Organic comfort…

Hello Rhiannon...

Well, Hello Rhiannon...

Meet Rhiannon. My Niece.  She is one family member that has left her hometown 12 years ago, and basically never looked back.  She lived in Cincinatti, works for Delta airlines, and marches to the beat of a little different drummer.  I hardly knew what organic was.  She is organic.  Her “comfort” foods always include organic ingredients. Even her CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES!!!  might not be 100% organic, but the small changes make a difference, and she thought this was a good beginning for me.  Shows me just how different things can taste when you just make small organic (and green) changes.   She more often than not, skips the conventional grocery store, and plans her meals from the Open Air Markets in her area, or local Farmers Market.  How lucky she is to have so many choices like that in the area she lives in. ????  She chooses organic from the food she puts in her body, to the decor in her home, to the products she uses on her skin.  I can admire that.

So….I just took a batch of her cookies out of the oven, and as I was thinking of my blog, and how well everyone enjoys the postings about food….it seemed a perfect addition to it today.

Here is her recipe:

1/2 cup DARK brown Organic sugar

2 sticks Margarine

1 cup Organic Sugar in the Raw

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp Cream of Tarter

1 Organic egg (slightly beaten)

2 cups Organic flour  (if using regular flour, add 2 Tbsp)

1 cup miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips

Mix all but the flour and chips together.  Blend well. Add flour. Blend well.  Add chips.  Blend well.

Bake 325 degrees for 9 to 11 minutes or until cookies are SLIGHTLY brown on the very edges.

Cool on wire rack and store in a sealed container.

These cookies are SO yummy!!!   (and of course, comforting)  :)    In a sealed container, they stay nice and soft!!!   DELICIOUS, and you will not feel NEARLY as guilty eating them, Ya know, afterall, there ARE organic ingredients in them!!!!

Sanks Rhiannon!!!

Who knows, maybe I can introduce more members of my extended family to my blog readers in the future???  that could give me some blogging material as I have a VERY large extended family!!  :)

***and rememeber…….post YOUR comfort foods!!!!  contest ends Monday.  !!!!!!!!!!!!

11 Responses to “Organic comfort…”

  1. kim aka machita Says:

    i wish i could say “i taught her well”, but quite the contrary. she has taught me so so so many things about the “organic” world!!!!!!!!!!!!! thanks to her i will NEVER EVER EVER buy anthing but organic chicken!!!!! the things she has told me about regular chicken is UNBELIEVEABLE!!

  2. Dorothy Says:

    My favorite comfort foods this time of the year is chili, the way they made it when I was in high school back in the 70’s. We were friends of the head cook and I got her recipe, nice and thick chili, really good, then she would serve it with cinnamon rolls. That was a day that everyone liked the school’s lunch. When I have leftover chili, I put it on our woodstove, in our house, to reheat, that way I am also saving on our propane bill two ways. We like the Machine Shed Potato Soup recipe too, on these cooler days.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I have heard of more and more people serving chili with cinnamon rolls. I find that so interesting!! and thinking back , I believe my school lunches always included the two as well. Both sound REALLY good today as it is a cold dreary day in Iowa once again.

  3. Ranny Says:

    Oh my goodness. I am so honored aunt kel to make your blog posting🙂 this was such a surprise to open!! I’m glad you like the organic twist to my choc chip cookies.. now I feel like I should send another comfort food recipe to you by the Monday deadline!! Maybe I’ll send you another one you end up using all the time!?!?! I’m sure it’s hard to find organic items in Oskaloosa, but Hy-vee seems good about ordering things? Let me ponder, and I’ll submit another one soon. Thanks again for the dedication🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yeah, I thought you would be shocked!!! glad to see you commenting. 🙂 bring on the other organic recipes. I would love to try them. 🙂

  4. blt Says:

    I have been forced into fresh &/or organic foods due to difficulties with skin in reaction to chemicals & digestive issues with gluten & dairy from birth. For all who say organic is expensive, it can be, but buy in season or buy from a chemical free small local farmer/CSA. If you eat foods as G-d intended, you will feel better, have radiant skin/hair, & you will drop to an ideal weight..but this means limited moderation of white foods (breads/pastas/etc).

    Ive been a size 3JR (girls/kid size 14) my whole life at 5 feet/six. I eat mostly veg/fruit/rice/bean/lentil in a typical Indian diet (sneaking in naan bread on occasion!) & choose organic when its not much different in price. As a result, we have greatly reduced meat consumption just because we love these foods. Its incidental; not intentional.

    Our floors are tile, bamboo (some carpet), and all countertops are stone. We choose natural w/each renovation inside or out.

    Weve had 6 years of staycations because weve created our own paradise–food & location.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I admire you too for all of this. I know you are very dedicated to this part of your life!! good for you!!! I need to meet you sometime for “tea”. 🙂

  5. LisaW Says:

    I LOVE the Pioneer Co-op in Iowa City. Lots and lots of organics. I am going to be part of a research study with a physician who literally could not walk a year ago due to M.S. and is now riding her bicycle to work. Only thing changed is her diet – nothing processed – all organic. Lot’s of green colored food. We are going to see what effects it has on a diabetic🙂 I checked with my own physician first.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that is really amazing Lisa!!! I certainly am interested in what it does for you!!! they say these kind of changes can be amazing!!!!

  6. LisaW Says:

    It will be a 90 day deal as we will check my A1C before and after…I just pray I can stick with it for that long!

Leave a Reply

