Day 6 ( family connections )

A great time had by all.... (left to right) myself, my sister Kim, Lana, my sisters Kathy and Kris.

How time marches on.

Thanks to modern technology and the invention of Facebook, I was able to get reconnected with a cousin that I had not seen in YEARS.  I am thinking like 20+ years.   How sad is that?  as valuable as family is, and how quickly the days go by.

Lana.

I always knew she was about 60 miles from my home.  I always asked about her when I ran into other family  members.

But did I ever pick up the phone and give her a call?  no.

Until Facebook came about.  I just happened to see her on another family members Facebook page….and the connection was rekindled.

It feels like I have not missed a day of her life now.  It came naturally to pick up where we left off so many years ago.

My sisters and I made a “Sisters day plus Lana” yesterday.  Went to Des Moines, and everyone had the BEST time.

it took ALOT of thought over a simple new butter dish for Kim!!

Shopping, eating and visiting.  And the shopping took place in the most quaint little areas of the city.  We shopped from the really EXPENSIVE boutiques,  and later in the day in the cheapest nearly thrift store shops.  There were some Christmas gifts purchased, but I think everyone came home with something “fun” for themselves as well.   How can you NOT enjoy a day like that!!

lunch at the "Noodle Zoo"

Thanks to Lana and all my sisters for making a very unexpected day so very enjoyable.   I want to make a date to do it again !!   and until then, I am in contact with Lana on a daily basis thanks to Facebook.

Life is good.

6 Responses to “Day 6 ( family connections )”

  1. kim aka machita Says:

    yeah i totally agree…LIFE IS GOOD. Reading this totally brought tears to my eyes for various different reasons. We all had such a wonderful time. I think the world of Lana and only wish I could be as good of a person as she is. And i agree… i want to do this again.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I agree totally. Makes me think it does not take faraway trips to exotic places to make a person happy. This day meant that and much much more to me. Not only to enjoy myself, but to see others enjoying the day just as much!!!

  2. Lana Schippers Says:

    This brought tears to my eyes too Kelli…I feel displaced so much in my own family sometimes not fitting in almost anywhere…My own sister and are 14 years apart and didn’t grow up together at all…you made me feel like I had connection the minute we started talking…we all just seemed to…fit. Like…home. Thanks so much for making me a part of your day as well…it was so much fun to hang out and share old memories…and make new ones as well!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      …and who would have thought you would have been featured in todays blog? not to mention the timing of the year was especially heart warming!! thank you for carving some time in your busy schedule for us!!! ….and yes, you fit with us PERFECTLY!!!! 🙂
      Next up?? a day that includes a visit with your mom as well.

  3. Aunt Tippy Says:

    Did you buy something for me? 🙂

Leave a Reply

