Spring has sprung…

Thank GOD , Spring is finally, officially, and very welcomed here!!!!

And my S.A.D has been kicked out the door!!!!!!!  Buh bye, (atleast until about November)

I worked like a mad woman today.   I decided either I am turning OCD, just more particular, or we had a harder winter than most.  (probably the latter)  as the dirt, grime and DUST was nearly unbearable on my porch!!  I officially opened it back up today, but not before I had a WHOLE lot of cleaning to do !!  yuck.   But the end results made it all well worth it.

my FAVORITE room in the house!!! I could easily be in here 24 / 7 !!! (and note the bike!! it is MY old Schwinn that I got for Christmas when I was 4 years old!!) awww...

I have to give you my thrifty tip though….it is high time for one huh??

14 years ago, when we bought our home, the previous owners left me a bolt of fabric.  Very NICE fabric, upholstery quality!!   it matched the window treatments in the formal living room (which were taken down as soon as we moved in).  But I held onto the extra fabric all this time.  Yes, FOURTEEN years!!!   see??  I do not toss EVERYTHING away!!!  whew.

I wanted a fresh and new look, yet a little vintage, and a little earthy yet colorful look to the porch, but I am way too tight to go buy new pillows!!  So,  I drug out the fabric as well as my sewing machine.  🙂    dusted it off a little, and began sewing pillowcase sort of encasements for an old set of couch pillows that I no longer like (but yet held onto).   PERFECT!!!   added a few buttons, and make an envelope sort of enclosure.  Awesome!! no money spent and I was not FORCED to go shopping!!  win/win.

One for the wicker loveseat (remember, I wanted to replace this last year??)  here we are another year later, some new fabric added, and I am STILL good!!!)

One “repurposed” pillow for the porch swing as well….

opposite side of the screened in porch...

and with a little bit of fabric leftover, I cheated and just wrapped it around an existing seat cushion.   As you can tell, the “princess” cat approved, and would not BUDGE from the chair the rest of the day.  :)

ZZzzzzzzz......

Yep, Spring has arrived and I could not be happier!!!

Look around YOUR house and see what you need to “freshen up” to welcome the newest season.    Repurpose something, dust it off, and give it new life…..and resist the temptation of all the high priced and new “awesome” things in the outdoor areas of your local store.  I am certain you have something at home already that will serve the purpose just fine…or in this case, even BETTER!!!!   and be sure to let me know what YOU come up with!!   I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to hear all about it.

I will leave you with something funny I heard the other day.

“Frugal is the new cool”

My kids (especially my son) pokes fun at that “frugal” word all the time.  I am sure he will be impressed.  :)

Here’s to a great Easter weekend!!!!

8 Responses to “Spring has sprung…”

  1. machita Says:

    i will be there soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. BLT Says:

    I’m so happy for you the sun has come out! I think everyone is happy to get the cobwebs out of their house and out of their heads!! What a HORRID winter! My DH tore off the deck, put on a new one, replaced a window, cleared the yard of all the tall/ornamental grasses and now he’s getting ready to paint. I had tea on the new deck and played with my puppies. Aaaahhhhhhhh…. Bliss… So happy too that this weekend is supposed to be almost rain-free!! Whew!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Keeping the man busy?? that is always a good thing!!! after the harsh winter, there is plenty to do outdoors here too!!

  3. olold plow woman Says:

    I can not wait to have some time at home this weekend. Finish up our tax prep (yes it is ugly at my house) and I will get to spend some needed time outside on my deck with a cup of hot tea. I have recently taken a class through the Adult Ed in Des Moines on Interior Design – not my strong suit and I am motivated and this is going to be the best summer for me in years I can just feel it. The teacher also stressed using what you have in new ways. Today is good Friday plant your potatoes.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Get all that interior design stuff done, and you can come practice in my house!! haha!!!!!
      Oh, darn it, we WERE suppose to plant potatoes huh??? I hope a week later is sufficient!!! 😮

  4. LaVonne Bloem Says:

    And I recognize my old quilt and pillow on the swing as well🙂

Leave a Reply

