ok. I am S.A.D…

or moreso, I have S.A.D.   There, my name is Kelli, and I have Seasonal Affective Disorder.  (S.A.D)

Everyone together…..” Hello Kelli ”

Ahhh I feel much better already.  :)

I have been a little “out of sorts” and this is why.  I was diagnosed about 4 years ago, with this disorder, and it is very VERY real.  I am full blown in to the worst part of the year too.  I take medication for it, but it only does so much.  I need SPRING to arrive.  I really kind of DO love winter and snow and fires in the fireplace….but this takes this time of year to a different level for me.  I want to ignore that part, but I can not.  It keeps raring its ugly head at me.

I know everyone does get “tired of winter”, but trust me, I really do.  This goes far and above just “I am sick of winter” sort of thinking.  Way beyond.  It could incapacitate me if I let it.

I refuse, but it is harder some days than not.

I have reasons to feel it especially this year more than most, but I am not going to dwell on that.  I am SIMPLY trying to get through it,  with the help of my supportive family.

It is definitely the down-side to being “me”

{sigh}

So, back to the medication I have been taking .  I would hate to live with (or be married to)  me, if I was not on it.

But another form of therapy in worst cases is this.  Light Therapy.

Sounds crazy but they say in the CORRECT form, it does work.

I think I just need a tropical vacation.   Unfortunately that is not in my plans.

Instead I will stay here, try to get creative, try to “get happy”  and count my blessings.  I do have alot of them, and now more than ever I have to focus on the smallest of ones.

And with any luck….I will get out of my funk a little, and do some GOOD blogging.

What do you want to see??   I want and need feedback.  Can’t guarantee I can fulfill everyones needs, but I can certainly try.

Ok, enough about me.  :)

Thanks, as always, for listening.

26 Responses to “ok. I am S.A.D…”

  1. Jill Says:

    You really should try light therapy. I live in a really cloudy place and resisted light therapy for years, I figured the meds were enough but, finally decided to give it a try. I use a Feel Bright Light visor 30 minutes a day. I wanted something portable and can do other stuff around the house when wearing it. You will start to feel more energized in a few days. It really works.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      thank you for your input!! I am going to google these things tonight and see if I can locate one!!! maybe something I have resisted all along is exactly what I need to give into. Seems like a weird solution, but I am becoming more and more convinced. ANYthing at this point is an improvement!!!!

  2. Jill Says:

    Light therapy really works. As a sister sufferer off SAD 30 minutes a day and you will start to feel more energized in a few days. I use a Feel Bright Light visor.

  3. kim aka machita Says:

    i am S A D too😦

  4. Angie Says:

    praying that God will shine His light upon you,which is always good!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I began with my day in church, and I am sure that helped matters. I ask him daily to get me through til spring…..

  5. LisaW Says:

    Hey Kelli, I have SAD too. The lights do work. Honest.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      have you ever used the Light Bright thing the other were talking about? I am definitely going to look into one.

  6. Lana Schippers Says:

    I totally feel your feel! I think we need to have the time change right after Xmas….even just two hours of daylight in the evening again…would do wonders for me!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I agree. And then all the OTHER contributing factors to this time of year!!! economy, weather, off schedule for school…..ugh, it just all is beginning to mount in my little corner of the world.

  7. Lana Schippers Says:

    Also there should be n edit button everywhere we go! I feel what you are feeling…haha.

  8. Melody DeHeer Says:

    Kelli – Hoping today’s sunshine brightens your day!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Thank you. It did. Started the day in church after recieving all kind of thoughtful emails and comments and I am determined this next week is gonna be better…..

  9. Rosie Says:

    How about blogging about some spring things? Gardening? I put a spring countdown calendar on my filing cabinet at work so I can cross off the days. I also use light therapy.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that might be a very good idea…and are you using the light bright therapy? and getting good results?

  10. Rosie Says:

    I am using the Verilux HappyLight. You can find it on Amazon.com. I try to remember to use it every night when I get home since I work on the basement floor at work but at best, it is hit and miss. I have felt better this past week but that could be because we haven’t had any sort of storm in the past several days or maybe because there is a little more sun – and the temperatures are a little warmer. It’s so hard to figure out what makes a difference.

  11. BLTFord Says:

    kelli: that just cant be fun. im wondering: can nonSAD people get any benefit from the lights? this winter has just been especially crappy..no sun, waaaay too much snow, too cold, etc. is there any vitamin d benefits from these lights? ive heard on saturday morning news shows that short trips to tanning beds help with SAD too but question it.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      ohhh, it is no fun….at ALL !!!!
      I have heard both ways about tanning beds. Honestly, I think it could up your mood as a little “color” on your WHITE skin never hurts (or does it??) LOL. I always feel a little better with a slight tan, but then some say UVA rays do not give direct benefit. I need to look into this further, as I own a tanning bed, I may just need to get IN it. 🙂

      • BLTFord Says:

        Have you started the “tanning bed experiment” yet?

      • simplyaltered Says:

        darn it, I have not yet, simply because it is SO cold in our basement!!! burrrr….but I am intending to do it next week. Hopefully help this SAD as well as give my pastey white skin some COLOR!!!!

  12. Carrie Says:

    A trip to the botanical center in DSM on a sunny day helps bring an early spring to your life. The smells of flowers and dirt and sights of tulips and daffodils is like a mini affordable vacation.

  13. oldplowwoman Says:

    Kelli, sorry I am just going through my emails while I have down time. I know a gentleman his name is Joe Johns and he and his wife own a place out in Johnston right passed Mere Hay mall and they have these dry heat sauna’s I wonder if you could stop by and try it I know if is a big drive however if you were in the city it would be worth it. I think you can even purchase these at the menards/home depot which they are not going to be the same as the spa’s but close and even if you spend 1500.00 to buy one the benefits are worth the money. The name of the spa is Trim Tone spa in Johnston iowa

  14. simplyaltered Says:

    I have never heard of this, but may very well look into it!! I am actually in that area quite often. Thank goodness Spring is nearly here, but I do want to be better prepared for NEXT winter…it is inevitable. 😦

Leave a Reply

