie Says:

    These all sound yummy & I do hope we share recipes. We like chicken and noodles and I also have a chicken casserole recipe thats a hit.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I will think on that one. And best of all would be that the dishes would be NORMAL foods, ones you can actually find in the store, and understandable directions!! tried and true!!!

  15. Rhonda Van Zante Says:

    All these recipes sound so good. I think there are many fantastic cooks that have listed their favorite foods. As you know we live on a farm and I do allot of baking for those two coffee times a day. I also fix a big dinner for the “Man”. He would say any beef dish with mash potatoes and gravy. I make a very good meat loaf, too, with rice krispies. I have also made pumpkin and apple pie. Carmel corn is a favorite, too. The men love brownies, pumpkin bars, pumpkin bread, banana nut bread and apple bread. Warm cookies fresh from the oven is always a hit with the men and now with my grandchildren. These are just a few of the items I make in the winter. Of course, chili soup, veggie soup and stew. And always corn bread or baked bread to go with the soup. Wow, I’m hungry. Time to fix some warm supper.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Rhonda, I have never heard of Rice Krispies in meatloaf!! interesting. I can just IMAGINE all the comfort foods you make. I hope your daughter has had good lessons from you so she can do the same someday!!

  16. Linsey(TC) Says:

    I would have to go with roast, potatoes and noodles…yummmmmm!! I’m making that tomorrow night!! I also love to bake but it’s not always a good thing to have it around the house. Then I just want to eat it!🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Roast and Potatoes!!! one of my favorites too!!! no one made that as good as my mom and Karla did. I have tried, but it is just not the same. 😦

  17. bejes Says:

    Well, it is almost lunch time and I am probably going to end up with something lame like tuna salad but my favorite comfort foods are as follows: (in no particular order) my mom’s hamballs (which must always be served with mashed potatoes and corn), Roxie Chili (which I have made several times here in the 100+ degree heat), Stinky Feet Pizza (yes, thats the name and yes, it is comforting), warm apple cider with mulling spices (this one is comforting to drink, makes the house smell good, and just makes you feel good in general), cheesy hashbrowns, my mom’s cut-out cookies, and my mom’s BBQ chicken, the kind that takes your breath away when you take a bite…its the vinegar. Haven’t had that in a looonnggg time!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Yep, this was alot that I expected to see on your list. Get back here where you belong, and you can eat all the comfort foods your little heart desires.
      and did you know I am the one to get the credit for the name of the pizza??? yeah, I thought so. 🙂

  18. Rhonda Van Zante Says:

    What yummy recipes. I see a comfort cookbook in the future. Do you?

  19. olold plow woman Says:

    Comfort food one of this big girls favorite things !! We recently had Chili, meatloaf, and of course the hamburger pie mama taught me to make. I love to cook at this time of year. And we eat alot of comfort foods, they may not always sound healthy however food made with love hasta be good for the heart of those eating it. After our children grew up and are on their own we didn’t cook as much however these days mom is back on the cook train toot toot – and my little hubin is loving it!!! Maybe you should add a recipe exchange on your site?

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I bet he is loving it!!! I love meatloaf SO much and my sister makes the BEST one!!!!!! it is one thing though , that my husband and kids REFUSE to eat!!! I have never understood that. What is NOT to love about a good meatloaf??? 🙂

  20. Judy Says:

    Creamy,cheesy tuna and noodle casserole is at the top
    of our comfort food list.

  21. Arlene Says:

    So many wonderful ‘comfort foods’ mentioned. I’m drooling as I write this. How about an informal cookbook with all the recipes of comfort foods mentioned so far plus those to come in? It would be nice to include the cook’s name submitting the recipes. At 83, I’m tired of all my recipes and would welcome some new/different “tried and true” recipes.

    Love your website and especially your soap. I have many friends using it now since I discovered your website and the recipe.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I agree. I am so hungry everytime I read these comments coming in!!!!
      So glad you like the website, and the soap!! I am kind of random huh??? from laundry soap to comfort foods!! I try to keep it interesting. 🙂

  22. Arlene Says:

    One of my favorite recipes is a soup which I’ve been making for many years. It’s called HAM CHOWDER. If I’ve given the recipe to one person, I’ve given it to many, many individuals.

    Another favorite recipe is, NORWEIGAN APPLE PIE. It’s more like a dessert, but gets its name because it’s made in a pie tin. Both are wonderful fall/winter/anytime recipes.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I would LOVE to have the recipe for Ham Chowder!!! I want so badly to like Ham & Beans, but for some weird reason, I can not get myself to like them!!! send me the ham chowder recipe if you don’t mind!!!! 🙂

  23. Katie@ The Baby Factory Says:

    My first time here and there’s a giveaway…I am in🙂
    Comfort foods: My dad’s potato soup; Chili w/ Peanut butter sandwiches…sounds weird, but it is oddly quite good! Pork burgers & nachos @ FB games. Pumpkin Spice Latte’s, my new fave. Hot Vanilla Chai f/ Smokey Row.
    Geez…this is apparently why I gain weight in the winter🙂
    Your blog is a very enjoyable read–totally adding you to my reader🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yes, I have to say that IS a weird combination!!! hmmm….might have to try it some thing though. 🙂
      ok. I checked out your blog and I am MORE than impressed!!! wow…..feeling really inadequate right now!! :O wordpress is great, but the options of appearance is VERY limited. Darn.

  24. blt Says:

    Homemade tomato soup, ham/beans with jalapeno cornbread, Indian lentils w/ naan bread, tandori chicken, anything curry, and..when I throw all me food difficulties/sensitivities I splurge for the not-good-for-me Swanson turkey pot pie we would get as a kid for $0.05 EACH!

    Oh..Moms black cocoa mayonaise cake that is so dark, chocolatey, and super moist with her homemade creamy peppermint frosting! Moms chicken and dumplins. Oh…when Mom made pies, she baked leftover pieces of crust with cinnamon and sugar. There just seemed to NEVER be enough of that!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      a good example on the pot pie!!! sometimes those food that take us back are not even homemade at all huh??? talk about some cheap eating!! Swansons Pot Pies. I think we all had them as kids huh???

  25. Melissa Says:

    It would have to be chili. I could eat that about every other week and a pot of it lasts a few meals.

Leave a Reply

