Day 19

A little frustration.

A little LOT of help.

A little humor.

The Des Moines trip was fun.  Not sure how PRODUCTIVE it was, but we had a darn good time while we were there.

The one thing I went for was a small gift for my husband (from the kids).  Nothing huge, just a new thing we discovered and know he would love.

these are AWESOME!!! clips underneath the bill of a ball cap to guide your way in the dark. The only time he does NOT have a hat on, is in church. He will love it!!

Upon arriving home???   every single item I got was in the bag EXCEPT for this!!!!!!!  helloooooo……. 1:00 am, and I was NOT happy!!!  Obviously it got lost in the shuffle at the check-out counter and did NOT get in my bag!!!  now what to do???  I am certainly NOT going back to Des Moines, and there are none to be found locally, so……what does a person do, other than vent to all her “friends” on Facebook??   I did just that.  :)

Mid morning today, I got a phone call from a friend of mine and former employee.  Said she saw my post on Facebook and just HAPPENED to be going to Des Moines today!!!   yeah!!!  how completely nice was that???   She probably has it in her possession as I type.  *crossing fingers* !!    she has definitely saved the day!!  thanks Shari.

How is that for an “opportunity” to do a kind and helpful deed???  however small or large, she saw it, and rather than to dismiss my “dilemma” for the day (like we are all inclined to do on occasion) she is taking care of it FOR me!!!

Lastly,  some good ole Iowa humor for ya.  The kids and I are always on the lookout for Lit-up neon signs with missing lighted letters.  They are everywhere, but I think we caught the best one we have ever seen last night. Hopefully you have heard of the store “Big Lots”?   I honestly think I am going to submit it to Jay Leno or something……this is too good to keep to myself.  Jeff actually spotted it.  Thanks to you too Jeff!!!

Is it "Big Lots" or is it a "Pig Lot" ???

From the looks of the ugly and dirty snowbank in front, maybe Pig Lots is appropriate afterall.  haha.

Enjoy your weekend, and if you are out shopping, check your bags before you head home…..or hope you have a good friend to help you out like I do.

10 Responses to “Day 19”

  1. BLT Says:

    Let me know if your friend strikes out. I live in West Des Moines and would be happy to drop one in the mail.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      she text me and let me know she DOES have it!! yeah!! and I SO appreciate your offer!!! it could have easily made it to Osky by Christmas and I know you would have been more than happy to do it. 🙂

  2. Pam Taylor Says:

    kudos to your friend……..it’s the old addage…..”that’s what friends are for”…glad you had a good time in DSM

  3. Pam Taylor Says:

    P.S. love the sign…..never thought to do that on a road trip…something new to add humor pass the time

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you would be surprised what you might see and what missing one letter can turn into!!! One time the Browns sign was broke and we still joke and call it Browns Shoe Fit Ompany. 🙂
      or when Penns sign got vandalized??? for a long time it was Illiam Enn Niversity !!! 🙂

  4. Lana Schippers Says:

    That sign is priceless…It’s Iowa for God’s Sake! Send it to Leno…it’s just too funny! I am glad you had a transport for your gift. I hate that when they do that…we have gotten gifts where the buzzer thing is still attached and that would be my second pet peeve from stores during the holidays!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I am going to try to find out HOW to get it to Jay. 🙂
      I was in Old Navy last night, and when a guy went out the door, it buzzed and the gal said “That is ok, just go on through”.. hellooooooo?????????

  5. Cheryce Says:

    LOL! There are Big Lot’s all over out here. And I think that name might fit better! They are always so messy.

    Pig Lots. *snicker*

    • simplyaltered Says:

      could be, do you know, I have never even been inside one. From the sounds of it, they have nothing there I can not live without…..especially the pigs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

