another opportunity fell right into my lap…

First off, I am wondering how on EARTH did I miss this issue??!?!?!??!  looks like perfect reading for me, being the magazine addict that I am.  Oh well.

But regardless, my “gifting” story for the day, DOES have to do with Time Magazine.

I went to Barnes and Noble last weekend, and found the issue featuring “How not to over-parent”.   Not that I am guilty of this, (haha)  but I figured it would be a good read.

Picked it up, and after I got home, realized I had grabbed TWO of them!!   grrrrr…….  crap!!!  an extra $5 spent for no reason!!!   I pretty much set it aside, figuring I had wasted better money, so I guess I was stuck with two of them.

Seems most all my customers today were retired, no children, or kids themselves.  hmmmm…there sits the EXTRA magazine behind my salon desk.

Until my last one of the day came in.  Old enough that her only child is raised, but definitely has grandkids, and a daughter right in the midst of raising them……and even better yet?  she is traveling fro, out of state,  back home with the kids and husband for Thanksgiving.   PERFECT. Aha, there it is !!  my gift for the day.  :)

So when this customer left, I told her the story, recapped some issues with raising kids and I asked her to give this to her daughter before they head home from the holiday weekend, and it will provide she (and maybe her husband) with some good reading for the road.

Had I not given this conscious thought throughout the day , it would still be sitting on my desk, and possibly tormenting me as to how I did not notice I had grabbed TWO of them, and spent an extra $5 in the process.

I guess it was money well spent afterall.

Enjoy the holiday ahead and remember, watch CLOSELY for the unexpected opportunities, and keep on “gifting”.

 

6 Responses to “another opportunity fell right into my lap…”

  1. Rhonda Van Zante Says:

    Kelli, I believe you had a God moment with the second book. Say a little prayer for the person or persons reading the book and ask God to bless them and give them discernment as they make the right choices in raising their children. I believe the Holy Spirit prompts us in these things. I believe you sowed this book into someone elses life that needs it the most right now. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. May God continue to richly bless you during this holiday season and always.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I think you are exactly right Rhonda. I think I have been having many of those moments as of late. Honestly, I do. It feels good. 🙂

  2. oldplowwoman Says:

    I think I will stop at the library soon and see if they have this issue. I not only over parented but I was a horrid enabler and am trying to change that day to day now as my young son whom I have always managed somehow to save sits in jail yes it is his fault however he really believed at the last minute mom would some how save the day and I didn’t I have NO finances left to save him and this is torture for both of us. Please pray for his safety he will be there until March and is having problems with another person there. I am so glad that you grabbed two books, yes it was over spending but the gift you have given may save the family many sad moments and dollars.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh my goodness, I am sorry for you going through this, but as hard as it is, I believe there is a time that comes when ENOUGH is ENOUGH. Call it tough love, but it is darn hard to do. I know there will be a ray of hope behind this for you. It is truely the right thing for you to have chosen to do at this time. Life lessons can be VERY hard, and this is definitely one of them. Please know I am praying for you. I feel sick for your heart right now.

  3. LaVonne Bloem Says:

    Heck I thought you were going to tell me that you were giving it to Tiff and Amb, both copies, since they are young parents! Bummer for them, it sounds like a good magazine for them. But I’m sure this gal will enjoy it as well.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      That WOULD have been a good idea huh??? but instead my heart led me to my customers daughter…someone I barely know, but certainly hear alot about. Seems more random act of kindness this way, going to someone that I do NOT know exceptionally well.

Leave a Reply

