A past time I do not need to try twice….

I played the part of happy wife on Fathers Day for Glenn.  There.  I did it, but I do not need to go twice, and I am pretty sure I will not be asked to join the fun next time.

Fishing is just not my thing.  Yuck.

Glenn (and the kids) loved it.  That is all that matters.  Right?

my husband Glenn...

He enjoyed it and simply enjoyed the 4 of us being together.  Summer gets so busy with teenagers, sometimes it is just SO hard to get everyone to the dinner table at the same time, let alone a group activity.

my daughter Madison...

She had a good time too, but after about an hour, and NO fish being caught, she was beyond ready to go home.  :)

my son Maison...


He is the REAL fish enthusiast in the family.  Perfect sport for him , remember, a rather high strung child of mine?   it is a good thing for him to do when he needs to “chill out” a little.  :)

I really did go along, but playing the part of family photographer, you are not actually IN too many pictures.  ha!!!!

I am sure fishing is a great sport for some, but I will be completly honest,  it is not for me.  I was hot, uncomfortable and had to look the OTHER way when the cooler with WORMS was opened.  Yuck.

I will stick to blogging, reading, cross stitching, etc etc etc…….and remain cool and clean the whole time doing it.

But I can atleast say I tried.  ( ok,  actually just went along)

8 Responses to “A past time I do not need to try twice….”

  1. BLT Says:

    I LUV fishing and hunting! I love the peace, the quiet, the nature and, yes, the field dressing!!! I bow hunt for deer! And then got 68 pictures of the blood trail, the tree stand, the shot location, and all the field dressing! FUN! Oh..and I had someone taking pics of ME doing all this!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I could totally imagine you fishing. I need to focus more on the peace and quiet, rather than how hot and itchy it makes me!! 🙂
      How was the marathon???

  2. Diana Says:

    I, too, am not a fisherman, but do go along at times just to spend quiet, quality time with my hubby. Take a comfy lawn chair, your latest book, sunscreen, bug spray, drinks and snacks that make you happy and you can both enjoy being together.

    Works for us. I will fish and even put worms on hooks, but I draw the line at taking fishing OFF the hooks. Therefore, I am perfectly happy letting him catch, clean and cook the catch of the day. We are together and have a nice quiet time.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that is what I was missing. A lawn chair. I was not even thinking, so Glenn said I could sit on the ground, but it was WET like everyhting else in Iowa right now. He even carried one of his floor mats for me, but it was just not the same. Note to self: bring a chair next time. 🙂

  3. Pam Taylor Says:

    *simply enjoyed the 4 of us being together.
    * I can at least say I tried.
    That says it all…
    * sometimes it is just SO hard to get everyone to the dinner table at the same time
    Would hate to live my life w/ my kids like things are today….There were very few nights we didn’t eat together (might have been 10 at night, after activities) and looking forward to doing that again in about 3 weeks when we will all be together again….
    always went fishing w/ the boys as they grew up and still do it today when we have a chance…The catch of the day: the memorable casual conversation that takes place while your fishing pole is in the water….

    • simplyaltered Says:

      all very good points Pam!! I need to keep telling myself these things. I might try it again sometime, but it won’t be for a little while.

  4. Pam Taylor Says:

    P.S…..
    *I will stick to blogging, reading, cross stitching, etc etc etc…….and remain cool and clean the whole time doing it.
    This is a good thing to do as well, Kelli……No doubt fishing isn’t for everyone..

Leave a Reply

