Worlds Largest Yard sale / Sister trip 2010…

Oh . my . goodness.

Where do I adequately describe the FUN FILLED trip?   this is the reason for my delay.  I can not even begin to explain how VERY much I needed this little getaway, OR how much fun we had!!!  or any rhyme or reason to the pics I am sharing.

So, I will recap in the briefest way possible, and add pictures at random.  You draw your own conclusion on the quality of this trip.  :)

A slight delay in leaving, but  “All is well that ends well”.  We left at noon Thursday and arrived approx 9 pm in Cincinnati.  Bring on the FUN !!!

Friday we headed to the Worlds Largest Yard Sale.   WOW.   Imagine this spanned across 4 states and we only made it for about the first 15 miles.   HOT and exhausted, but we managed to spend VERY VERY little money, and yet, filled the back of an extra large pickup and one car.   Yeah, it was THAT good!!!  I highly recommend this trip, and definitely a “girls only” deal.  It could have easily turned ugly, real fast, had our husbands joined us.  haha.

Saturday we did the whole IKEA “experience”.  hmmm……I am still trying to decide what I thought of THAT place!!!   I got some awesome things, but the place was slightly overwhelming to someone that can not make a decision to save her soul, and I am also slightly claustrophobic as well.  Once in, I had a VERY hard time finding my way OUT.   But with the company I was keeping, it was all good, I guess.  🙂

In between all of this, there was an Estate Sale right down the street from where my niece lives.  AND….the best part, everything was 50% off !!  three levels of the historic (and completely awesome) house, front porch and back yard were ALL full, every single thing for sale!!!  and did I mention 50% off???  yeah, it was GREAT!!!!

We had authentic Italian food (yum) Authentic Cincinnati Skyline Chili (YUCK)  and LOTS of Cincinnati FAMOUS Grippos BBQ potato chips!!  if you are ever anywhere that sells this brand, get twenty a few bags.  They are to DIE for.  If I had not eaten anything BUT these for 4 days, I would have been happy!!!

My oldest sister (Kathy) was such a trooper, and kept up the pace with all us younger ones.  I shared the backseat with her all the way there and back home, and we did not “touch each other” one time.  Alot has changed since we were little.  :)

The “Middle Child” in my family (kim aka Machita) provided ALOT of entertainment.  She took a nose dive in a completely clean, clear and dry parking lot.  (yes, she is FINE, trust me)  and she was the one responsible for getting us lost on the way home as soon as we crossed the Iowa border.  Yeah, imagine that.   She is lucky we did not leave her stranded on the side of the road.

The next to youngest sister (Kris) was the navigator to our destination and back home again.  She did an OUTSTANDING job!!!!   I had my doubts, but she did great, not to mention, always the entertainer in the group.  She is also the one that kept us moving at a swift pace no matter where we were.  “Hurry Up” are her favorite words.

My niece (Rhiannon) was certainly the hostess with the mostest!!!  I love her home, her style and her graciousness.  Never one time did she appear to care that we overtook her home for 4 days solid.  (although I bet she is enjoying the silence now)  haha!!!   she also introduced me to the most ADORABLE dog ever!!!   Walter was also unphased by our antics.  Thanks to BOTH of them.  We just might have to do this trip again in 2011  !!!!!

My daughter also joined us, slightly unplanned, but again, it all worked out.  She flew there and had stayed for a whole week before we arrived and then traveled home with us.  Made for a little tighter 9 hours home, but good bonding time with her mother and aunts too.  :)

Enjoy a portion of my memories.  (scroll down, there are many)

Some as images, but most of them, forever in my heart.

Sisters are the BEST!!!!!!!!!

My niece Rhiannon and her mom Kim. I can not remember a trip that we all laughed SO much!!!

Meet Walter....and his little feline friend from down the street. 🙂

This is where it all began.....

L to R. Kim, Kathy, (me), Rhiannon, Madison and Kris.

"I want this chair!!!"

Kims skinned knees. Just like when we were little kids!!! hahaha

As if the Worlds Largest Yard Sale was not enough!!!! {sigh} this place was REALLY awesome!!!

a photo op for my beautiful sister Kathy, sporting her new hat, and a breathtaking background!!!

our last night. 😦 Goettafest at Newport on the Levy. Beautiful scenery and great music!!

Teamwork at it's finest!!! loading everything back up and heading home on Sunday. Boo...

My sister Kris, the drove us there and back home like a CHAMP!!!!! Whew. 🙂

14 Responses to “Worlds Largest Yard sale / Sister trip 2010…”

  1. Jean Says:

    I was hoping you would show us at least one of your great finds. Maybe you will when you go through it all.
    Yes, sisters are wondereful. So glad you were able to enjoy going with yours and that you all had a great and safe time.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh, I did forget that part, didn’t I ? Geez. I will try to add that in for my next update. I got SUCH fun things!!!

  2. machita Says:

    oh man!!! this went way to fast. i cannot wait to do it again next year.

  3. Lana Schippers Says:

    I loved the recap….every family should be so blessed.🙂

  4. Jules Says:

    That is awesome!!! What a great trip! I am glad you all had a wonderful time! I am sure Rhiannon was thrilled to have you all.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      yeah, I am sure she was. Only 4 out of 365 is not bad huh??? she has a wonderful place, and truely feels like home there. What a great city!!!

  5. Vicki Says:

    It sounds like a great time… Thanks for writing….

  6. simplyaltered Says:

    It was. I tried to recap the best I could, but I could have rambled on for three pages!! haha!!!

  7. BLT Says:

    Can’t wait to see your treasures! Did you find anything special for Sock Monkey???!!!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      no I didn’t. Darn it!!! even kept my eyes out for another sock monkey for my sister and did not see any. 😦

  8. Pam Taylor Says:

    absolutely awesome covers it all…..

Leave a Reply

