Happy Earth Day…


I hope you celebrate this day EVERY day, but please take a minute to appreciate the Earth today!!

Find a way to “make a difference”  that will continue on and on

or

(amongst other things)  find a treat to yourself, given straight from Mother Nature and ENJOY it.

Here is mine.

Fresh off the many Lilac bushes in my back yard...


Ohhhh they smell DIVINE!!!  I think they picked Earth Day to be at their PEAK!!!  they are PERFECT!!!

I wish I could pick a bundle for everyone I know!!  :)

a few snips and a perfect basket, the aroma FILLS our home…

If only I could have these year-round!!   {sigh}

But then again, I would probably take them for granted. Gives me something to look forward to each spring.

…and remember, make a comment, on the Lilacs, my herb idea from yesterday, or how you are celebrating Earth Day, and you JUST may win the give-away on Monday.

It is gonna be a good one!!!  :)  yeah!!

18 Responses to “Happy Earth Day…”

  1. Kattee' Says:

    I have a beautiful little bouquet of Lilacs on my desk. The lovely scent of them just makes me smile!! I wish too that everyone could enjoy a bouquet of them. Sun is shining, temperature is just right and sweet lilacs on my desk – what a great day.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      are they lilacs from your house?? I have plenty here if you want to come over. All three colors. 🙂

  2. Lana Schippers Says:

    My very good friend Beth…..who knows I love love love these, brought me a whole bouquet at lunch and set them on my desk. My whole office smells….so beautiful…so fresh…so like the way the world should always smell! Happy Earth Day to you Kelli!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      How nice of Beth!!! ya know, the other night, when we arrived home to such a fragrant back yard, I said to Glenn “Why can’t all of life smell like this?” 🙂

  3. Linda Says:

    Oh thank you! I adore lilacs. I’ve never had any growing. (so it’s never too late ! as I am in my 60’s!!!) A friend gave me a tiny start and they are leaving out nicely. Perhaps next year I will have some! Love your site and newsletters. Linda

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you are right, it is NEVER too late!! think of all the great years ahead, made even better by your very OWN lilacs!! 🙂
      Glad you are loving my site, I will try not to bore anyone. 🙂

  4. machita Says:

    awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Jules Says:

    I love, love, love lilacs!!!!!!! I am going to put several in our yard. Also I had to chuckle that there was actually a basket still in your house🙂

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I think that is one, of…maybe THREE??? seems like so many people I know either don’t have this basket, or have sold it. It is honestly my very very favorite one ever!!!!

  6. tall lady Says:

    My children and I “celebrated” Earth Day today by watering the three radish sprouts we have in the garden so far, and the rhubarb. We also watered the potatoes and zucchini even though they are not sprouting yet.We also planted some lettuce and spinach. Oh, and sunflowers too, but not in the garden.

    The basket you have your lilacs in is just perfect. I plan on bringing a bouquet of lilacs to a friend who likes them but does not have a bush. I may just dig up a “sucker” from my lilac bush for her to plant so she can enjoy them at her house in a couple of years.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh, PERFECT celebrations for Earth Day!! I bet your kids loved it, and the example you have set for them!!
      I am sure your friend will LOVE a Lilac “starter” something to remind her of you year after year!! way better than some kitchy thing purchased at a mall. I love it!!!

  7. Sammie Jester Says:

    I love lilacs too. I think the freeze got mine again. I live in the country and it is always colder or hotter in the open. If it is not the freeze that i have to worry about it is the mower or the animals. I am thankful for any blooms I get.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yeah, a few years ago , that happened to ours too. I was SO disappointed. Imagine how anxious I was though for the FOLLOWING Spring.!!! 😉

  8. jenni Says:

    LOVE lilacs! They just smell so springy! I hope you had a wonderful earth day! It was great to run into uptown the other day too!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      nice to see you too…..oh, and that adorable sleeping little one you were pushing around!! enjoy these years, they are gone SO fast!!! 😦

  9. Rosie Says:

    Very nice.

Leave a Reply

