Three things I want to learn…

I have come up with three things I want to do.

This is my personal challenge.

I want to knit and/or crochet.   (since I am so clueless, I am not sure what it took to make these little darlings, but I want to do it)  it might even make me EAT apples if I get to dress them up in this manner!!!!    how could you resist???  (apple cozies)  too cute!!!

cuteness....I also want to learn how to solder.  Seems easy, but I am sure it is not.  The creations I would make would be endless.  Jewelry, repurposed sculptures, etc etc etc.  I have looked and looked at the kits, but always leave the local hardware store withOUT them.  {sigh}

a fine example...and lastly (for now)  I want to learn more about photography.  I love the unexpected.  I love candid shots.  I want to do it, and do it better.  Take pictures of things of my surroundings that are very often ovelooked.  My daughter has taken an interest in this, and when bored, she will take my camera, and just go take some random pictures.  I am amazed at the beauty of them, and very proud that she can find beauty in the ordinary….but when I am behind the lens?  mediocre at best.

this is OBVIOUSLY not me, but it WILL be someday...So, there is my list.  I will invite any and all tips to help me out.  Free lessons will also not be turned down…..and with any luck they are out of town, and include air fare.  Remember, I am in dire need of a vacation.  LOL

I would also love to hear what YOUR list includes.  Why wait for the old cliche and do it for the New Years??  join me now, and we can have our wishes perfected by then.

Post your list of no more than three (ya know, we have to be realistic) and I will pick a winner….and choose a VERY motivating gift specifically geared to your wish.

You have all week long to think on it.  I will draw on Monday November 9.

34 Responses to “Three things I want to learn…”

  1. Debbie Says:

    I saw a knitted scarf in Phoenix last winter that I loved. I came home and went to the Lion Yarn website, found the yarn (Trellis) and they provided the instructions there as well. I’ve made about a dozen so far. If I can do it, anyone can. It was really quite easy and very relaxing. I haven’t moved up to sweaters, etc. but this is a starter.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I am shooting for scarves as well…..but eventually I will have all kinds of fruit cozies around here!! LOL

  2. Diane G Says:

    Good luck with your list !

    I learned to knit as a child and a few years later learned how to crochet. Over the years I’ve probably made somewhere in the neighborhood of 80 afghans to share with family and friends.

    Two years ago I also wanted to learn to solder so I took 12 weeks of stained glass classes. This has turned out to be a craft that I really enjoy and I’ve got enough supplies stocked up to keep me busy for several winters.

    I enjoy taking pictures too and now that I’ve got a digital camera I’m really enjoying trying different things. At least if I don’t like the final results now I can hit the delete button and try again.

    One personal goal for me is to be a better communicator … mainly by doing more personal correspondence and keeping in closer touch with family and friends. Since I live several hundred miles from most of my family now this has become an even more important goal for me.

    I also am adament about continuing along the lines of simplifying my life … I’ve expanded my recycling and am getting better at tossing and sharing “things” that don’t have real value to me.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      very good list. I like it, especially the last one. I would love to HELP you!!! I am SO good at tossing!!! 🙂
      and yes, I agree, photography is so much easier now with digital, but if I could just figure out all those darn settings!!!! and reading the manual only confuses me MORE!!!

  3. bejes Says:

    I want to learn how to weld. Soldering is for wimps! ok, just kidding. If you learn how to solder, I will be scheduling a lesson ASAP. I also want to learn to fondant a cake and other more difficult cake decorating skills. One other thing i want to learn is how to grocery shop to stock cupboards, not just for the 5 meals I always make. I can not do any of these, YET!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I am laughing at your last one. (sorry) ya know, that is one thing, I guess I have no clue how to advise you. I just did it, I guess. Something maybe some people take for granted. I think it is one of those things that come with “age” maybe??? it is also something that if you try too hard, or plan it too much, it will also not work. Grrrr…I know. I am no help. But I am proud to say, I could just about whip up most things right now from my cupboard….just don’t ask my how I got to that point. :O

  4. Cheryce Says:

    I have also wanted to learn how to knit/crochet. My grandmother has made all of my kids blankets, and I think they are each up to four now. (Yeah, 20 crocheted blankets in our house….) She tried to teach me when I was younger, but I didn’t care for it at the time. Now I regret that.😦 I’ll tie my desire to learn how to sew here too. I mean, really sew, like dresses & purses, not just buttons & patches. Lol.

    I’ve also wanted to improve my scrap booking (paper, digital, all forms!) skills. Maybe someone offers classes on that. I would love to be all crafty scrappy & try to sell some, or even just make them as gifts. I think that card making falls under this category too.

