(more) Random thoughts…

random-thoughtsI feel like being random again tonight, and I also have a few different “thoughts” to share……so how about Random Thoughts for tonights topic.  Heck, I might make this a regular Sunday evening post.  It is always when I begin reflecting back at the weeks events.  Does everyone do this??  it seems cliche, but I really do it.  hmmmm….

1.  Cold / flu / H1N1 / Swine /pneumonia…..not sure what it was exactly, but I had it.  NO FUN !!!  this began last Sunday and just about mid week when I thought I was too tough to be sick and in bed, I let my guard down and worked in the salon, cleaned my house, yeah, all the stuff I had no business doing!!!!  needless to say, on Thursday I ran a relatively high temp and was down for a few more days…which took me into ANOTHER weekend!! arrgghhhhhh.  Well, I am done now.  DONE DONE DONE.  I have no time for this non-sense.  But word to the wise???  if you get “it” whatever it is, take 5 days minumum off and you will be days ahead in the end, trust me.

2.  Apples: A friend of mine told me to eat some apples.  Interesting. Ya know, an apple a day…….  yeah, well, I did venture out to the store and found  some apples.  I am not usually a real fan of apples, but I came across a variety I did not know existed.  Ambrosia.   Have you heard of them??  I had not, but then again, I am not looking for apples too often.   I found these at Hy-Vee and a great big endorsement by Leslie Sansone.  Yep, SOLD.   I used to spend alot of time with Leslie in my smarter (and skinnier) days.  If she likes them, then I am sure I will.  Yep, I did .  If they are available where you live, you ought to try them.  Not overly juicy, but crisp and very sweet and I am going to TRY to start each day with one now.

3.  Family Reunions: Plan them.  Attend them.  I can not stress this enough.  I always envisioned this HUGE gigantic reunion, like a park somewhere, ya know, like you read about in Family Circle??  maybe each family has a special colored shirt to wear??    ok.  back to reality.  Ours are getting smaller and smaller.  Bums me out.  Being  mid life orphans that my sisters and I are, this seems especially important to us.  It is my Dads side that we planned todays reunion for,  and out of  7 siblings, there are only 3 left, and they are aging.   The youngest of those 3, now has breast cancer.   We had an intimate group in attendance, but it was nice, and the highlight of my weekend.  I could have spent the afternoon not uttering a word, but instead just observing from a distance.  Seeing my dads siblings that so much resemble him in looks and mannerisms , and then their adult children, looking more and more like their parents etc etc…you know all those things that just make your heart feel good.  It was a little glimpse of what is, what used to be, and what might still be.   It felt good to my sisters and I, and my parents would be so proud of our effort.

4.  Now is a great time to shop for a Halloween costume!! ok, not that I did that as I did NOT NOT NOT  !!!  I would like to say I don’t “do” Halloween, but with kids, I have.  BUT…..how about Halloween to repurposed  Christmas decor???  yeah, now is a good time to shop for that.    :)   I found a VERY black barren tree intended for Halloween decor   Maybe perfect  to hang tiny ghost or goblins from?  who knows.  But YIKES,  the original price was $24, then marked down half price ( $12 )  then down to $8 and finally?   75% off of that.  Yes, I bought this scary looking tree for $2.  !!!!!!   I have some very nice muted brown spray paint in my basement that will transform it into a beautiful (but barren) branchy tree, it will be our beautiful centerpiece for Thanksgiving day.  :)   maybe with tiny leaves strung to it.  How pretty, all from an overpriced eerie looking BLACK tree that no one seemed to want!!!!

5.  One quote to leave you with tonight.  I have heard from many this week on a personal level, tossing and turning about what everyone ELSE thinks they should do on a particular dilemma.   I have tried very hard and pride myself in doing what works for ME  (or “us” as in my family)  it may or may not be how others do it, but you have to do what feels right for YOU  !!!!!   (of course, within reason)  and I am in no way saying I do not take suggestions.  Remember, I had 4 sisters, we are VERY free with advise, and usually it is good advise and welcomed.   But sometimes, you just have to go with your gut instincts.

