Day 16 { Christmas Caroling }…

Sometimes the things that bring the most fun and special memories, are those that are SPONTANEOUS.   A word I generally do not use much, as it seems my life has to be all planned out, minute by minute, but remember, I am TRYING to step out of my comfort zone every now and then.  :)

Our first stop. (Kathys grandkids) Kobie was still trying to figure out why the HECK we were singing in her house!!

Every December my sisters and I get together for one meal.  No kids and no husbands, and then follow the meal with a SURPRISE visit to all the younger generation in the family, as we arrive at their doorstep Christmas Caroling!!!!

This year seemed to be different. We had not really planned ahead, had no treats that we like to take with us, etc etc….seemed like various excuses to just skip it this year.

This is where the spontaneous part came in.  We improvised.  Kathy and Kris stayed back and cleaned up the dishes, while Kim and I made a quick grocery store run for 4 bottles of Sparking Grape Juice, one to leave at each house we visited

And away we went on the COLD COLD night in my tiny little car.  Unannounced, we arrived, very near the kids bedtimes.  Perfect.

Our second stop. Karlas daughter and grandson. He was so excited he could hardly contain himself !!!

We are fairly predictable as the only song we sang was “We wish you a Merry Christmas”…….seems like all the kids were first SHOCKED that we were there, and then they laughed at us.  Hmmmmm….maybe we did not sound nearly as good as we THOUGHT we did.  haha.

more of Kathys grandkids… (minus one) * see next picture

we arrived too late for this little darling….. she was in dreamland.  Banging on the door, singing and turning all the lights on, she remained SOUND ASLEEP  !!!  (can you imagine sleeping THIS well???)

Bless her little heart. How PRECIOUS is she???!!!!

and the final stop was to Kris sons house, who has her grandpuppy.   Her name is “Idle” but she is far from it.  I am sure she is the most active dog I have even met.  As soon as this STILL image was captured, she was off and running!!!!   makes me thankful for my little 9 pound poodle!!!    :)

75 pounds of PURE energy!!!

It was a fun time, and it is so heartwarming to surprise the kids and see the MAGIC of the holidays through the twinkle in their eyes.

Next year, we will do it all again, and they will again be shocked to see us.  It is a rare event that all us sisters show up, TOGETHER, at their bedtime, let alone attempting to carry a tune!!.

….and to think we nearly had ourselves convinced to just “skip this for one year” ??

A fine example that you have to improvise sometimes, fly by the seat of your pants, all for the sake of making  someones day. (or night)  :)

20 Responses to “Day 16 { Christmas Caroling }…”

  1. Kath Says:

    What a wonderful time it was! Of course I would say that, as it involved my darling Grandchildren. I think all the kids thought it was great, not so sure about Idle?!? I do believe that the their Mothers might have even enjoyed it a little bit. All their Christmas Trees were beautiful, but I did think that Carolers were supposed to be offered hot chocolate and cookies or is that Santa Clause? A family can sure be a wonderful blessing!

    Kel, Be careful – there is a thin line between spontaneous and unorganized, just ask me!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yeah, and I will pride myself that I am (or atleast trying to be) spontaneous. We all know who the UNORGANIZED one is. No names mentioned here though. 🙂

  2. Aunt Tippy Says:

    We are so thankful the Rozenboom Carolers made a stop at our house! What a fun time & special memories for the kids!

    Until next year!

  3. Ruthi Says:

    SOOOOOOOOOO Neat!!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      it was SO much fun. I should have video taped it, then you could all see why the little kids LAUGHED at us!!! 🙂

  4. ambjour Says:

    sanks for coming by!! we look forward to it now! especially kam, it’s right up his allley..LOL! and the sparkling grape juice you bring is a tradition to drink on xmas morning with breakfast. 🙂

  5. Katie@ The Baby Factory Says:

    That’s so neat! I could e-mail you my address for next year🙂 I have cute babies, too😉

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I already KNOW how cute your babies are!!! imagine their shock if 4 strangers showed up attempting to sing??? haha!!!!

  6. Pam Taylor Says:

    What a great story……….You gals are always so unique in what you do.

  7. bejes Says:

    You definitely made WhyNot’s day/night. SANKS AGAIN!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you are welcome….again. And THANK GOODNESS you were both here at HOME!!!!!! that would have really been the pits to miss our visit huh???

    • simplyaltered Says:

      and btw….had you still been in another country, I am pretty sure I could have NEVER made this a post on my blog. 😦

  8. kim aka machita Says:

    can you imagine us doing this in 5 years from now???? haha it was so much fun to see all those little dickins sooooo like dumbfounded. can you even imagine what theirs little minds were thinking about us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! they probably think “my Aunts ROCK!”

    • simplyaltered Says:

      ESPECIALLY Cade & Coy!!! completely scaring the crap out of them barging in on their movie time!!! 🙂 THAT was priceless!!!
      Yeah, they know their Aunts are WAY COOL!!!!!

  9. Kath Says:

    Yes, I am woman enough to admit my “spontaneous unorganization” but who did come up with this idea!?! We all have our vices, mine is just so obvious!!

  10. Wanda Schultz Says:

    Hey Gals…what good sports you all are!! Do you ever travel and sing for “old people”? Montezuma is not that far, really🙂 You all look great and Kim, I had to take a second look…you are the image of your sweetie Mother.

Leave a Reply

