Day 9 ( Photography & Cheeseburger Chowder )…

I have to start this update by patting myself on the back.   Remember, I wanted to get better at photography?  I think I am getting closer.  Yeah!!!   We are on the THIRD “snow day” of the week,  so out of a little boredom, the kids and I had some “photography fun”  I have a great camera, and an even GREATER computer (a Mac, of course)  and here is an example.   Someone even thought I had taken a picture of a postcard!!!!   talk about FLATTERY????!!!!!!

Here it is….

Don't just love it??? I do. 🙂 right outside my kitchen widow. Honestly. **click to enlarge

Ok.  Enough about my aspiring photography skills.

Onto the highly requested recipe for today.

Cheeseburger Soup:

(might appear complicated, but it really is not)

1 lb ground beef (or 2 lbs can also be used)

1 cup diced onion

1 cup diced celery

1 cup shredded carrots

5 cups diced potatoes

1 lg can chicken broth (about 48 oz)

6 Tbsp Margarine

1/4 cup flour

1  1/2 cups milk

1 tsp basil

1 tsp parsley

1 tsp black pepper

salt and/or garlic to taste

1 lb Velveeta cheese (or more if desired)

In a large soup pan, brown hamburger, drain and set aside.  In same pan, add 3 of the Tbsp Margarine with the onion, celery and carrots and saute until crisp tender.  Add chicken broth, burger, potatoes and all spices.  Bring to a low boil and cook until potatoes are almost tender.  in a small saucepan, melt the remaining 3 Tbsp Margarine.  Add flour to it and cook slightly to thicken.  Stir in milk and cook on low a few minutes.  Slowly add this mixture to the soup and cook for about 30 minutes on low to med low.  Add cheese (cubed) and continue cooking on low until cheese is melted or you are ready to eat  I generally cook at this point most of the afternoon, just making sure it is low enough to not stick.

I also add more spices, like Accent, and Lowrys Seasoned pepper and extra basil.   Don’t be afraid to be generous with the spices.

Only one warning.  If the flour roux is added too fast, it might curdle.   I have had that happen before, but no fear, it does not affect the taste.  It is STILL so delicious !!!!!!!!!!!!

Again, I can not take full credit for this, it came from the mother of my niece by marriage!!!  how is THAT for giving credit where credit is due???   LOL

Thanks Sherri.  🙂

Of course, I want to hear from all of you that try this and (of course),  LOVE it  !!!!!

14 Responses to “Day 9 ( Photography & Cheeseburger Chowder )…”

  1. Cheryce Says:

    That is an amazing photo! Maybe you should try selling it to Iowa tourism or Oskaloosa or SOMEONE.🙂

  2. connie Says:

    I think you should use this photo for your Christmas cards!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that would have been a good idea, but I resigned myself to no cards this year. I think so many people have given this up. Sad, but true. Thanks though for the compliment. 🙂

  3. Cindy Says:

    I make the cheesburger soup ALL THE TIME !! My family loves it. One little shortcut I use now is that I use frozen hashbrowns. The chunky kind. We really like it cheesy, so I always use more velvetta and I also had a 2 cup package of shredded cheese. I do not have to use the flour mixture because it already is thick enough with the extra cheese. LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT !!!

  4. Pam Taylor Says:

    great photo…..and the soup sounds really yummy, especially on these cold wintry days…..thanks for the recipe

  5. olold plow woman Says:

    wow talk about a gift – I don’t think you are just trying your hand at photography you have been given a gift. This is an awesome photo and it deserves to be on your holiday cards!! Oh by the way hmm cheeseburger chowder if the roads were not so bad I would be by for dinner = : )

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Awww…thanks I am flattered once again!! 🙂 ….and I would LOVE to have you for dinner. We could have hot soup and some GREAT conversation!!! 🙂

  6. Lana Schippers Says:

    That picture is like a Hallmark card Kelli!

  7. Katie@ The Baby Factory Says:

    yay Mac! Sorry, but I am not diggin this snow….I think once snow days are no longer a possibility, it kind of loses its novelty.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you are a Mac snob too huh??? Macs are SO awesome!!!!! I love the snow at first too, but then….it does get ugly and dirty looking!! boo !!!!

Leave a Reply

