ok. Back to laundry…

I hope my blog readers appreciate my randomness  (is that a word??)  I figure, it keeps it interesting.

Now, back to basically what began all the hype with the blog.  Laundry.

Last week, my washer / dryer officially DIED.  Yep, I milked them along as long as I could and thanks to my clothesline, it lasted longer than I had anticipated.  But the time had come.

out with the old, old, OLD...

out with the old, old, OLD...

and in with the NEW  !!!!

and in with the NEW !!!!

Can you feel my excitement???   I got a front loading set, and hopefully my water bill will reflect it  (and power bill as well)  ANYTHING has to be more efficient that the old set we had.  It was taking 2+ hours to dry a load, and I am WAY too busy for that nonsense.  :)

I was very hesitant to change for one BIG reason though…..the laundry SOAP.  Yeah, I am certain if they insisted only the high price H.E detergent be used, I might have had to reconsider.

But….when I asked specifically, the owner of the store (whom I know personally and TRUST his word)  told me that the G.E Sales Representative herself uses the homemade soap…… SOLD  !!!!!!!!!   I am 100% confident now, that YES YES YES you definitely CAN use the Simply Wonderful laundry soap in front loaders.  The very most asked question of all time on the blog and the answer was, and still is, Y.E.S  !!

And what makes this whole deal even sweeter?  I got a $100 cash rebate from Mid American Energy for the purchase and another $35 cash rebate from G.E.  I now am using ONLY one Tbsp of laundry soap, as recommended instead of 2, again, from the G.E Sales Rep herself, so my laundry soap will be lasting even longer.

I was also told that normal top loaders, large batch takes about 39 to 40 gallons of water.  This front loader, large batch will take only 12 to 13.

in addition to the energy savings of about 30 minutes of drying time???

hmmmmm….. WHY on earth did I wait so long to make this purchase?

**REMEMBER…..the comfort food give away ends Monday night.  Leave your delicious comments ASAP  !!!!!!!

10 Responses to “ok. Back to laundry…”

  1. Septemberspirit1 Says:

    Oh please share . . . what brand of washer/dryer did you decide on? And any thoughts yet on your choice?

  2. Judy Says:

    Thanks for the thumbs on the homemade laundry soap for the HE washer.
    I have had mine for a couple years and think they are great, but I had wondered if the soap was really OK for them.

    I suggest leaving the door on the washer open for a while after use. The door seals so tight it can smell a little musty if you don’t.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I will leave the door open and once a month, do the cleaner thing on it too. That was highly recommended.
      I know, I feel SO much better hearing straight from the rep herself, YES, it can be used!!! yeaH!!!!!!!!

  3. kim aka machita Says:

    you really are spoiled

  4. Donna Johnson Says:

    Congratulations on the new machines. I also have had the front loaders for a few years. I was nervous too trying the recipe for soap in them. I have been using the recipe for two months now and love it. The kids say the kitchen smells so good when I am making it. The clothes are so clean and no more allergic reactions to laundry soap. Yeah! I saw the Fels naptha on Lehman’s porch website yesterday. Three bars for $5.95. Pretty pricy but if someone was ordering other green things it may be worth it to them. I also agree with leaving the door on the washer open. Have fun doing laundry.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I know. I almost wish I could go through the soap a little faster as I still love the MAKING of it!!! haha.
      I get Fels Naptha in town for about $1 a bar. I am sure this other source would be fine if you can not locate it, but certainly is more expensive.

  5. Sherri Lund Says:

    I have never heard of this homemade laundry soap?? Does it get your clothes white and keep them white over time, or do they become dengy (sp) looking? You said you no longer use softner or dryer sheets anymore. Does this laundry soap serve as a softner as well? I’ve had a front loader for years but you mentioned that you do the monthly cleaner thing on it too. I’m not sure what that is. I’ve never done anything like that with mine. Can you share what it is that you do monthly? The Fels Naptha soap, is this found in the store where the other bars of bath soap are located? I’m sorry I’m full of questions. I can’t wait to make some!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you should be able to find answers to these questions and much MUCH more within the comments made in the various posts on laundry soap, or even in the FAQ section. I would answer them all gladly, but you will find alot of reader tips the other way too. I can say this much, it IS wonderful. Read on and let me know if you still have questions. Thanks!! (and welcome to my blog!!!)

Leave a Reply

