Day 17 { Homemade Chai }

I recieved this recipe from my niece Tiffany many years ago, and was reminded of it today.  It is really good ( and makes your kitchen smell WONDERFUL) while making it.  Perfect inexpensive gifts, and a last minute idea.  Be sure to keep a nice big jar on the counter for yourself to enjoy the rest of the winter.  :)   yummy!!!

RECIPE FOR FAT FREE CHAI (COFFEE-HOUSE STYLE)


1 Cup non-fat dry milk powder
1 Cup powdered non-dairy creamer
1 Cup French vanilla powdered non-dairy creamer
2 1/2 Cups (white) Splenda
1 1/2 Cups unsweetened instant tea
2 tsp ground ginger
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground cloves
1 tsp ground cardamon
1 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp ground white pepper
Run all ingredients through a blender until a VERY fine powder consistency!!!!
I have made double batches using all Fat Free ingredients to keep the calorie count low, but you don’t have to. Store in Ziploc baggies, or small decorated canning jars, and give as gifts, or keep for yourself!!!! I have made it for teacher gifts, scout leader gifts etc, and wonderful paired with a Christmas mug!!!!!
Attach a tag or sticker that reads ” Add 2 heaping Tablespoons to 8 oz. of hot water.
This is DELICIOUS if you like the Vanilla Chai that can be very pricy in coffee houses.

13 Responses to “Day 17 { Homemade Chai }”

  1. kim aka machita Says:

    i would like to make this today. would you mind if i ran over and borrowed some of the ingredients,neighbor?

  2. Pam Taylor Says:

    love this stuff.thank you for sharing the recipe

  3. Melody Says:

    Kelli – Thanks for posting the recipe. I made a batch today and very tasty.

  4. Wendy Says:

    Anybody know what the substitute for Splenda is using Stevia? We should all know by now Splenda is not a healthy substitute for sugar. I wonder how much Stevia I would use (I suppose I could practice), but was hoping somebody else would know.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      hmmmm I can not help you out on that question. I use Stevia leaf in tea, but have not yet in anything else.

  5. olold plow woman Says:

    I am excited to try this next week I am on vacation and this will be awesome to make and share. You are a wonderful person and I so appreciate your willingness to share.

  6. Ellen Says:

    Oh, my gosh! I love Chai Tea. A friend “turned me on to it” through Starbucks! Thanks for the recipe!

  7. Gina Says:

    Is this good as a iced chai too?

Leave a Reply

