One of my 29…

To explain myself further, thought I would share one of my 29.  It is kind of lengthy, but a story I love and am quite proud of.

I was at a convenience store the other day and had to smile when I saw a little (long haired) boy, maybe 2 years old walking across the parking lot with his mom…his little hand in hers.   I notice these things moreso now that I have no little hands to hold.  :(  I smiled to myself hoping this gal appreciates the innocence of her child and how fast the years will fly by.

Now.  Being a local person, I mostly see very familiar faces.  This one was clearly not.  She got my attention as most people from this area do not dress like SHE did.  I could have easily passed judgement, but I did not.  She was “interesting” to say the least.  Young?  Edgy?   I saw the vehicle she was walking towards and could not believe it even ran. I could also not tell the color of it.  It was VERY filthy.

Ok.  Anyway, the little boy fell  !!!  wham, right on the cement and then broke into hysterical sobbing.  I was worried.  She looked harried.  Swoops him up and opens the door to her car, and some garbage fell out the door.  The floor was COVERED.

As sad as I was to see this, I did go on in the store, got what I needed, but kept looking back at that car.  Thinking maybe I ought to walk over there.

I did not.  I kept shopping.

“ok, if she is still out there and he is still crying, I will walk across the parking lot when I leave.”    (these were my thoughts running through my head)

She was still there, holding him against her chest.

I got in my car instead.

“If she is still there, when I back up, then I will pull close to her and stop”

She was still there.  I had nearly attempted to avoid this for some stupid reason, but something kept drawing me closer.

I stopped and announced that I saw her little boy fall, and wanted to see if he was ok.  He was not.  Lip BUSTED open!!!  blood everywhere on her very flashy shirt!!  The poor little thing smacked his face on the concrete.  Did not necessarily need medical attention, but believe me, it was close.

I went back in, got her some wet rags and helped to sooth the little boy.  BROKE MY HEART.

After I was assured he was ok, and she was too, considering she was obviously on a mission, driving somewhere, I got back in my car.

As I pulled away, she said  “Thank you so much for noticing us and stopping to help”

There were plenty of others that clearly saw her and the potential problem, but instead chose to drive right on past

I thought this was an oportunity for ME to give a gift that day (a gift of compassion)  but instead, I think she gave a gift to me.  🙂

Thank you for joining me in this “gift giving” effort.  Please spread the word….and don’t forget to post your comments. I can not wait to give my book to someone.

14 Responses to “One of my 29…”

  1. bejes Says:

    Great story Kel. I am not sure who benefitted more from your kindness but you definitely stepped out of your comfort zone and were greatly rewarded. Can’t wait to get my hands on this book!

  2. simplyaltered Says:

    yeah, I knew you would love it!! and yeah, how about how FAR that was out of my comfort zone??? WAY far. But I suppose that is exactly what made me do it in the end. 🙂

  3. kim aka machita Says:

    awesome story. you truly are a good person.

  4. Katie@ The Baby Factory Says:

    That is a great story. Imagine if there were more people willing to stop for 5 minutes and give a helping hand and an understanding smile….we’d probably never need welfare reform again in this country🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      maybe with this movement and everyone joining in, it can become commonplace. Oh , wouldn’t THAT be wonderful???

  5. LaVonne Bloem Says:

    Great Story, big surprise you stepped out of your comfort zone and did that. I would have definitely stopped to help her!! I notice things like that right away. Even though you don’t know her, you did her a big favor. Random act of kindness, I believe??

    And glad I was a recipient of one of your 29 gifts today! And how funny, that I already had a gift for you!!! We were thinking the same thing at the same time🙂

    Can’t wait to win this book!

  6. Helen Says:

    I’ve been away for a few blogs. I am so interested in this book and challenge. As it happens I have given 2 gifts yesterday and 1 today so it would be natural to accept the challenge. I love to give gifts, especially those that are unexpected but I am not necessarily a good receiver of gifts; especially those given under obligation.

    Loved the story. Off to explore more info on the book, etc.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      glad to have you back then!! amazing what happens while you are gone. haha.
      I really love giving gifts that are NOT material gifts. I can think of a million things to do, make, say etc etc…but put me in a store to BUY a gift, and my mind goes completely blank. No kidding!!!!

  7. Jean McCormick Says:

    Wonderful, wonderful,.
    I gave a gift of “Thank You”. My mom had been in a nursing home for the last six months. She died on October 30th. Before she did we had ordered her some arm warmers and a cushion with ties on it to go in her wheelchair. They came right after mom died. Because she had such a wonderful roommate we chose to give the items to her. We went this past Monday to visit and leave the items. She was so sad, said she missed mom so much. I was glad we chose to share, although mom is now gone we have gained a true, loving friend. It’s great to share. Thanks for showing us ways to be “Angels Unaware”. Jean

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that is SO very thoughtful that you would give it to her old room mate!!! PERFECT. You had it anyway and no use for it. Even being a material possession, it will mean the WORLD to the recipient. Good for you!!!

  8. Julie Says:

    What a touching story! Certainly wish more people were the Good Samaritans! Thank you for sharing!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      thank you….and with any luck, between all that this book touches and the word is passed on, maybe this can become commonplace. Wouldn’t THAT be wonderful???

Leave a Reply

