Time for Tacos !!!

and a very FRUGAL way to make them....

I know this is COMPLETE randomness, but it is so good, I have to slip this post in my regular (sort of) random routine for a quick FRUGAL tip.

We had to make taco meat today for a family function, and it reminded me of this tidbit I has stashed for future blog material.

No better time than the present, right?

(disclaimer: I have not personally tried this YET, but I definitely plan to)

If you find the pantry is out of taco seasoning packets, OR better yet, you want to utilize this recipe for a WAY frugal way to make tacos from now on, make up a quadrupiled size batch and use as needed.

Taco seasoning:

(stir together)

4 tsp chili powder

1 TBSP onion powder

2 tsp garlic powder

1 TBSP ground cumin

2 tsp paprika

2 tsp ground oregano

1 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp salt

Use 2 TBSP of seasoning per pound of ground beef (or chicken or turkey) however you like YOUR tacos.

How easy, convenient and FRUGAL is that???

(next up, I promise the PERFECT handmade FRUGAL idea for gift giving!!!!)

You will NOT want to miss it.  :)

6 Responses to “Time for Tacos !!!”

  1. Julie Says:

    Sounds GREAT! Can’t wait to try it! Thanks!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      and let us know if you like it. Personal taste might need to tweak it a little, but it is a good place to start.

  2. BarbM Says:

    Great recipe — did you know that the taco seasoning hold its flavor better if stored in the refrigerator — along with all your other red spices (paprika, red pepper, chili powder) which tend to loose flavor and color if stored at room temperature.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      No, I did not know that!!! interesting!! and I usually buy bulk quantities of chili powder…..I need to get it OUT of the cupboard and into a shelf in my fridge now!! thanks for the tip!! 🙂

  3. Pam Taylor Says:

    Thanks for sharing….don’t buy seasoning because Jack likes just plain hamburger for his taco’s. I can make this up and fix a little for myself.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh Jack!! I have never heard of anyone liking plain meat in tacos. …but heck yes, this is a great idea for you to add just a little to YOUR taco, and let him have his like HE wants it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

