a little misc….

 

DSC05552

do ya like???

Yep, this picture is taken by ME  !!!  I know.  Hardly earth shattering, but I thought it was kind of cool.   No idea what this “berry” looking thing is, but I liked it by my Adirondack chair tucked in my backyard.  It is the ONE thing on my list of THREE that maybe is doable.

pathetic huh??Now this???  it looks similar to my attempt at crocheting last night.  What the heck???   I have no clue what happened, but I think maybe I am not smart enough for this “craft” ???   LOL.   No, I have not given up…yet.  Just realized this is not something that is self taught.  I think I need a teacher who has the patience for a really dumb student!!.  :)

soup-ck-357537-lNow, this????   equals  YUM!!!!   I finally made Dorothys (Machine Shed) Potato soup last night.  I was a little leary at first, seemed not spiced up enough to suit us, so I added a little this and a little that , and it was PERFECT!!!!   served it for supper and my husband said it is the BEST potato soup he has EVER had!!!  yeah!!!   success on this front.  :)  it will also be my lunch today.  Soup the second day is even BETTER!!!   (photo from google…I can not take credit for this)  I may appear crazed if I begin taking pics of our food too!!   haha.

297580-main_Fullok.  Lastly.  What is THIS, you ask??? it is a dishwasher.  Brings me to my NOT so wonderful discovery.   I tried everything I read, heard about, or tried to invent.  Some might be ok, but this is one area, I am gonna resolve to purchasing what I need.  The homemade dishwasher soap idea did not work for me!!!!  bummer!!  I wanted it to so badly, but the results were less than I wanted, so for now…  Cascade still gets my money.  I am kind of obsessive about this, especially now with colds and flu going around.  As a matter of fact, I have my dishwasher set on “Sanitize”  and I want the contents cleaner than CLEAN!!!!   I felt I was not getting this, with what  I was trying homemade.  Darn.  Sorry, but it is what it is .

Ok.  Updated you are.  I know, VERY random, but it is a few things I wanted to keep everyone updated on.

***Now, on to the giveaway……remember, I am drawing on Monday.  Get your list of one, two, or three things you want to learn to do….or learn how to do BETTER.    :)

 

20 Responses to “a little misc….”

  1. kim aka machita Says:

    ok kelli, dont think you are crazy if you take pictures of your food. rhiannon has always done it for years and i have picked up on it too . i am ALWAYS taking pictures of my food,either at home or away. when we were in st. maarten, our friends thought i was obsessive about food pictures. check out my fb and you can see some pretty awesome international food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. ShellyB Says:

    Kelli – here is my list:

    1) Learn to Garden and rely more on my own grown food
    2) I would love to learn to crochet or knit….I am lefthanded, but I need someone to teach me from a right handed viewpoint.
    3) that is all for now….but I am sure I will put something else on my list🙂

    Also, it is funny that you mention the dishwasher soap – someone else sent me a recipe, but before I try it, want to make sure you haven’t already tested it….can you reach out to me at slbrotherton@yahoo.com?

    THANKS!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      add away!! you can have as many things as you want, but concentrating on three at a time seems like a good goal for me.
      I will send you the dishwasher idea as soon as I find it. 😮

  3. Lori Says:

    Hang in there as far as the crocheting goes. I enjoy to crochet during these cold months and it keeps my hands busy so I don’t make trips to the fridge at night!🙂
    I taught myself, but there are some decent beginning kits at Wal-Mart. Personally, I’d like to learn to knit, but not this winter. We’re hoping to move to the “country” in the spring, and this winter is dedicated to learning how to grow & store food, keep animals and learn a self-sustaining country life.

    God bless you in your endeavors…

    • simplyaltered Says:

      good for you!!!! that sounds like awesome plans!! and about Wal Mart?? I saw some sort of plastic loom for knitting. I think it was called Knifty Knitting?? I think I am going to buy that for my daughter for her birthday this coming week. Looked like something even I could maybe handle doing. 🙂

  4. Angie Says:

    I am with you on the dishwashing soap! I have tried many different homemade concotions, only to be disappointed. They always leave my dishes dirty, cloudy, or weird particles all over them! EEEWW I have even tried the “generic” powder to save some money, but no luck. I agree the brand name stuff is worth it for me, it never lets me down.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I know. It kind of grossed me out. I just can’t replace it right now. I guess there are some things that can not be made so easily…..I will keep clipping my coupons for dishwasher tabs, because I think they are seriously overpriced!!!!

  5. Lana Schippers Says:

    Kelli…I think if I actually took pictures of my food..I’d be less inclined to eat it maybe, maybe eat what looks good….for real…not just to the naked eye! I love the pictures. You should try Schwann potatoe soup sometime….it is def awesome as well. Of course I don’t make it…I microwave it…but still it is really yummy!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I have never tried that soup. Actually I have not bought from Schwanns in probably 3 years or more. I will remember it though for when he comes again…poor guy always gets turned away. 😦

  6. Kristin @ Prudent and Practical Says:

    I do jean quilts but I’d love to learn to do real quilts. I’d also like to learn to read faster🙂 And edit videos.

    Have you tried watching the videos on Stitch Guide? I taught myself to knit and crochet by watching them over and over and over… lol Here’s the link –

    http://www.anniesattic.com/pages/stitchguide/

    • simplyaltered Says:

      THANK YOU!!!! I will definitely take some time to watch this!!!!!! it seems SO hard to be, and i know that is ridiculous, and someday (hopefully) will seem incredibly easy instead!!!

  7. bejes Says:

    I was soooooo totally blown away at your photography skills on that bowl of soup only to continue reading. I was thinking, ‘Man, she really went all out with the bacon and cheese and onions. WOW!’ Oh well. Soon enough. Its on the list right?!

  8. Dorothy Says:

    What was the little of this and a little of that, that you added to the potato soup? I have added sliced baby carrots and that was good.

  9. simplyaltered Says:

    I added seasoned pepper, celery seed, celery salt and accent. This is a typical mixture I add to most all my dishes, and it made for the perfect amount of flavor for this soup too. SO DELICIOUS!!!!! thanks SO much for posting it.

  10. Deb A Says:

    About the dishwasher soap-I don’t have a homemade recipe but I did read that you could substitute baking soda for the first wash. Also Consumer Reports listed the WalMart brand of soap as a best buy. My husband lost his job months ago and I am looking for ways to conserve, so I tried the Wal-Mart soap and liked it! It is cheaper! And I run the baking soda on the first wash. My dishes are clean and I am spending quite a bit less on the soap, so I am happy!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that is wonderful!! I may look into this . I assume it is a powder? I have also heard to add about 1/3 borax to the powder version to stretch it out a little further!!! I think that is also a great idea.

  11. Deb A Says:

    It’s not a powder, and it has just been changed to a gel. This has doubled the use of my dishwashing soap! But I love the idea of adding the borax too. Could you mix the borax with the baking soda?

Leave a Reply