    And for my third, I want to take some cake decorating classes as well. Maybe the Wilton ones at Michael’s.🙂

    Thanks for the blog, you’ve inspired me to be crafty.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I am glad I have inspired you.🙂 thanks!!!
      Selling your crafts is a GREAT feeling, or selling any talent you have is really wonderful. Luckily I have fallen into the perfect fit for that in my area. Keep at it, and look outside the box and just dive right in. It can work.🙂
      And if you are lucky enough to have a Michaels in your area, then GO FOR IT !!! Ours is 60 miles away. I would be in big trouble if one were closer!! haha.
      Another thought, go to You Tube. You can really learn practically ANYTHING from watching the videos, and I bet there is a cake decorating video there waiting for you!!! keep me posted on your progress!!!

  5. Dannitta Says:

    Nicole could teach you to knit. She has taught me several times. Not that she isn’t a good teacher, she helps teach a workshop with our 4-H club. I just don’t sit down and practice.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      You ought to be very proud she likes things like this. If I remember right, she likes to scrapbook too?? good for HER!!!! it took a long time for my daughter to find something she likes, and I could not be happier!! hobbies are SO good for a person!!

  6. LisaW Says:

    I LOVE the picture of the apple cover how cute! As for soldering is easy, really it is. It is the same as what I use for my stained glass edges. If I can do it, you can too! I want to learn how to sign as in sign language, I want to learn spanish to the point I can actually carry on a conversation and I want to learn to simplify. As you know I have wanted too do that for over a year…I keep hoping one of these days I get it done! Fourth, since my Mom’s death I have gotten totally freaked out by my horses. Totally dumb I know. (for those who do not know, my Mom did not die animal or accident related in anyway). I think her death made me realize that life IS short. I want to over come that fear so that I can ride at night when the moon is full and snow is on the ground. Have before, would like to again. It is very peaceful and all seems right with the world.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I have a niece that does sign language interpretation and it never fails to mesmerize me!!!
      I can imagine how peaceful your horse rides could be the way you describe them. Lisa, you need to do it. Remember, the only way to overcome your fear, is to face it HEAD ON !!!! ahhhh and the feeling you would have if you did it!!! I want to know when it happens too. 🙂

  7. jeanne overton Says:

    THE THREE THINGS I NEED TO ACCOMPLISH :
    1. GET JERRY SITUATED WITH HIS NEW TEETH.. THAT PROCESS STARTS ON DECEMBER 8TH.
    2. I WOULD LIKE TO MOVE TO THE COUNTRY AND HAVE PLACE FOR AN ANIMAL SANCTUARY OR A CAMPROUND. ( I SAW ONE IN NORTHERN ARKANSAS)
    3. LOSE 60 POUNDS

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Jeanne, I think all these things are doable!!! #1 is all set in place. #2 is something you would be very knowledgable on and #3 I want to know your secret if you get it done!!! I was so successful at this at one time, but guess what?? that darn weight found me again!! it is SO hard to keep off!!!! 😦

  8. Tracy Says:

    Three things that I would like to learn:

    1. How to decorate and frost cakes like they do at the bakeries in town. We have four kids in our family and I would like to think outside of the box. I’m tired of doing rectangular cakes with store bought frosting and decorations. We can’t afford to buy the cakes at the store, but I would like for mine to look like them.

    2. Learn how to cook more sophisticated foods besides mac-and-cheese.

    3. How to find a hobby (something related to arts-and-crafts) that doesn’t cost a lot of money, yet can be useful and act as a stress reliever at times.

    Sincerely,
    Tracy

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you could really save alot of money decorating cakes rather than buying them!! i can’t believe how much they cost in the bakeries!!! and maybe, just MAYBE you could get good enough and do them FOR people??? that would really be awesome huh???
      Like I told Cheryce (above) go to You Tube and I bet you could learn it all from watching a few videos!!

  9. Wanda Says:

    Hey Kelli…I can teach you to solder…but I might not be far enough away for you🙂 Wanda

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I bet if I came stayed with you a little while, I would feel like I have had a vacation!!! One of the best vacations I ever had happened in….LEIGHTON!!!! Glenn and I found a cabin to rent and it was so WONDERFUL!!!!
      Let me know when I can check in at your house 🙂 I will be there. LOL

  10. Aunt Tippy Says:

    Duh, why didn’t you come over then when I taught your daughter to knit? Or Bubba? Go buy yourself some yarn & needles & I will teach you at Thanksgiving. I hope to print out a lot of quick easy patterns/projects for all of us to work on.

    Hmmm. . .now my 3 things. . . .

    1. Learn better sewing techniques.

    2. Learn to budget our money more efficiently. . .we waste A LOT!

    3. Make better choices when clothes shopping for the 4 kids.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I will come to IC equipped for lesssons. It has been interesting to see Madison troubleshoot all on her own. 🙂
      I would LOVE to helo you out on #2 and #3 !!! I am VERY VERY VERY good at both!!!!!

