Day 8 ( Bishops pie recipe )…

After many requests, both from last nights post, and Facebook, here is what Iowans know as Bishops Chocolate Pie.

Yummy !!!!

Many MANY years ago, in my childhood, there was a restaurant buffet in Des Moines, names Bishops.  They had the BEST chocolate pie and were  famous statewide for it.  Back then, it was a REALLY big deal to go “out to eat” at Bishops and end the  meal with a big piece of the pie.  Brings back fond memories.

Are there many?   or any? blog readers that remember the famous pie?  please tell us your Bishops memories if you have them.

Otherwise, here is the recipe, try it out and make your OWN memories.🙂

Bishops Chocolate Pie:

1 qt vanilla ice cream

1 1/2 cup milk

2 sm pkgs chocolate instant pudding

2 squares unsweetened Bakers Chocolate (melted)

1 cup Whipping Cream

1/4 cup powdered sugar

1 deep large Graham Cracker crust

Mix and beat the slightly softened ice cream and milk together for 2 minutes.  Add 1 of the pudding mixes and beat 2 minutes.  Add the 2nd pudding mix and beat another 2 minutes.  Add the melted chocolate and beat well until mixed thoroughly.  Pour into Graham Cracker crust and keep in refrigerator.

Prepare whipped topping by beating the whipping cream and powdered sugar together until it forms stiff peaks.  I use a metal bowl and chill the beaters before I do this.

With this recipe, the whipped topping is to be piped along the edges like the picture shows.  I personally like more of the topping, so I double the Whipped topping portions and then SPREAD it over the entire chocolate mixture.  Makes it even BETTER!!!

Must be kept refrigerated!!!

Thanks goes out to Dawn for requesting this recipe via Facebook and to Mishelle for providing it.  I am just spreading the word via my blog !!  :)

They say “Life is short, eat dessert first”.  I am obeying this rule as dessert is first (tonight)  and a recipe for Cheeseburger Chowder (tomorrow for Day 9)….another highly requested recipe!!!  it is soooooo DELICIOUS!!!!!!!     you will not want to miss it.

hmmmm….I see a pattern here of food.  After tomorrow, we will shift focus (again).  Remember randomness is good.

24 Responses to “Day 8 ( Bishops pie recipe )…”

  1. kim aka machita Says:

    ok i am home alone tonight…maybe, just maybe you could invite me over fro supper.

  2. Aunt Tippy Says:

    How about you just make it for me.

  3. Amy Jo Says:

    I had two aunts who were very old-fashioned. The kind of aunts who always wore housedresses, had special dresses and gloves for going out, etc. I can remember going to Bishops on Sundays after church. I always got the same thing: fried chicken kid’s plate and chocolate pie for dessert. They are fond memories. I was born in 1970, if that gives you a time frame of when this was🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yep. I was born mid 60’s. We rarely EVER went out to eat, so this was a big deal!!! I can’t remember the dried chicken, but alot of people do from the responses I have recieved. SO fun to walk down memory lane huh???

  4. Rhonda Van Zante Says:

    My memories of Bishops is at Merle Hay Mall. My family and Grandparents went to Des Moines every Thanksgiving Day to eat at Bishops at noon and then to Vets in the afternoon to see Holiday on Ice. This was a tradition we had for years. The fried chicken plate was the one for me! Such fond memories.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Yeah, Merle Hay is always the location we went to. Funny how people remember the fried chicken. I unfortunately do not. 😦 Do you remember what year they closed?

  5. carole martin browne Says:

    I have such great memories from Bishops at Merle Hay and also the downtown Bishops.And cannot forget the Younkers Tea Room..My favorite thing at Bishops was getting a balloon on the way out and the balloon had feet on the bottom.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh Carole !!! I am LAUGHING!!! ya know, I had completely forgotten about those fun little feeted balloons!!!!! as soon as you mentioned it, the memories began flooding back to me!!!!!!! instantly!! I love it!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Pam Taylor Says:

    holy cow, kelli….didn’t think you were old enough for Bishop’s !!!! Used to go there every trip to DSM to go shopping……loved the food AND desserts….yum…..Thanks for sharing the recipe…….. a good snowy day to make it

    • simplyaltered Says:

      hard to imagine, I am old enough to remember. Pathetic actually that I am that age!! 🙂 isn’t it funny how kids today think NOTHING of going out to eat?? and as you know, myself growing up in a big family…it was a REALLY big deal to go out to eat….not to mention all the way to Des Moines.

