Day 22 (my realization) …

I have figured it all out.

Why am I not done with my gift giving tasks?

It seems to be SO much harder than it used to be.

Aha.  Now I know why.   I can not just “get a gift” for someone, wrap it, and give it feeling satisfied.

No, I have buyers remorse…. I have it TERRIBLY.  I am constantly second guessing every gift I purchase.

Maybe I have set my own bar too high?  I want that really SPECIAL knock your socks off, nostalgic, personalized, heartfelt gift.   I almost instantly look at any “store bought” gift and wonder…

“Could I make that???  maybe make it BETTER?”

“How could I take that home and ‘alter’ it?  embellish it? personalize it?”

“Maybe I ought to return _____  , and get this instead”

Grrrrrrr…..I know.  I really DO make this much harder than it has to be huh??

Anyway.  Here is a classic example.  Found this at Scheels last weekend.  Bringing it home and wrapping it would have been WAY too easy, besides the recipient does NOT like to hunt OR fish, but would love this way to display different pictures.  Not sure they have EVER hunted or fished in their lives.  Knowing I could do it up better and make it “perfect”  I bought it with a plan in mind.

This is the way it came out of the store. (and the top wooden piece is reversible. ("gone hunting" on one side, "gone fishing" on the other side)

Now, the finished product after I got my hands on it .   I liked it so well,  I even bought one for myself.  I love the way the pictures can be rotated, so I don’t get bored of the same pictures.  I will add seasonal family pictures to mine.  :)

This one is the gift. One the reverse , it says "memories"

and THIS one is mine to keep. 🙂 I am not much into the cliche' of names, so I used numbers on one side, and plain typewritten random text (my fave) on the reverse.

Do ya like??  I have  a few finishing touches to add, with some sand paper, but then it is one more thing I can cross off my list.  Whew.  I am getting closer and closer to being READY for Christmas.

Now we ALL know how I add so much self inflicted stress to gift giving!!!!!!

…and if anyone knows my sister-in-law??   SSshhhhhhh…..

10 Responses to “Day 22 (my realization) …”

  1. kim aka machita Says:

    are you related to Kathy?

  2. Lana Schippers Says:

    All this just means you are a kind hearted person…and you want a little hint of extra special love put in every gift you give to someone so they will always think of you when they look at it….this a very sweet thing….which will eventually cause you lots of angst and gray hairs and such…but till then, I think it’s really neat, as I am sure all the recipients of your extra special gifts do too Kelli! We had a White Elephant today that had batteries…coffee filters and a phone book without a front cover….this person could learn a ton from girls like us! If only…they would have stepped up to take the credit!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      You make me feel much better about my inabilities now Lana!!!!
      …and you know I could do ALOT with a phone book without a cover!!!! I do love text, of ANY kind!!!

  3. Needing a manicure Says:

    Speaking of special touches… The little tin can with the extra charms and special touches was to die for…. How cute!! I love things like that because it will always remind me of you… I won’t have that “oh dear, who got me this gift a year later”.. You have always had that “gift” to make everybody feel special when giving them something….:) Thanks Kelli…… (Oh, the chocolate was a sweet touch as well..)

    I hope you know who likes his you know what……!!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      glad you liked it, and mostly glad it made it to your house safely. 🙂 You just never know. haha. Hopefully you liked it enough to make the extra effort worth it. …….but I know you, and it was 100% out of the goodness of your heart. Thanks!!! my gift buying task is now complete.
      BTW…..beautiful picture!!!! what a good lookin family. 🙂

  4. oldplowwoman Says:

    You took something great and made it awesome. The person receiving the gift will be forever greatful.

  5. Cheryce Says:

    I love it! You’re so talented! And what an eye for reuse, too.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Thanks!!! I get alot of inspiration from Jessi as well. She is REALLY good at the whole repurpose ideas!!!!

Leave a Reply

