Diary vs Journal…

I am making great strides in my Journalling!!   Remember, the post I made about my Christmas gift of a Journal and Journal jar?   I am doing it well.  Usually do it each evening before bedtime, I have missed a few nights, but I have tried to catch up, and this is the perfect time of the year to do it.  Makes me reflect alot, and keeps things in perspective for me.  Anything to chase away the Winter Blues!!

So, tonight, I did a few more of the journal “prompts” and it struck me.

This is SO perfect, in even MORE ways!!!

This venture in my journalling is a little more reflective.  Looking back at my memories.  Reflecting on my thoughts and what has transpired in the last 44 years.

….and then it hit me.  I did this very same thing….only MANY years ago, and with a much different perspective!!

both will be "priceless" ....someday!!!

I had a pre-teen/ teenagers DIARY!!!  yeah an official “Diary” and all equipped with a KEY  !!!!!!!!

I was a really REALLY “good girl” growing up, but I was a teenager afterall!!!!  trust me, it is STILL kept LOCKED at all times!!!!!   Nothing too earth shattering in it, but still, all the while, possibly not things I want my husband and teenage KIDS reading right now!!!  If I were not so sentimental, I would probably be better off burning it    :o  but for now, it is just safely “locked”  and only I know where the key is.  (wink-wink)  but honestly, I really am.

It was even accessible enough to me, that I could capture this picture….showing the diary vs journal idea.   Now, WHY would this diary not be packed away in my attic with the rest of my keepsakes??   no clue.  Maybe it needs to be??  🙂

I am sure one day my kids will be reading ALL my “secrets”  haha…if I don’t burn them first.   But at that time, I will be long gone, and it will make for interesting conversation if nothing else.

It is not so much that either will contain anything racy or shocking, it is just that being such a private person that I generally am, yet I have it all right here…in print.

Go figure.

Oh my….

(and remember, if you are looking for the perfect and inexpensive gift idea, I think this is GREAT!!!   think about doing one for someone.   If you want to see the particulars, do a “Journal” search on my blog home page and you can see all the details  perfectly)   Later on, I will be giving some examples of a few of the “prompts” I have done so far.  :)

6 Responses to “Diary vs Journal…”

  1. kim aka machita Says:

    maybe as you were “secretly” writing in THAT diary, your sisters were “secretly” reading it:O i mean afterall you would have had to hid it very well from from FOUR OLDER SISTERS!!! and i think that would have pretty much been impossible. …… oh my!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      hahahahaha!!!! now, that is a funny one!!!! very possible, and if it were not my sisters, could have been all the little nieces I had when I was a teenager!!! YIKES!!!! 🙂

  2. Lana Schippers Says:

    I buy journals all the time…for notes and things I see or read about! The bookstore has too many really neat ones in all shapes and sizes to pass it up. Even though moms hands hurt really bad, she writes in whatever one I bought her for Christmas the year before everyday faithfully….not that I haven’t already warned her they will be burned immediately following her ever passing…but she does it I think as her therapy too!🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I have always had a weakness for them, but then they sat in my house untouched!! grrr… until I have this jar of “prompts”. It is awesome!!
      I am so glad your mom does this, and yes, I bet it is very good therapy for her, and a great way to reflect as well. Cherish them!!!!

  3. Christy Says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I miss, and mean really miss swapping with you. Think it over……and now I am begging come and swap some inchies……

  4. simplyaltered Says:

    🙂 I wish you could be a silent member of my local group!!! we are doing all the States right now.

Leave a Reply

