Day 23 ( my two reasons )

This is two of the reasons I still have magic in Christmas.

Madison and Maison.

Years go by, and memories change, but through the eyes of our children, we see a glimpses of our own childhood.

No more “waiting for Santa”  and the innocent anticipation.  A part of me really misses this.

Now we can attend church together til midnight, and have long meaningful “talks” most any day of the year.    I love and appreciate  this.

They really ARE good help to me in the kitchen.  No need to just PRETEND they are big helpers.

Memories are made with change, and honestly, I have always felt each change came in due time.  I have embraced each and every one of them.   Mostly ready to move forward and see what lies ahead for us.

Enjoy your precious  little ones if you have them in the house, but Christmas with teenagers is a whole other kind of fun …. in a very good way as well.

We appreciate this age,  just as much as we love  the young adults they are both turning  into.

Tomorrow night, instead of assembling all the TOYS that we once gave in the past in what seems like complete chaos , we will gather together, have dinner,  “hang out” and exchange gifts with one another.

And finish off the evening at a late night church service.

Change is good.  Life is good.


10 Responses to “Day 23 ( my two reasons )”

  1. rhiannon Says:

    I absolutely LOVE this picture of them. They look like they’re finally becoming comfortable in their skin🙂 and happy. It makes me miss them, and sad that we won’t be there to celebrate the holiday together this year. Take care of your family🙂 looks like you’re doing a great job!
    Love – Ranny

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Thank you. I think they finally are….maybe? 🙂
      I wish SO badly we could be seeing you tomorrow and/or Saturday. 😦

  2. LaVonne Bloem Says:

    Love the picture, and glad you have gotten to this thinking. After we had discussed this topic at my last pedicure. And enjoy a late night Eve service, its my favorite one of the year. Doubt I’ll try to go tonight😦 Enjoy your time with the kids, before you know it, they are grown and gone.

  3. ambjour Says:

    very well said! i really hope i can handle the change as the years go by!!

  4. Pam Taylor Says:

    very nicely said…….life is great…..wishing all of you a very Merry Christmas

  5. Rhonda Van Zante Says:

    Merry Christmas Kelli to you and your family. Our life is a journey here on this earth and we do go through what I call seasons. As a visit my Dad at the care facility and see my Mom living on her own I think where has the years gone to? I remember my parents at my age and think they were old, but I have allot of living to do. I am not old, older, maybe, but not old. I now have grown children and grandchildren and am in a new season of life. I once again see the wonder of Christmas through the eyes of them and I begin to think how God must feel. He created us to be His family and when we fell from grace He provided a way for us to come back to Him through the Lord Jesus. He gave us His Word, His Son, His Blood and His Spirit among all the other material blessings that we enjoy each and every day. Life is a choice. I choose life. I choose to live for Him and to be a witness for Him so others can make the choice to live, too. Have a very Merry Christmas and may God continue to bless you throughout 2010 and beyond.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I know, doesn’t lifes happenings constantly evolve?? seeing your dad in a care center must be very hard, but then look at where you are with your kids. A lovely “season”. I know you absolutely love the point you are at too. Seasons is a very good way to look at things. Always ready for the next and appreciating each one we are in while it lasts. Thanks for the uplifting words. Enjoy your little grandchildren this Christmas. What fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