  11. Sue Says:

    Three things I would like to learn,

    I would love to learn to loom weave, (of course I have to have the equipment first)

    learn to play and sculpt with polymer clay,

    learn to paint portraits.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      ahhhh polymer clay?? I also have been intrigued with that stuff!! there are SO many cool things to make with it huh? and I have never been brave enough to attempt it. Let me know if you do it !!! maybe I will add that to my list as well. 🙂

  12. Linsey(TC) Says:

    I agree with bejes..I need to learn how to stock my cupboards with items that I can actually cook. I do the same thing. I get groceries for the 5 meals for the week and that’s about it. Sometimes it’s a good thing. so I don’t snack too much!🙂 I also want to learn how to make more homemade stuff. By stuff, I mean crafts, or cleaners or whatever! I’m up for anything! So, thanks for your help in that department!🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yes, LTC, it will come in time. I have 22 married years under my belt. 🙂 and I will keep the craft / cleaners / etc ideas coming as fast as I can. 🙂

  13. JSWORKPLAY Says:

    Three things I would like to learn:

    1. The art of conversation – and how to end one gracefully!

    2. Arranging and having houseplants that grow and look good. Not leggy or overwatered.

    3. A hobby that I can carry with me and make something useful.

  14. simplyaltered Says:

    I am laughing at #1 !!! that is one reason I hate to talk on the phone to certain people…..I never can get the conversation ENDED!!! (oh, shame on me!!)
    Let me know your secret should you come up with one!! LOL

  15. BLT Says:

    I want to:

    1) learn to play the VIOLIN and yes, I actually do have one collecting dust in the basement! Uugh!

    2) learn how to better research my GENEALOGY

    3) learn to CROCHET a dog bone. Nothing else. Just a stupid doggie bone to keep them in an endless supply……
    oh..there’s more…

    4) learn to fly a helicopter, then a plane
    5) learn to lose my fear of water
    6) learn to make my lattes taste like Starbucks
    7) learn to make all my Mom’s recipes taste as yummy as hers do but in a LOW FAT/CHOLESTEROL, non-“heart attack on a plate” kind of way!
    8) learn to ride bareback like my Dad who rode bareback just like everyone in Dances with Wolves.
    9) re-learn Spanish
    10) learn a few more languages to enlarge my world and, thus, make the world SMALLER and tear down barriers.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      leave it to you to give me a NICE long list!!! haha. I love it!!! when you get the lattes figured out, you HAVE to let me know!!! YUMMM!!!!!!

  16. Julie Says:

    1. I agree with bejes…I want to learn how to weld. I think I might take a day this winter to spend with my dad. He’s pretty good at it — and used to teach shop once upon a time.

    2. I want to learn how to use a plasma cutter so I can make all those really cool cut out metal yard decorations (which is also why I want to learn how to weld)

    3. I want to learn how to play piano well enough to accompany at church. I took piano for 10 years when I was a kid, but never felt good enough to play for others to sing along. I think it would be cool to play the guitar too.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      VERY good list!!! I too love the metal sculptures and that is what I would like to do, on a much smaller scale, out of junk teeny parts!!! but welding /soldering is a MUST !!!! grrrrr…..

  17. ikkinlala Says:

    I learned to knit mostly from knittinghelp.com, and it didn’t take long to learn once I got started.

    There are a lot of things I’d like to learn, but three that I can actually work on as goals (now, not “maybe someday”) are:

    1) Learn to make my own shoes (almost everyone I talk to thinks this is crazy, but I plan to start with making sandals and I don’t think that should be too hard. I wish my library was more helpful, though).
    2) Learn to play a guitar.
    3) Learn to make more mathematical origami, and, specifically, complete this model: http://kahuna.merrimack.edu/~thull/fit.html . Back when I was wasting time in my grade 9 French class (about a decade ago) I knew how to make the units and the individual tetrahedra, but couldn’t wrap my mind around the right way to put them together. Now I have a math degree, so I ought to be able to figure it out.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      making your own shoes?? wow. That is a unique desire!!! LOL. Should you figure it out, I want to see pics and then maybe I will take a stab at it as well. Imagine the cool things you could do with that talent??? I looked at the website you are talking about. That is really amazing!!! you have set the bar high. I hope you get close to accomplishing them!!!!

  18. Diana W Says:

    My dream is to buy about 10 acres out in the country, erect a great big Morton building and start a quilt camp. One big room to sew in, hotel like rooms in the basement, and one big kitchen. Have groups in to sew, let me serve them brunch, warm cookies for snack time and a big old family style dinner, then they can stay up all night sewing (just like my friends and I do at quil retreat). So far, only a dream, but I’m looking for a lot, and oh yeah, I’m buying those lottery tickets!

  19. simplyaltered Says:

    Please invite me when you get this all done!!!! I have not quilted in YEARS, but could easily do it again in the right surroundings!!!! Ahhhhh…how wonderful a plan this is for YOU especially!!!!

Leave a Reply