Here it is…..

“If you always do what interests YOU, atleast one person is always pleased”

Thanks for listening to me ramble.  🙂

15 Responses to “(more) Random thoughts…”

  1. bejes Says:

    I personally love the randomness. I also love the repurpose stupid halloween decor into something that sounds awesome! Good luck with the apple. Don’t you usually start your day with 2 or 3 diet cokes? Good luck again. See you in 14 days. WOOT WOOT!!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I knew YOU could appreciate being random!! Sanks!! I have full intentions to continue the Diet Coke things too. One cancels out the other. Right??? yeah, um huh.

  2. Cheryce Says:

    Great idea! And what a steal at that! I think it will look fabulous. Add pics! OUr favorite apples here are honeycrisp. Then again, we totally have a leg up in the apple department out here. You all can keep your pork chops & corn; we make great pies.

    On a serious note- I know exactly what you mean about family reunions. My moms side is growing rapidly with new babies, but my dads side is diminishing at an alarming rate. I’ve lost 3 aunts/uncles this year. Family is important! Mine should do better in getting together.

    Thanks for the pick me up– I needed it tonight.🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Glad to give you a needed pick up!!!! and just because you mentioned it, I took the “before” picture of the UGLY tree, and now working on the “after” part. 🙂 ONLY if it turns out adorable you might see it as a blog update. LOL

  3. Cheryce Says:

    (Sorry! Forgot two things!)

    First, I love that quote.

    And, coincidentally, I got this in my email today. “There’s no such thing as a bad apple.” Read: http://www.dietdetective.com/daily-diet-tip.aspx?issueid=41125

  4. kim aka machita Says:

    awesome update!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!yes i saw those apples at hy-vee too. but i am like you, dont really do apples. and after drinking out of your glass today at the family reunion, i will probably be the one who is sick next.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      if you come up sick, I will be SURE to make you a meal like you so graciously did for me. Afterall, what are sisters (and neighbors) for??? your signature potato soup was SO yummy!!!!

  5. Pam Taylor Says:

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Kel…Enjoyed them. Makes me look forward to the Levernier family reunion that my two nieces are putting together for this summer. Seems like just a couple days ago that my sis’ and I were kids. Now we are not the only ones reminising, now it’s our kids…and their kids and since we are strewn around the US they want us to get together for a weekend and have fun together…like we used to…..Hope they can pull it off….Apple are good and good for you.. Going out to pick up some in the orchard and make applesauce. We always like that with everything.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh man, I hope your family enjoys and appreciates it !! it is just so wonderful to see everyone together again. Our relatives are generally in this immediate area, but how often are we ALL together?? not nearly often enough. Love seeing aunts and uncles and cousins!!!!!

  6. D Shook Says:

    Awhile back you mentioned a GREAT potato soup. How can I find the recipe? Thanks, D

    • simplyaltered Says:

      it is listed in the post titled “get your soup bowls ready”. You can look that way, or “search this site” will also get you to it. If you still have trouble, send me an e mail and I will post a link for ya.

  7. Sister Kattee' Says:

    Talk about remininsing- I did that ALL weekend – DRS drivers reunion on Saturday and Family reunion on Sunday! Enjoyed every minute of both days, but then I never did miss a fun event or a family get together. Karla Kay and I always said, “Don’t invite us if you don’t mean it, because we’ll be sure to come”. I even attended a wedding one time with Karla and as I was sitting there, it dawned on me that I hadn’t been INVITED! I’ll do anything for a piece of wedding cake!

    Thanks to all that contributed to both of these events, couldn’t have done it without you.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Yes you did have a full weekend of looking back at old times!!!
      So true about you and Karla. I try to do that now as OFTEN as I can. …..and I am doing MUCH better. Maybe it is an age thing??
      You will also do anything for birthday cake. 🙂

Leave a Reply