  7. diane fynaardt Says:

    I have many fond memories of Bishop’s too. especially the pie… I forgot about the balloon guys that is so funny. We used to meet at Bishops in Cedar Rapids and have our Christmas with my sister and her family we would always get a special room and have a great time. My nephew was around 5 and started eating his pie first. I remember my dad saying what ya doing little buddie and he said i ‘m eating the pie first so i make sure i have room for it… last year i got to full…. he is now what 42 years old… guess that was a while back… thanks for the memories… I have also used the liquid ice cream mix when you can get it in the half gallon and use it just like milk with the pudding…. same grahm crust and whipped cream… and soooooo easy

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I am laughing out loud at that comment from your (then) young nephew!!! haha!! “Last year, I got too full” he was a smart boy!!! glad to walk down memory lane. Brings back GREAT memories of our parents at the same time huh?

  8. Katie@ The Baby Factory Says:

    I’ve been an iowan for a looong time. ‘Bout 25 years. And I’ve never ever heard of this.
    Maybe… sometime….you could make me some….and I could meet you in real life.
    looks awesome.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      we do need to meet, to put faces with names!! haha.
      Even if you do not remember Bishops, you need to try this….unfortunately (for you this time) my family inhaled the whole pie. 🙂

  9. diane fynaardt Says:

    oh another memory just popped up… we didn’t go out to eat very often either but do you A&W that had a fire place in the middle? Loved to go there in weather like this with mom and dad. Burger fries and of course a root beer.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yep !!! only after you mentioned it, do I recall that as well!! remember the song “mama burger, papa burger, teen burger, baby burger” ???? my old boyfriend from 9th grade worked there, and always gave out free fries. ….Mark Doud!!! LOL

  10. Rhonda Van Zante Says:

    Kelli, I do not know when Bishop’s closed at Merle Hay Mall. I do remember the closing featured on the evening news. To tell you the truth, I have been married 34 years and the last time I was at Merle Hay was before I was married. I thought I would find an answer to your question, but after checking for Bishop’s on line I found the restaurant still does exist in some cities in the midwest and Dubuque, Iowa is one of them. It has a picuture of the dining area and of course talks about the great food and pictures of the famous pies they are know for. So if you are in the area of Dubuque, you might want to eat there. It gives you the time of day they are open, too. By the way, I remember Putts drive in on South 11th in Osky. Does anyone else remember it? It would be interesting to find out how many others out there do too.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I do not remember Putts, but I have heard Kathy talk about it. Ahhh the memories!!!! 🙂 I love them all.

  11. LaVonne Bloem Says:

    Well, I know Bishops was still in Cedar Rapids in the late 80’s, but not sure after that. That is where we went to Bishops and of course the pie. This recipe is VERY similar to my French Silk Pie that I won the pie contest with. You didn’t mention the chocolate bar for shavings. I assume you did that since the picture shows it??? Wish I was eating a piece right now.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      we barely got to Des Moines. I am sure we NEVER went to Cedar Rapids. Probably could not afford it. 😦
      I am not sure what constitutes actual French Silk, but the one Brenda makes, and all the recipes I have seen, take eggs, vanilla and butter. (?) and they are a very dense pie. Not one of my faves, but Glenn loves them.
      Chocolate shavings?? sure, if I have time. 🙂

  12. Vicki Huyser-Eatwell Says:

    Oh, Bishop’s! That was such a special treat to eat there! When I went to nursing school in Des Moines – the mid to late 70’s – it was still open. A group of us students would go there to eat occasionally. (Student budget would only allow for occasionally.) Thanks for sharing the recipe!
    Does anyone remember Millie’s Drive-in? This was located on University Avenue – on the North side of the street, just west of Iowa Lutheran and before Mercy Hospital – close to the river? They served the best pork tenderloins – and they were HUGE!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      like I have said before, eating out used to be such a treat, and now it is just another day to some. I do not remember Millies, maybe that was before my time, or we just went to Bishops and then straight back home. 🙂 with 5 girls and two parents, I think our visit was as brief as possible. 🙂 haha

Leave a Reply

