The Life of the Sock Monkey continues….

Another two weeks later, and what is the Sock Monkey up to now?

Maybe planning a bike ride, til the rain ruined the plans?

Maybe planning to make his / her escape?

Regardless, this week when I looked all over the house, I spotted Sock Monkey on MY old old OLD childhood Schwinn bike!!!

"If I can manage to push this door OPEN, it is a straight shot to Aunt Kims house. I think I can, I think I can....."

Awwwww…..now, that is really the only bit of my childhood that I could call my OWN.  Remember, I was the last of FIVE girls, so everything I got was passed down 4 times before it got to be mine.  But this bike……was BRAND new, some 39-40 years ago, wrapped up in a big red ribbon on Christmas morning.  I absolutely love love love it and will never EVER get rid of it.  :)

But for today, I guess I am forced to “share” it.  🙂

Have a great weekend ahead…..

18 Responses to “The Life of the Sock Monkey continues….”

  1. Jean McCormick Says:

    Looks like he’s ready for the great escape. Just hope the bike holds us and doesn’t break down. After all it’s quite old. Hope his legs are in shape for all the peddling he will have to do. Those hills can get pretty rough.
    Great share. Jean

  2. machita Says:

    um if that sock monkey ever found its way to my house….YOU, my dear sister,would never ever see it again :O

  3. Lana Schippers Says:

    He possibly heard school is out and was planning to take advantage!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yeah, thinking about escaping this crazy house!! it went from nice and quiet with just me and the poodle, to kids in and out all . day . long !!! 😮

  4. Vicki Says:

    Kelli,
    The difference between you and me… I’m the oldest… I don’t have any childhood toys because the younger ones played with them and they are gone!!! My sister Kristi feels badly I don’t have a doll! It rally doesn’t bother me..
    Vicki

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I am sure Kathy could relate to you then! she probably got so sick of sharing!! but I am so nostalgic, I would be sick if I didn’t have many things left from my childhood. 😦

  5. BLT Says:

    OH! That’s PERFECT! A monkey on a banana seat!!! HAHAHAHAHA!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh that is HILARIOUS!!! only YOU would think of that Toni!!! hahahaha……thanks for the early morning laugh!!!! 🙂

  6. Pam Taylor Says:

    this is priceless…

  7. Kattee Says:

    Yes, I got very sick of sharing – the one that that was “sacred” was my Barbie, my Ken and their Dream Home, that is until one Sunday night when Mom and I went to church and Daddy “babysat”. We got home and my sisters had gotten my Barbie stuff out and it was a mess all over the living room. Needless to say, I cried and Mom actually gave Daddy the riot act — after she woke him up from his nap! Some babysitter, huh?

    • simplyaltered Says:

      this made me feel really guilty at first, and then I realized I was probably too young, and you were referring to the other 3 instead. 😉

  8. Helen Says:

    While traveling recently I saw a bike out in the middle of the yard with flowers planted in the bike’s basket. Thought of you. Seemed like a perfect way to share a treasure.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh I love that idea!!!! there is one in my town too, and I took a picture of it and sent it to all my sisters!!!

  9. Dee Ver Woert Says:

    I am making a sock monkey for each of my grandkids for their babies. Wes’s daughter, Nicci, is married to preacher so I dressed the monkey like a spanish padre.

Leave a Reply

