Day 11 (my most MAGICAL moment …..EVER!!!)

I hope to think my kids have one.  Weather at Christmas or otherwise, there is usually ONE moment in your childhood, that is absolutely nothing short of MAGICAL  !!!

When I catch a glimpse of this image, I am taken completely back!!!   I know it sounds crazy, but I almost find my heart thumping.  I really do.  THAT is how magical it was.

can you just IMAGINE ?!?!?!?

Yep, it was Santa Claus!!!

and he was making his stop at MY house, sitting in MY kitchen!!!!   It was UNbelievable!!!!

Being the youngest of five girls, my oldest sister, the most nostalgic one of all, must have been DETERMINED that I was going to believe in Santa.  You would have thought, her putting curlers in my hair should have been a dead giveaway that “something exciting” was about to happen.   I was oblivious though, just assuming she was being extra nice.  After all, remember, it WAS Christmas Eve  !!!

So, I went to bed, curlers all set tight, and what seemed to be the MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT  (in reality, it was probably more like 10 pm)  my sister Kathy awoke me announcing something like “Kelli, you need to get up, Santa is here, has some extra time, and wants to eat his cookies WITH you ….hurry up, he is in our kitchen RIGHT NOW ”  !!!!!!!!   I think I floated in the kitchen, in some sort of dreamy stupor.  And that few minutes will be FOREVER etched in my heart and in my memory.   I was a true believer !!!!!  how on EARTH could I have ever doubted the whole Santa concept?  I am not sure I was even able to TALK to him, I think I was in a dazed state instead.   No need to tell him than what I wanted, my Christmas was complete with his personal visit.  Who needed gifts???

I do not recall my parents really ever making an issue of Santa at all.  We might have received candy in our stockings, which mind you , all five hung in a row on our CARDBOARD fireplace.  :)    Not sure if it was a matter of my parents not believing in the Santa idea, or if they were just “tired”  after attempting this routine with 5 little girls.  I would guess they were tired.  LOL.  That is where my sister Kathy stepped up to the plate.

Santa (a.k.a. her then boyfriend Larry)  whom I also idolized, fulfilled my single most magical memory.  There was no chance of our family to do big fancy vacations, Disney, the ocean, no, nothing like that….but with a little effort and planning ahead, and 4 older sisters that loved the “baby” of the family, I had more magical memories than one little girl felt deserving of.

Thanks again Kathy, nearly 40 years later.

20 Responses to “Day 11 (my most MAGICAL moment …..EVER!!!)”

  1. ambjour Says:

    darling kel……….and lar! 🙂

  2. jeanne overton Says:

    i remember your ” cardboard fireplace”

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you do?? too funny!!! I have pictures of it as well as was almost tempted to post them. My kids think that is the CRAZIEST idea. A CARDBOARD fireplace!! LOL

  3. kim aka machita Says:

    i cant believe someone took that picture or that we kept it all these years!! what anawesome story to tell.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      well, the only reason I still have it and could locate it….it sits proudly in my baby book that Kath also made for me, when I graduated from high school. Bless her heart many times over.

  4. LaVonne Bloem Says:

    Cute Kel! And look at his beard! 40 years ago, we thought those were real!
    You can tell you are stunned in the picture.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I know !!! it is so FAKE looking, but seeing it through the eyes of child, I never once questioned it. Too funny huh??

  5. connie Says:

    Kathy has always had a kind soul – always willing to “make memories” for others. She is the best! – Laughed out loud about your cardboard fireplace – We had one too! and our stockings were so small you could get hardly more than candy or McDonald gift certificates in them but we were excited, none the less! Thanks for the memories…

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yes she does. She goes WAY the extra effort to make them for others!!! funny you mention the size of the stockings. Ours were tiny too!!! God knows, that is the only way we could fit so many stockings in a row!!! now a days the stockings are HUGE and even then, overflowing with actual GIFTS!!!

  6. BLT Says:

    Okay: This made me cry. How touching and loving and sentimental. Im sure you dont remember what toys you got that year but this gift is what Christmas is all about.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      last night when I was trying to get this posted, it did not hit me quite as much, but when I went back and read it today, I definitely had a huge lump in my throat!!! you are so right, I honestly have no idea what actual gifts I got that year…and the only gifts I remember are ones i have pictures of. Gifts were NOT taken for granted with my family at all, and there was certainly not an overabundance of them, Christmas OR birthdays.

  7. Rhonda Van Zante Says:

    Such a sweet story picture and Kathy was so sweet in organizing all of it so you could “Believe”. We all need moments in our life that speaks with out words. By the way, we had a carboard fireplace in our family, too. My parents put it up every year for Christmas just to hang the stockings on.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Kathy (and her older friends) loved to be the organizers in the family!!! always tending to the little ones, namely me and Kris. ….and now, she tries her hardest to do the very same job, only for a lot more people as the family just keeps growing!!!

  8. Aunt Tippy Says:

    Good ol’ Lar! If I remember correctly, a certain “Santa” came and visiting your daughter as well! 🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I know. Your dad deserves more credit than he gets sometimes. I did LOVE him !!!!!!! yes, Santa stopped here too one year, bless HIS heart for playing along. 🙂

  9. Lana Schippers Says:

    What a great memory….you can just tell that Kathy is a warm loving person…the older sister wears many hats!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh, she certainly does!!! …..and most of the time, does them all quite well. Makes me thankful I was the “baby”….it was much easier that way!! haha

  10. Sister Kattee' Says:

    Wow, you guys made me “tear up” – just the kind of feeling you like having always, but especially this time of year. Doing these warm things comes easy when it’s for people you love. Kel, I remember how happy I was just knowing how thrilled you were. Thanks!

  11. simplyaltered Says:

    awwww……how nice, all through the years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

