Tea for Two (or twenty) …

I was going to stay on the house style mode, but you know me, bouncing around and enjoying the randomness of my blog.  You never know QUITE what I will come up with.  :)

I am SO predictable in every other aspect of my life, I guess this is one area I really just go with the flow.

We had our Annual Sisters Tea Party last Sunday.

Queen Oui Oui, Queen Katalina, Queen MaChita, and Queen Kellita.


What an event it WAS !!!  after roughly 15 years, I swear, they keep getting better and better.

Queen Conchi mama in her prime…
Queen Ambjouronica (although I think she looks more like Anna Nicole Smith!!)


We go all out!!!   as fancy / gaudy and wild as we can get.  Digging DEEP into our closets, to bring out the FLASHY stuff.   It was originally started for our children.  Now, those kids are having kids, so it is three generations down (no boys allowed!!!) , and EVERYONE has a “splendid” time.   To see the little girls seeing everyone in all their goofiness, is nothing short of priceless.

This happens once a year, typically a wintery Sunday afternoon.  My sister Kathy is the Hostess with the mostest, and does a BEAUTIFUL job!!   even hauling her famous silk flowers out to decorate with, a vintage wheel barrow, and floral everything.  It is definitely a garden party setting.  She even recruited her husband to be the “waiter”.   He was the ONLY boy allowed, and that was to do his job, and then stay in the other room!!!   what a sport!!

doing a FINE job!!!

We also had a style show (emcee by my VERY animated neice)   Oh my!!!   The entertainment was singing and dancing by two of the most UNinhibited neices, and a fun game of Tea Party charades.

“entertaining” is an understatement!!!

Oh yes, and everyone has a special “version” of their names….and all take on a different accent for the occasion.

awwww… Princess Muffy. I think we left her speechless.
A special princess for the day….her very FIRST family tea party!!!!

Thanks Queen Katalina for all your years of “Tea Parties”   You never cease to amaze us!!!  You deserve a royal crown of your own!!!!

Group photo !!! say “Cheese” !!!


Yes, we can make a fun family gathering out of just about ANYTHING!!!!!!!

18 Responses to “Tea for Two (or twenty) …”

  1. kim aka machita Says:

    we are quite a deal arent we???? what would we do without Queen Katalina?

  2. Rosie Says:

    How fun! You all look gorgeous!

  3. Pam Taylor Says:

    BEAUTIFUL………….once again you all are very special…doing fun family things together is hard to find any more..Everyone is ” too busy”, however, in your busyness you find the time to enjoy one another…keep it up

    • simplyaltered Says:

      we certainly will continue doing this as long as we can….sometimes hard to get everyone schedule to work out for something like this, but the memories are priceless!!!!

  4. Jean McCormick Says:

    Jean McCormick Says:

    March 12, 2010 at 4:57 pm | Reply
    That sounded wonderful and loads of fun. Please keep your sisters close and do as much as you can with them. I’ve lost two, the latest on Feb 28 only 5 months after my mom. Sisters are wonderful friends and can be so much fun. Stay close to them. Thanks and again this was a wonderful “Share” Jean

    • simplyaltered Says:

      SO sad, and I am so sorry for the loss of your sister. Hopefully you have just as many memories to hold near to your heart!!!!

  5. Amber Wallace Says:

    That is absolutely adorable.. Looks like everyone had a blast.. You girls have the neatest ideas.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Thanks Amber!!! it was so much fun, and like I said, each year gets even BETTER than the last 🙂

  6. olold plow woman Says:

    Sisters are the best !!! When our oldest sister and mother were still with us we had annual tea parties and what wonderful memories it makes for those moments when you need a hug later in life.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      exactly right. I love to look back at the pictures and hold the memories close at all the tea parties that my sister Karla was at before she passed away and WAY too young of an age. 😦

  7. Katie@ The Baby Factory Says:

    You girls crack.me.up! Tiff, you look hot, honey😉 Have a great weekend!

  8. Aunt Tippy Says:

    I am for hire if you need my entertainment for any future parties you may have.

    Is there ever a dull moment when Ciji and I are together? And I will get on a game show one day. . .just watch me then! 🙂

  9. machita Says:

    i think kelli is in hiding:O

Leave a Reply

