Archive for January 31st, 2010

ok. I am S.A.D…

January 31, 2010

or moreso, I have S.A.D.   There, my name is Kelli, and I have Seasonal Affective Disorder.  (S.A.D)

Everyone together…..” Hello Kelli ”

Ahhh I feel much better already.  🙂

I have been a little “out of sorts” and this is why.  I was diagnosed about 4 years ago, with this disorder, and it is very VERY real.  I am full blown in to the worst part of the year too.  I take medication for it, but it only does so much.  I need SPRING to arrive.  I really kind of DO love winter and snow and fires in the fireplace….but this takes this time of year to a different level for me.  I want to ignore that part, but I can not.  It keeps raring its ugly head at me.

I know everyone does get “tired of winter”, but trust me, I really do.  This goes far and above just “I am sick of winter” sort of thinking.  Way beyond.  It could incapacitate me if I let it.

I refuse, but it is harder some days than not.

I have reasons to feel it especially this year more than most, but I am not going to dwell on that.  I am SIMPLY trying to get through it,  with the help of my supportive family.

It is definitely the down-side to being “me”

{sigh}

So, back to the medication I have been taking .  I would hate to live with (or be married to)  me, if I was not on it.

But another form of therapy in worst cases is this.  Light Therapy.

Sounds crazy but they say in the CORRECT form, it does work.

I think I just need a tropical vacation.   Unfortunately that is not in my plans.

Instead I will stay here, try to get creative, try to “get happy”  and count my blessings.  I do have alot of them, and now more than ever I have to focus on the smallest of ones.

And with any luck….I will get out of my funk a little, and do some GOOD blogging.

What do you want to see??   I want and need feedback.  Can’t guarantee I can fulfill everyones needs, but I can certainly try.

Ok, enough about me.  🙂

Thanks, as always, for listening.

